What our customers say

Over 250 ★★★★★ reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

Awesome day on the water!

Very interesting to see Barcelona from the water. I got a great panorama shot of the city.
davidm_PDX | | 6 May 2012

Brilliant! A perfect morning!

A wonderful morning of sun and sea, enjoyed hugely by adults and children alike (11 and 15). Dave is a gracious, knowledgeable host but not at all intrusive - very amenable when the kids wanted to stop the boat and swim. Much more personal than one of the more touristy operators who we watched setting off just before us. No better way to spend a sunny morning in Barcelona.
GemmaRLondon | London | 8 June 2016

A wonderful evening with Captain Dave

Captain Dave and his boat Gemini were the perfect escape from the urban Barcelona. We booked an afternoon sail however he contacted us and advised we go a bit later to enjoy the sunset. It was beautiful. My love and I had the boat to ourselves and Captain Dave was a perfect balance of accommodating and knowledgeable, while at the same time leaving us to ourselves so we could soak in the experience.
braddog8 | Bozeman, Montana | 27 October 2016

A wonderful experience

Although we sailed on unsettled sea day :-)
LihiRa | Zichron Yaakov, Israel | 9 October 2015

Exiciting...and calm! Awesome sailing trip!

We had booked with Dave for 4 adults and 1 child on a Friday afternoon. However, once we took off into our sailing trip, the waves were crazy! The boat was at 45 degrees most of the time. My 7 year old and I enjoyed it very much, but the wife and auntie were hanging on for their lives! Well, after almost an hour of this excitement, Skipper Dave called it off and we headed to port. A man of his words, he'd volunteered to refund most of our trip due to weather, but we opted to reschedule. So, again, we went on Monday morning. Calm sea and beautiful weather. This time it was a very smooth ride. We stopped for a few an took a dip in the clear cobalt blue sea. A very relaxing trip. Anyways, bring your own food and water. Enjoy the view and relax...But I have to say, I loved battling the waves!!!
phuwanai1194 | Atlanta, Georgia | 11 August 2016

Killing It

Gorgeous. Simply gorgeous. Best way to see Barcelona with Dave.
G H | Sydney, Australia | 15 August 2017

Great captain, great boat!

The boat Gemini is gorgeous and well-maintained by its captain, who is a knowledgeable seaman and all around fun guy. We went out for a relaxing day tooling around and enjoyed some snacks, cava, and conversation while just relaxing with great views and a peaceful breeze blowing us along. Dave can educate you on the finer points of sailing or just be a good companion while you're out for the day. I drop him a line every time I'm passing through Barcelona to go for a sail.
Nicholas M | New York City, New York | 28 February 2013

Great views and friendly captain

This was our first morning in Barcelona after a week of travels. It sure was nice to get out on the water and see this beautiful city from a unique perspective. So relaxing just being out on the water. My girlfriend and I had the boat to ourselves and Dave gave us the space to enjoy each other's company. He was always available to answer any questions but did not intrude. We stopped for a short swim and the water was nice and refreshing. I printed out the map from Dave's web site and handed it to our taxi driver. He dropped us off less than 3 minutes away from the boat. Super easy to get to.
Brian M | Galveston Island, Texas | 5 August 2014

Awesome experience

Dave very accommodating and a great skipper. His skill and information about everything was wonderful. A great way to see Barcelona from a different view. When I had short legs to get on the boat he made a way for me to do it. Let the sea breeze be in your face and relax and enjoy. Must do in Barcelona.
ruthibyers | | 10 May 2017

Gorgeous chill afternoon sail!

If you want to spend some time relaxing on the water, this is the sailing excursion to choose. Skipper Dave was kind and helpful, but he really left you alone to relax as you sail the beautiful sea. The Gemini is a beautiful boat. Can't go wrong with this trip.
lizalford | Marrakech, Morocco | 11 August 2016

Fantastic relaxing sail!

Bernardo the skipper was wonderfully knowledgeable and friendly - made the 3 hour sail most enjoyable! Water was clear and fresh! Highly recommended for some relaxation, water and fun during the hot, hot summer!
DPLosAngeles | Los Angeles | 29 July 2015

Best thing we've done in Barcelona

This sailing trip was one of the best things we have ever done in Barcelona and we’ve been to Barcelona many times and seen most of what it has to offer. Dave was absolutely brilliant and made the whole experience from the initial booking through to disembarking back at the harbour totally seamless and a great experience. Dave replies to emails straight away, he was very accommodating, he even agreed to move our trip to another day due to the weather, he didn’t mind if we brought along our own food and drink, he was even prepared to pull up and let us go for a swim, but we chickened out of that because the water was so cold..
alexjwood | Birmingham, UK | 28 May 2014

Hen do fun!

We surprised the boat loving bride to be with a 3.5 hour private trip on the Gemini and she absolutely loved it. We all had the most amazing experience. The boat is gorgeous and with the sun out this really is a must do in Barcelona! David is a lovely guy, very friendly and easy going. We brought our own food and drink on board and some speakers to play our own music. This is such a good price as well compared to other boat companies over there that charge double the price for half the amount of time. We all definitely recommend this and would go back again next time we are in Barca.
Gembles85 | Surrey | 1 July 2014

Sunset tour

We enjoyed a lovely sunset tour with Dave. The view of Barcelona from the sea is amazing as well as the silence away from city!
Marine V | Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates | 7 July 2016

What an amazing trip!

My wife and I had such an amazing time on Skipper Dave's sailboat. Definitely the highlight of our time in Barcelona.
Michael A | | 10 August 2015

The perfect escape

The morning that my mother and I spent with Dave on his beautiful sailboat was a few hours in heaven! My mother was visiting me on the cruise ship I work on, had already seen the famous sights of Barcelona, so I was searching for a different way to experience the city. We both have a special attachment to sailing, I always was admiring the sail boats in the harbor from my cruise ship deck, and from the reviews on Trip Advisor, Classic Sail Barcelona sounded perfect… and it was.
Linz625 | Montreal, Quebec, Canada | 5 August 2015

A beautiful old boat, a wonderful experience

Dave, the skipper and owner of Gemini is a thoroughly lovely guy whose love of his boat and sailing is very evident. The trip was relaxing and we learned much about the boat and sailing and just enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We would thoroughly recommend this trip. The fact that dave is Scottish means there is no language barrier which further enhanced the trip.
Lou_Jenkins | Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom | 23 April 2018

Awesome and relaxing

Awesome sailing trip and really relaxing! If u like just laying back, talking and enjoying the view this is for you! You get a different vision of Barcelona and Dave is open to answer questions.
Daniel N | | 10 June 2015

A Must Do While Visiting Barcelona!

My sailboat trip around the coast of beautiful Barcelona was the highlight of my trip. Captain Dave was a gracious host and worked hard to ensure that our group had a wonderful experience on the blue water’s of the Mediterranean. The views were stunning and watching the sunset from the boat was both mesmerizing and magical. I would highly recommend a trip on the charming Gemini to anyone who wants to have a pleasantly unique experience. You won’t regret it.
David G | Birmingham, Alabama | 7 July 2014

Excellent romantic excursion

My fiancée and I went on a sunset cruise with David. It was an incredible and memorable experience. David was very easy to work with and responsive beforehand, providing advice on what to bring. The actual trip was fantastic. It was a bit rocky to start, which seems to be typical during the early evening in Barcelona. We took some anti-nausea pills before heading out so we were fine, but I'd recommend this for anyone who is prone to seasickness. However about halfway through it calmed down a ton. The sunset itself was unreal. Barcelona doesn't have a great view of the sunset in the city since the sun sets over the mountains but out on the water you can see everything. The trip was so romantic and is something we are going to always remember.
Dave B | Boston | 31 July 2016

Catamara <3

We booked the catamaran for 12 persons, after a tour in both harbour of Barcelona, we sailed further away and then stopped to take a bath :D.
Rouffy83350 | Barcelona, Spain | 28 September 2016

Rough waters, but fun!!

We enjoyed our morning with Dave. He let us participate in piloting the boat. It was too rough for swimming, but it was still fantastic to view Barcelona from the water. Thank you!!
Cathy P | | 8 September 2017

Recommended for families.

My family with two small children aged 2 and 6 had a perfect afternoon sailing with classic sail Barcelona. Friendly captain and lovely views.
Marte T | | 7 September 2018

Excellent experience

The experience is highly recommended. The Gemini is a very nice boat to sail on, Dave is very kind and the price very competitive. Largely matched our expectations!
Marounistan | London, United Kingdom | 7 June 2017

Highly Recommend!

Dave and his boat are lovely. The boat is a beautiful piece of history and allows you to spend private time on the water with friends. I've been on many boats around the world (private and groups) and had an exceptional time on Dave's. If you're looking for a day of boating in Barcelona, this is the trip for you. I didn't do this myself, but I could see this being a phenomenal option for couples who want some private time on the sea.
skier29 | San Francisco, Ca | 15 July 2019

Recommended!

We had a very fun afternoon sailing on Gemini with Dave. A lovely wooden boat with room for all our stuff and it was great to be able to take our own food and drinks onboard (there's an easily accessible coolbox!). It was fairly blustery when we were out so we got to experience some "proper" sailing and basking in the sunshine was great. My only tip would be - take some warm clothing if you're out later on towards the evening, we got a little chilly on the journey back but then it was only April! It was a highly memorable part of our trip.
Olivia B | London, United Kingdom | 6 May 2014

Relaxing family excursion with a great skipper!

We had a terrific 3+ hour cruise on the Gemini with David. He welcomed my wife and I and our three boys (6, 10, 16) on board and despite the cloudy skies and chop we really had a great time. Packed some bread, charcuterie, cheese and drinks enjoyed the view of Barcelona and some interesting conversation with David. Since we couldn't jump in the Med we really just spent the 3 hours in relaxation, and it was still the highlight of our 3 days in Barcelona. Just an FYI, there is paid PARKING literally right next to the boat, just drive down Carrer de la Marina and swing a left where there is the parking barrier but the underground pay garage at Port Olimpic is an option as well. Thanks David!
Sami C | | 22 August 2015

Fun boat ride-a little choppy

Dave and his son Diego were great sailors and excellent guides and hosts on their lovely boat. Had great weather for as early in the season as it was. Seas were a bit choppy though, and would have been better had we followed Dave’s sound advice of taking Dramamine beforehand for a few of our group. Highly recommend the experience and the captain!
Megan T | | 1 April 2018

Private Sunset Cruise

Booked this for our anniversary, and had a really amazing evening. The boat is beautiful and skipper Dave is really helpful and friendly, all we had to do was enjoy the trip. My girlfriend was amazed by the experience and it was the perfect way to celebrate a romantic evening and escape the city.
sean j | | 6 August 2017

What an absolute treat

My friends and I had an absolutely fantastic afternoon sailing along the Barcelona coastline earlier in the month. Dave was a brilliant and knowledgeable host, extremely welcoming and we couldn't have asked for better weather. It was such a treat being able to swim in the clear waters alongside the boat. I would highly recommend this experience to all as it was the highlight of my Barcelona adventure. Thanks again Dave!
SuzeDyson | Auckland Central, New Zealand | 22 June 2015

Fantastic first time sailing experience!

We were looking for more unique things to do in Barcelona than just the regular tourist sites and so we booked this sailing trip. It was by far one of our favorite and most relaxing parts of the trip. The water is beautiful off the coast of Barcelona and the views of the coast were fantastic. In mid april, the weather was beautiful and my light jacket was all i needed for a cover-up over my sundress.
cldegen | Greater London, United Kingdom | 23 May 2015

Relaxing afternoon of sailing

A relaxing way to spend an afternoon, and a great way to take in views of the city while enjoying nibbles & drinks (that we took ourselves). I recommend bringing a windbreaker.
Catherine C | | 9 April 2015

Spot on

Can't fault the sunset cruise for a perfect anniversary experience. I was a bit apprehensive as I get motion-sickness, but I took a kwells, wore some wrist-bands and kept my eyes on the horizon and had a wonderful time despite it being rather choppy. I also followed Dave's advice and stayed to the middle and centre of the boat (Gemini). Husband used to sail when he was younger and Dave was happy to let him get involved and answer questions about the boat - which is a really beautiful classic boat. Watching the sun fade over the Barcelona horizon was pretty special. (I read the reviews on here prior to booking and the photos just don't do the experience justice.) Dave is a lovely skipper with a lovely boat. Would definitely recommend Classic Sail to anyone looking to do something a bit special in Barcelona.
highspeedcow | | 7 September 2015

Excellent change of pace from busy Barca

Fantastic day out and got my first hands - on experience of sailing which was exhilarating. David was great company. Bring food, water and warm, wind-proof clothes - it's much cooler out on the water. This would be an amazingly refreshing experience in summer. Thank you David!
postmodernista | Glasgow, United Kingdom | 29 November 2014

Sailing with Captain Giambattista and ship mate Christian is an experience not to be missed: a relaxing sail far from the hustle

A real treasure of an experience. Wonderful crew who made us feel very special and made it the highlight of our trip, especially for our two, not always easy to please, teenagers. Highly recommend a sail with Dave and his excellent team.
RACHEL B | Haslemere, United Kingdom | 4 August 2013

Best sailor and best boat in Barcelona

I did sailed on Gemini in december 2012 with some friends, the experience was great.
ReyGuigu | Lyon | 27 February 2013

Fantastic afternoon's sailing on Gemini with Skipper Dave

We took a 3 hour sailing trip with Skipper Dave - it was by far my favourite part of the holiday, and represented excellent value for money.
dduffy41 | | 25 October 2016

Great way to see Barcelona

Fab way to get away from it all and see Barcelona from another perspective. Lovely historic boat. Kids are most welcome!
6Months062013 | Landsborough, Australia | 8 June 2016

A fantastic afternoon

A group of friends and I sailed with Dave one afternoon and it was one of the best things we've done in Barcelona! It was great to see Barcelona from the water and Dave was extremely nice and Gemini was great. Hands down something you must do while in Barcelona
Jacqueline B | Barcelona, Spain | 12 June 2014

A beautiful break from the heat and noise of the city...

When we travel, our family (with a 12 and a 14 year old) prefer to "do" rather than just "see". Sagrada Familia is striking BUT three hours on a lovely sloop with the ocean breeze keeping us cool is so much more exhilerating than pounding the hot pavement in the city! We knew we wanted to sail while in Barcelona, but we also don't spend frivolously so we were looking for good value for money. We definitely found that with Classic Sail and were fortunate that Dave had a slot open with only one day's notiice.
Sabina K | | 31 July 2018

Sailing on the coast of Barcelona

In my experience sailing can be a great and challenging adventure and it can be very relaxing chilling out. It all depends on weather and season. I have tried sailing on this boat both in rough weather and in nice summer days and I love both experiences.
Signite | Barcelona, Spain | 1 March 2013

Great sail on the Mediterranean for some peace and and wind in your face.

Dani was our captain for a great sail on their 40' monohull. We had a group of 7 with plenty of room and enjoyed a motor around and sail at sunset. Dani was a great guide, the boat was in great shape, and everyone had a great time getting off of land and getting some salty air into our systems.
Rick H | Clarkston, Michigan | 12 December 2016

Great start to the trip

We went on an afternoon sail the first day of our honeymoon. It was a great relaxing day to get accustomed to the time change. Gemini is a great old wooden sail boat, and Dave is hilarious. It was my husband's favorite part of Spain (we went to Barcelona, Sevilla and Granada). It was just a nice relaxing day. We went swimming, drank some wine, husband smoked a cigar. Nothing not to like.
NattyLynn | New York City, New York | 24 June 2014

Best Part of our entire trip!

Best part of our entire trip! 9 of us booked very last minute and Dave helped make everything smooth and easy. Great communication. Julio was our captain and we had a blast. An amazing way to experience Barcelona at a tremendous value! Highly recommended!
Jeb213 | Hyannis | 8 June 2018

Fabulous sunset sail

We had a brilliant time on board Gemini with Dave. Very relaxed and welcoming. It's a beautiful boat and Dave could not to be more helpful or accommodating - and the sunset over the mountains was stunning. You get to see a unique view of the Barcelona skyline and coast and you can either relax with the sails blowing as he skippers or if you want you can help with the piloting of the boat. And it's great value too!!
Elaine S | | 18 April 2017

A wonderful afternoon sailing on Skipper Dave's sailboat!

My husband and I sailed with Skipper Dave on his 41 foot, 1943 gorgeous wood sailboat. My husband is an accomplished sailor and offered to "crew" as we exited the harbor and got under sail. Of course, Skipper Dave was more than capable of doing this independently, but allowed my husband to assist. It wound up that he let my husband sail the boat (steer) for the 3 hours of the sail! He just loved being out on the Mediterranean, under sail, and manning the helm! I stayed on the fore deck and let those 2 sailors talk shop together. Skipper Dave was professional, capable and very friendly. He asked us what sort of sail we wanted...as I prefer a more smooth ride, he only put up the partial sails as it was a windy day. It was a perfect afternoon of sun and relaxation and a wonderful gift to my husband! Thank you for a lovely day!!
JulieNitz | Farmington Hills, Michigan | 13 October 2017

Amazing adventure at sea!

My husband and I did this as part of our honeymoon. We had so much fun! Dave was an excellent captain and polite host. The boat is truly a "classic sailboat" which gives it a lot of character and adds to the adventure.
sarah6082015 | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania | 23 June 2015

Wonderful start to our vacation!

I traveled to Spain with a group of friends and we began our trip with an afternoon aboard the Gemini! The day couldn't have been more perfect weather-wise, and David was kind enough to shop for us for our drinks and munchies, as we had just landed in Spain and had no time to do it ourselves. He found a spot for us to jump in the sea to cool off .......and for me, it was one more check off my bucket list to say I swam in the Mediterranean! I only wish we'd had time at the end of our vacation to sail on the Gemini one last time! Thanks for a wonderful day David!!
Robin H | Iowa, United States | 19 October 2014

Amazing Trip

We booked an afternoon 3.5 hour sailing tour and it was just incredible! We had so much fun, lying in the sun, jumping in the sea and just enjoying the beautiful day!
Sabrina P | Graz, Austria | 25 July 2015

Great day at sea!

Everything was very easy from booking to meeting and then a very enjoyable day out on the ocean. Take your own food and drinks on and relax! I would happily do again on our next trip to Barcelona!
SimonD1986 | London, United Kingdom | 1 September 2018
#

Google reviews

View more on Google »

 

TripAdvisor reviews


View more on TripAdvisor »
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#