What our customers say

Over 250 ★★★★★ reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

Unbelievable Day of Sailing

This was my first ever sailing experience, and I could not have asked for a better captain to literally "show me the ropes." Captain Dave was a pleasure to join on-board as he provided me with the history of the boat; the reason why he purchased it; his adventure of sailing it to Barcelona and some insight into his experience here since.
Michael P | Boston, Massachusetts | 23 February 2015

A wonderful evening with Captain Dave

Captain Dave and his boat Gemini were the perfect escape from the urban Barcelona. We booked an afternoon sail however he contacted us and advised we go a bit later to enjoy the sunset. It was beautiful. My love and I had the boat to ourselves and Captain Dave was a perfect balance of accommodating and knowledgeable, while at the same time leaving us to ourselves so we could soak in the experience.
braddog8 | Bozeman, Montana | 27 October 2016

Rough waters, but fun!!

We enjoyed our morning with Dave. He let us participate in piloting the boat. It was too rough for swimming, but it was still fantastic to view Barcelona from the water. Thank you!!
Cathy P | | 8 September 2017

Wow! Definite recommendation

These guys were super helpful and flexible. We had to move trip a couple of times and they really accommodated us. Price was good considering everything we had and the food/ drink package for extra 10 Euros is worth it. We also brought some drinks ourselves. Skipper let us sail when we wanted, there was music (although a Bluetooth connection to our devices would be a good addition), there was sun, there was beer, it was a great way to spend 3 hours of sunset!
wittehengel | Istanbul, Turkey | 2 May 2017

Sunset cruise

Our group of 7 took the sunset cruise with our skipper Stefan. We had a very enjoyable experience, even though the majority of us suffered from sea sickness! We were able to bring our own food, drink and even music via the bluetooth facility provided. The price of this trip compared very favourably with others and this is another reason why I would recommend this experience.
YorkshireMackem | yorkshire | 3 July 2016

Exceeded expectations. Bravo!

Way to go Dave! You and your son were such great hosts and we had a wonderful time on your boat. Dave clearly loves what he does for a living and it shows clearly. Thank you again.
Michael S | Baltimore, Maryland | 4 July 2017

Something different

Fantastic venture with Capt Dave for a surprise birthday gift for a friend. Beautiful boat, great views of Barcelona and fun watching the boat being operated by sail and hitting some descents speeds!
Al H | London, United Kingdom | 4 May 2015

Beautiful sail on a pristine day ... with a wonderful captain

My family thoroughly enjoyed our sail with Dave. The Gemini is a beautiful classic sloop, with a captain who's charming and engaging, and proved to be a great conversationalist ... with us and our teenage son. Today's sail was one of my favorite adventures we've taken while in Spain.
the_3_adventurers | Raleigh, North Carolina | 27 March 2015

Great day's sailing!

Dave is a very friendly and accommodating skipper, with your enjoyment and safety as his top priority. We had an excellent 7 hour day sail from Port Olimpic on-board Gemini, a very nice wooden boat (one of the few traditional wooden boats in Barcelona), with her distinctive wooden mast.
mjpm24 | London | 25 August 2013

A great sail

This will easily be one of my highlights from Barcelona. Very few things could be as relaxing as this lovely morning/afternoon voyage out into the sea. Dave was an excellent host, and took excellent care of us.
Kyle M | Dartford | 28 July 2016

Amazing afternoon

My sister and I spent an afternoon on Dave's boat and it was one of the best things we did on our trip. The views are amazing, the boat is beautiful and Dave is a great captain. The views from the ocean are incredible and really lets you see Barcelona from another perspective. We were able to bring lunch and cava and just lay in the quiet sun for a few hours. We were originally scheduled for a Monday but the weather was bad so Dave was very accommodating in rescheduling with us. Would definitely recommend!
avs1029 | New York City, New York | 15 July 2014

Awesome and relaxing

Awesome sailing trip and really relaxing! If u like just laying back, talking and enjoying the view this is for you! You get a different vision of Barcelona and Dave is open to answer questions.
Daniel N | | 10 June 2015

Very nice skipper!

The sign-up and transaction online were very smooth. We had to cut our sea promenade short as our son got seasick (first time sailing) due to very choppy waves, but through it Dave proved to be a wonderful skipper, very careful, riding the waves as smoothly as possible, and seems a lovely man. Will try it again in the future, with more clement weather! Thank you Dave!
bedandy | Montpellier | 4 August 2015

An unforgettable experience

A Trip with Dave on the Gemini is one of those gems that you feel very lucky to have found and will leave a beautiful, unforgettable experience on your mind. The price is incredibly affordable for the experience of being on a timeless sailboat cruising along the Barcelona coast. Dave, the captain, is full of interesting stories and makes you feel like this is the trip of your life. If you choose to do one thing while you’re in Barcelona, do this!
Anna L | Barcelona | 21 October 2018

Excellent option for a relaxing and romantic experience in Barcelona

My wife and I enjoyed a sunset cruise in July. Although the weather was warm in the city (roughly 90 deg F), the temp was definitely cooler on the water, even with limited breezes. Marina easily accessible from the old city. Great views, smooth sailing, comfortable one-of-a-kind sailboat, and a personable and cordial skipper. Slight downside on supposedly "limited" bathroom facilities, but if you plan ahead . . . :)
Christopher S | Chicago, Illinois | 24 July 2015

Best thing we did on the trip!

Visited as part of a hen party, easily
Shireen A | Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom | 16 June 2014

Fantastic afternoon's sailing on Gemini with Skipper Dave

We took a 3 hour sailing trip with Skipper Dave - it was by far my favourite part of the holiday, and represented excellent value for money.
dduffy41 | | 25 October 2016

Spot on

Can't fault the sunset cruise for a perfect anniversary experience. I was a bit apprehensive as I get motion-sickness, but I took a kwells, wore some wrist-bands and kept my eyes on the horizon and had a wonderful time despite it being rather choppy. I also followed Dave's advice and stayed to the middle and centre of the boat (Gemini). Husband used to sail when he was younger and Dave was happy to let him get involved and answer questions about the boat - which is a really beautiful classic boat. Watching the sun fade over the Barcelona horizon was pretty special. (I read the reviews on here prior to booking and the photos just don't do the experience justice.) Dave is a lovely skipper with a lovely boat. Would definitely recommend Classic Sail to anyone looking to do something a bit special in Barcelona.
highspeedcow | | 7 September 2015

The perfect getaway

If you want to see Barcelona from another side, you certainly want to sail with skipper Dave.
stijns740 | | 6 September 2016

Could not have had a better first-time sailing experience

This was a weekend of firsts - first time in Barcelona, first time on a sailboat, first time on the Mediterranean. Skipper Dave's sailing cruise operation is as skillful as it is courteous. Whether you're into talking about the techniques and history of sailing or just sitting back and enjoying the views and sounds of sailing off the coast at Barcelona this is an experience worth every Euro.
Keith H | | 22 March 2017

You want to go sailing? Classic Sail Barcelona is the perfect provider!!

I wanted to surprise my fiancée for her birthday - the booking of Gemini with Skipper Dave was the perfect gift and an incredible experience. We took the Sunset Tour which was a picture perfect trip with blue sea, a romantic sunset and a refreshing swimming stop. Gemini is a beautiful and very well maintained sailing boat, with a nice history (built in 1947). Skipper Dave couldn't have been a nicer host with a friendly smile and loads of cool insights into sailing.
Colonius | Zurich, Switzerland | 28 July 2016

'Sea' Barcelona Differently

If you're looking for something different to do in Barcelona, avoid the tourist traps and spend an afternoon on an old sailing boat, cruising around the coast.
Kim H | Toronto, Ontario, Canada | 27 August 2012

What an absolute treat

My friends and I had an absolutely fantastic afternoon sailing along the Barcelona coastline earlier in the month. Dave was a brilliant and knowledgeable host, extremely welcoming and we couldn't have asked for better weather. It was such a treat being able to swim in the clear waters alongside the boat. I would highly recommend this experience to all as it was the highlight of my Barcelona adventure. Thanks again Dave!
SuzeDyson | Auckland Central, New Zealand | 22 June 2015

Wonderful start to our vacation!

I traveled to Spain with a group of friends and we began our trip with an afternoon aboard the Gemini! The day couldn't have been more perfect weather-wise, and David was kind enough to shop for us for our drinks and munchies, as we had just landed in Spain and had no time to do it ourselves. He found a spot for us to jump in the sea to cool off .......and for me, it was one more check off my bucket list to say I swam in the Mediterranean! I only wish we'd had time at the end of our vacation to sail on the Gemini one last time! Thanks for a wonderful day David!!
Robin H | Iowa, United States | 19 October 2014

Perfect romantic evening

I planned a private sunset sail with my partner as a surprise while we were on holidays in Barcelona. it was perfect! Dave was wonderful, the boat was perfect, it was lovely to sit, eating some cheese and watching the sun set and the lights go on around the town. A very special experience - highly recommended! Thank you again Dave for a memorable evening
Mima_Pope | Darwin, Australia | 21 October 2015

Relaxing 3 hours away from the buzz

A very lovely afternoon with skipper Stefan and a welcome getaway from the hot city.
Alar I | Tartu, Estonia | 12 August 2015

Incredible, Holiday Highlight

2:00 start time. Even though the sky was cloudy, we had the time of our lives. The sea was warm when we got in, Dave was lovely, the boat was charming and brilliant. Whether you think you are into sailing or not, give it a go, you will LOVE it! Kids and adults alike had a truly amazing time aboard this beautiful ship with it's fabulous skipper.
Rhiannon M | Leicester, United Kingdom | 30 August 2015

Lovely way to spend a couple of hours

Our group of 11, including 6 children aged 9-12, had a wonderful trip. Captain Danny was very friendly and let all the kids have a go at skippering the boat, which was one of their highlights of visiting Barcelona!
Melsybabes | Warlingham, United Kingdom | 2 January 2017

Barcelona by full moon

Last night a friend and I went sailing from Barcelona Marina in a beautiful old wooden sailing boat 'Gemini', with her gregarious and knowledgeable captain, Dave. Clear skies and a full moon, the light breeze filling the sails, pushing us through the calm water, it was a perfect evening jaunt, admiring the magical vistas of night time Barcelona. Definitely something to be considered on a trip to Barcelona. It got a little chilly towards the end of the evening so take a sweater or a fleece.
Yubitzume | Barcelona, Spain | 21 August 2013

Great afternoon out!!

Having read all the great reviews, we booked this (family of three including 14 year old daughter)... we were not disappointed and had a great afternoon gently sailing around the bay off Barcelona Marina. Dave was a friendly host which made the trip even better... you won't regret booking this.
Will R | Solihull, United Kingdom | 24 July 2017

Only good things to say.....

We went out with a large group - ages 12 - 78 - and Dave made everyone feel comfortable. He is amazingly calm and kind and accommodating - and clearly a skilled sailor! We needed to change our day and time numerous times and he was flexible and understanding. The views from the water were beautiful. It was an adventure. We highly recommend sailing with Dave.
2015Alisa | Raleigh, North Carolina | 1 January 2015

Fantastic Afternoon

We had an amazing time with Cptn. Dave. It was the most relaxing part of our busy trip, and absolutely beautiful. There was not much wind when we went out, but we didn't care. It was comfortable and the views of the city were great. I'd like to be on that boat again, right now. Highly recommend, and the cost was reasonable and worth every cent.
juliebirditis | Bakersfield, California | 1 October 2015

Great sunrise cruise watching Perseids

This was our first time on a sailboat and didn’t know what to expect. We booked the special tour for a pre-dawn sail to watch the Perseids meteor shower, Dave was super responsive answering all our questions and made the booking process easy. He was available on what’s app as well for ad-hoc questions and gave detailed instructions at every step. We got started right on time and the small group of people made it a really pleasant and calm experience. Sunrise was gorgeous and the night sky was beautiful. Customer friendly and English speaking - highly recommended.
kopsai | Barcelona, Spain | 14 August 2019

A beautiful break from the heat and noise of the city...

When we travel, our family (with a 12 and a 14 year old) prefer to "do" rather than just "see". Sagrada Familia is striking BUT three hours on a lovely sloop with the ocean breeze keeping us cool is so much more exhilerating than pounding the hot pavement in the city! We knew we wanted to sail while in Barcelona, but we also don't spend frivolously so we were looking for good value for money. We definitely found that with Classic Sail and were fortunate that Dave had a slot open with only one day's notiice.
Sabina K | | 31 July 2018

Great way to see Barcelona

Fab way to get away from it all and see Barcelona from another perspective. Lovely historic boat. Kids are most welcome!
6Months062013 | Landsborough, Australia | 8 June 2016

A Barcelona must!!!

Not only is Dave a personable, accommodating captain, but sailing on the Gemini is a unique experience with breathtaking views of the city. The old boat is comfortable and gorgeous with an interesting background. The experience was a 10/10, and I would highly recommend to anyone I know who's traveling to Barcelona. Very well worth it. Thank you, Dave!
drogers9 | Boston, Massachusetts | 5 October 2018

A wonderful experience

Although we sailed on unsettled sea day :-)
LihiRa | Zichron Yaakov, Israel | 9 October 2015

Private Sunset Cruise

Booked this for our anniversary, and had a really amazing evening. The boat is beautiful and skipper Dave is really helpful and friendly, all we had to do was enjoy the trip. My girlfriend was amazed by the experience and it was the perfect way to celebrate a romantic evening and escape the city.
sean j | | 6 August 2017

Great wind, great sail!

Our sail with Dave on the Gemini was fantastic. Dave was quick to get us information on booking and how to locate the boat. He was ready for departure as soon as we arrived. Gemini is a classic old wooden boat that is very stable and takes the water beautifully. Our weather was perfect with lots of wind which made for a great sail. Dave stopped so we could jump in the ocean for a swim. It was a great afternoon and we highly recommend this boat. Dave was a pleasant host and let my husband and daughter help sail. It was super easy to get to using the metro.
sdeboon | Red Deer, Canada | 6 July 2016

Relaxing Sail after Touring

Capt Dave is very accommodating and knows just how to customize the experience to his customers. We booked the sail after a few hard days of touring and we enjoyed just relaxing on the boat while Capt Dave took care of everything else. We highly recommend sailing with Dave.
RossTonyB | Pensacola, Florida | 2 May 2015

Great Host, Great Boat, Great Time!

We are a family of five (Mother, Father, Son-19yrs, Son-13yrs, Son-6yrs) and chose for the morning sail with Skipper Dave. The reservation was simply done online, meet up instructions were clear and easy, and payment was as transparent and easy. We would absolutely recommend this as a great experience in Barcelona for any family. Thank you Dave!
Mike B | | 27 June 2016

Favorite thing I did in Barcelona

My Birthday wouldn't have been as special if not for this wonderful sail with David. The boat is so charming and beautiful. David is great, you can tell he loves what he does. Highly recommended. Thank you David for making my Birthday one of my most memorable.
JUSF | New york | 29 May 2014

A Must Do While Visiting Barcelona!

My sailboat trip around the coast of beautiful Barcelona was the highlight of my trip. Captain Dave was a gracious host and worked hard to ensure that our group had a wonderful experience on the blue water’s of the Mediterranean. The views were stunning and watching the sunset from the boat was both mesmerizing and magical. I would highly recommend a trip on the charming Gemini to anyone who wants to have a pleasantly unique experience. You won’t regret it.
David G | Birmingham, Alabama | 7 July 2014

Excellent private Hen Party on the "No Limits"

Excellent 3 hour sunset tour. The Lady Skippers were super nice and friendly. The boat was just perfect for the 11 of us and the experience with Dave from the 1st contact until after the booking was very pleasant, professional and prompt.
Viola P | Brussels, Belgium | 26 June 2019

Relaxing day at sea

We had a lovely and relaxing day at sea with Captain Dave. We highly recommend this private tour, great value for money!
nellafin | Helsinki, Finland | 16 August 2018

Best Part of our entire trip!

Best part of our entire trip! 9 of us booked very last minute and Dave helped make everything smooth and easy. Great communication. Julio was our captain and we had a blast. An amazing way to experience Barcelona at a tremendous value! Highly recommended!
Jeb213 | Hyannis | 8 June 2018

The perfect escape

The morning that my mother and I spent with Dave on his beautiful sailboat was a few hours in heaven! My mother was visiting me on the cruise ship I work on, had already seen the famous sights of Barcelona, so I was searching for a different way to experience the city. We both have a special attachment to sailing, I always was admiring the sail boats in the harbor from my cruise ship deck, and from the reviews on Trip Advisor, Classic Sail Barcelona sounded perfect… and it was.
Linz625 | Montreal, Quebec, Canada | 5 August 2015

Trip Highlight!!

We had a wonderful time!! Gorgeous views of the city and a fun time on the boat. We took all 5 of our kids ranging in age from 3-17 and everyone felt it was the best part of our trip. Would definitely recommend
kscottsmith5 | New Canaan, Connecticut | 11 August 2015

Different adventure on an old boat

What a nice sailing experience spending 4 hours in March on an old boat!
Sophiefrifri | Paris, France | 2 March 2014

Best thing we've done in Barcelona

This sailing trip was one of the best things we have ever done in Barcelona and we’ve been to Barcelona many times and seen most of what it has to offer. Dave was absolutely brilliant and made the whole experience from the initial booking through to disembarking back at the harbour totally seamless and a great experience. Dave replies to emails straight away, he was very accommodating, he even agreed to move our trip to another day due to the weather, he didn’t mind if we brought along our own food and drink, he was even prepared to pull up and let us go for a swim, but we chickened out of that because the water was so cold..
alexjwood | Birmingham, UK | 28 May 2014
#

Google reviews

View more on Google »

 

TripAdvisor reviews


View more on TripAdvisor »
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#