What our customers say

Over 200 ★★★★★ reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Amazing trip - totally recommend!

Really lovely skipper, beautiful sailing boat and perfect sailing conditions, Amazing memories for a friends hen do!
Claire B | | 6 August 2018

Chillin on the Mediterranean Sea

It was quick and easy to book this trip. The boat was easy to find and captain Dave was the perfect host. Unobtrusively providing a wonderful outing for us and allowing for us to truely enjoy relaxing in the boat and taking in the gorgeous Mediterranean Sea. Absolutely beautiful! I highly recommend this!
Julia H | Austin | 3 August 2018

A perfect way to spend the evening

I booked Classic Sail as a gift for my friends on our last night together in Barcelona. The booking was easy, communication thorough, and it was easy to find the boat. Dave got us out away from some of the noisier groups so we could enjoy a dip in the Mediterranean during the sunset. He was available but unobtrusive, and seems to be a great captain and lovely person. Six thumbs up!
Katy S | | 31 July 2018

A beautiful break from the heat and noise of the city...

When we travel, our family (with a 12 and a 14 year old) prefer to "do" rather than just "see". Sagrada Familia is striking BUT three hours on a lovely sloop with the ocean breeze keeping us cool is so much more exhilerating than pounding the hot pavement in the city! We knew we wanted to sail while in Barcelona, but we also don't spend frivolously so we were looking for good value for money. We definitely found that with Classic Sail and were fortunate that Dave had a slot open with only one day's notiice.
Sabina K | | 31 July 2018

Best Part of our entire trip!

Best part of our entire trip! 9 of us booked very last minute and Dave helped make everything smooth and easy. Great communication. Julio was our captain and we had a blast. An amazing way to experience Barcelona at a tremendous value! Highly recommended!
Jeb213 | Hyannis | 8 June 2018

most relaxed sail you could wish for

we were a group of 6 friends and enjoyed a lovely 3 hrs sail trip out of barcelona. the moment we left the harbour, sails were set and the wind took over.
A TripAdvisor Member | Dubai, United Arab Emirates | 23 May 2018

Beautiful memory from Barcelona

This was my first time sailing and I really had a nice and relaxing experience. The boat is beautiful, Mr. Dave was a good host and I truly enjoyed it. Would recommend this trip to anyone who want to escape the city for a while and just relax. I would definitely do this again. Really great memory from Barcelona!
Aida S | | 22 May 2018

A beautiful old boat, a wonderful experience

Dave, the skipper and owner of Gemini is a thoroughly lovely guy whose love of his boat and sailing is very evident. The trip was relaxing and we learned much about the boat and sailing and just enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We would thoroughly recommend this trip. The fact that dave is Scottish means there is no language barrier which further enhanced the trip.
Lou_Jenkins | Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom | 23 April 2018

Great sail!

This sail around Barcelona was the highlight of our trip! Captain Dave is fantastic; he made us feel welcome and at home on his wonderful boat. We loved that the sail was just our family and was so reasonably priced. We highly recommend this trip and will absolutely do it again when we return to Spain!
Elise M | Seattle, United States | 19 April 2018

Fun boat ride-a little choppy

Dave and his son Diego were great sailors and excellent guides and hosts on their lovely boat. Had great weather for as early in the season as it was. Seas were a bit choppy though, and would have been better had we followed Dave’s sound advice of taking Dramamine beforehand for a few of our group. Highly recommend the experience and the captain!
Megan T | | 1 April 2018

What an experience!

My review is long overdue! We sailed on the Gemini with Skipper Dave a few months ago, in September of 2017. The whole experience, sailing in an 80 year old sailboat along the coast of Barcelona with good friends was an experience that we all will remember for a long time.
cclis | macon, ga | 23 January 2018

Very very well

Very good was. Very nice sail. Worth the money. Everything's just fine. I recommend everybody! Thanks Dave.
Varga D | | 25 December 2017

Charming Boat with a friendly skipper

I thoroughly a 3 hour cruise with Captain Dave on board Gemini. The boat oozes charm and is really interesting in its setup. As someone who only recently started sailing, i had an amazing time chatting with Captain Dave. Even thiugh the wind was very light, i had a great time. Highly recommended
Aquanauticaldbn | Durban, South Africa | 3 December 2017

Looking to escape for 3 hours?This is THE best sailing I had for a long time

We were 18 adults, looking for a way to get away of our routine for a couple of hours without our kids. Dave and his team had THE idea. They took us for 3 hours on his catamaran by the Barcelona coast. We were alone on the sea, we could take some fresh air and catch up with our friends with some back ground music, drinks, fruits and snacks... the dream come true. I definitely recommend Dave and I will for sure book a tour again. Dave was helpful, responsive, welcoming, discreet... Trust me, I am very picky and I have to say, these guys deserve to be known! See you very soon Dave!
Lorraine C | | 10 November 2017

Sailing Bracelona

Excellent value for money sail on board a classic sail boat which is easy to access. We had a three hour sail and swim in the deep ocean on a beautiful autumn day. I would highly recommend this trip, Dave is a very laid back friendly individual overall great day out.
smackmac420 | Glasgow, United Kingdom | 6 November 2017

A wonderful afternoon sailing on Skipper Dave's sailboat!

My husband and I sailed with Skipper Dave on his 41 foot, 1943 gorgeous wood sailboat. My husband is an accomplished sailor and offered to "crew" as we exited the harbor and got under sail. Of course, Skipper Dave was more than capable of doing this independently, but allowed my husband to assist. It wound up that he let my husband sail the boat (steer) for the 3 hours of the sail! He just loved being out on the Mediterranean, under sail, and manning the helm! I stayed on the fore deck and let those 2 sailors talk shop together. Skipper Dave was professional, capable and very friendly. He asked us what sort of sail we wanted...as I prefer a more smooth ride, he only put up the partial sails as it was a windy day. It was a perfect afternoon of sun and relaxation and a wonderful gift to my husband! Thank you for a lovely day!!
JulieNitz | Farmington Hills, Michigan | 13 October 2017

Classic Sailing Barcelona Yacht Charter

An excellent afternoons sail with Dave off the coast of Barcelona. It was an absolute joy and would thoroughly recommend it whether you are experienced or not. It was lovely to leave the hot city behind and have the sea breeze on your face.
Jan R | | 4 October 2017

Wonderful moment

Spent the morning with my wife and kids on Dave's boat. First of all Dave is very professional and very friendly. He tells if you are interested, leaves you in peace if you want to nap, let's you drive if you want... he adapts to each individual perfectly.
Sylvain H | Madrid, Spain | 26 September 2017

Wonderful experience

My mom and I recently went on an afternoon sail with Dave. We were a few minutes late, due to traffic from where we were coming from, but Dave was accommodating and he was waiting for us in the boat when we arrived. The weather was beautiful and it was overall a very relaxing and enjoyable sail. Thank you!
Grace L | | 24 September 2017

Great sail

My wife and I recently took the Gemini out with skipper Dave for a sunset sail there in Barcelona. The directions to the boat were spot on. I fully recommend going out of port Olimpic, as you are in the open water in no time. It was a little choppy but Dave did a outstanding job guiding the boat while my wife and I had Cava and toasted to the last sight of the evening sun going behind Montjuic. Perfect way to end our vacation in Spain.
dbrown109 | Gloster, Mississippi | 15 September 2017

Rough waters, but fun!!

We enjoyed our morning with Dave. He let us participate in piloting the boat. It was too rough for swimming, but it was still fantastic to view Barcelona from the water. Thank you!!
Cathy P | | 8 September 2017

Very Professional

We recently booked this tour. The process was extremely clean and easy. We made a deposit and had confirmation instantly. We contacted the captain throughout the process and he always got back to us quickly. Unfortunately, the day the trip was scheduled the weather was quite bad. We contacted the captain ~ 1 hour before and advised of our weather concern. The captain got right back to us and gave us the option to cancel. We unfortunately did cancel and couldn't reschedule as it was our last day(he offered to reschedule for the following evening). I got a confirmation of the cancellation and refund within minutes. I offered to have him keep the deposit due to feeling badly and he refused to accept. If we are back in town we will try again.
markK3337NQ | Florida | 2 September 2017

A must in Barcelona!

We enjoyed our sunset cruise w Dave! Great way to relax and see the city! It's a very comfortable boat and ride (didn't feel motion sick) his sail boat can handle the waves. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
purplenimen | Fort Myers | 28 August 2017

Chill Sail!

I was in Barcelona for honeymoon and I booked this trip after reading all the amazing reviews! Dave is super nice and chill and the boat is absolutely beautiful! It is very relaxing to be on the ocean, and Dave left us alone so that we can have a peaceful sail! It was everything I had dreamed for a Barcelona Boat Tour!
Natalie G | | 24 August 2017

Killing It

Gorgeous. Simply gorgeous. Best way to see Barcelona with Dave.
G H | Sydney, Australia | 15 August 2017

Private Sunset Cruise

Booked this for our anniversary, and had a really amazing evening. The boat is beautiful and skipper Dave is really helpful and friendly, all we had to do was enjoy the trip. My girlfriend was amazed by the experience and it was the perfect way to celebrate a romantic evening and escape the city.
sean j | | 6 August 2017

Great afternoon out!!

Having read all the great reviews, we booked this (family of three including 14 year old daughter)... we were not disappointed and had a great afternoon gently sailing around the bay off Barcelona Marina. Dave was a friendly host which made the trip even better... you won't regret booking this.
Will R | Solihull, United Kingdom | 24 July 2017

Great Sail with Dave

We sailed with Dave in June of 2015 and had a great afternoon with him, so when we found ourselves back in Barcelona (July 2017), sailing with Dave again was a must do. We had another great afternoon with Dave. Sailing in the Mediterranean is a great way to see the city. We went for a swim, five miles out; the water was amazing. Highly recommend a sailing trip with Dave.
Larry G | | 18 July 2017

Great Fun

4 of us booked the boat for 3 hours on a glorious Saturday afternoon. Dave was a great Skipper, letting us drink and play music while he took care of the sailing.
Dom S | | 11 July 2017

Exceeded expectations. Bravo!

Way to go Dave! You and your son were such great hosts and we had a wonderful time on your boat. Dave clearly loves what he does for a living and it shows clearly. Thank you again.
Michael S | Baltimore, Maryland | 4 July 2017

Amazing Experience

Recently, Dave took my girlfriend and me on a sunset tour on his beautiful boat, Gemini. Before the trip, he communicated with us so well and had an extremely quick response time. He gave very clear directions on how to get to the boat, and we had no trouble finding it in Port Olympic. We brought drinks and ice, and he brought a cooler, which was so kind of him. He took us out on the Mediterranean, let us go for a swim, sailed along the coastline, and then took us back as the day became night. He even took a couple of pictures for me and my girlfriend during sunset. The trip was beautiful, we had calm water, and if I return to Barcelona, I will definitely re-book this sailing experience with Dave and Gemini. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Thanks Dave (:
cac275 | Hattiesburg, Mississippi | 21 June 2017

Highlight of our trip

We really enjoyed sailing with Dave. We spent 10 days in Barcelona and sailing was our break from sightseeing, which turned out to be the highlight of our trip. Would definitely go back. First time on the Mediterranean, it was beautiful and relaxing. Dave was a great host.
Jolynne P | | 19 June 2017

Highlight of the trip!

This was a great boat and captain. We stopped and went swimming in the blue Mediterranean. Very relaxing. Had great views of coastal Barcelona. Captain Dave was knowledgeable about the city and sailing. Great experience!
Beth P | New Orleans, Louisiana, United States | 19 June 2017

Excellent experience

The experience is highly recommended. The Gemini is a very nice boat to sail on, Dave is very kind and the price very competitive. Largely matched our expectations!
Marounistan | London, United Kingdom | 7 June 2017

Beautiful Day on the Mediterranean!

Our group of 5 spent a 3 hour afternoon sailing on the Gemini with Captain Dave. We couldn't have asked for a better day on the water. Dave is a great captain and took care of all of our needs. The weather cooperated fully and we were able to sail up the coast north of Barcelona seeing the shoreline for quite a while. On the way back the wind picked up and made for a great experience, especially for the first time sailors with us.
Joanne B | Kansas City, Missouri | 28 May 2017

Amazing evening on a beautiful boat!

So pleased with booked with Classic Sail, Dave was a fantastic host and the Sunset Cruise was such a wonderful to spend an evening with friends. Enjoyed every minute, will definitely book again!
Elakel | | 23 May 2017

Awesome experience

Dave very accommodating and a great skipper. His skill and information about everything was wonderful. A great way to see Barcelona from a different view. When I had short legs to get on the boat he made a way for me to do it. Let the sea breeze be in your face and relax and enjoy. Must do in Barcelona.
ruthibyers | | 10 May 2017

Wow! Definite recommendation

These guys were super helpful and flexible. We had to move trip a couple of times and they really accommodated us. Price was good considering everything we had and the food/ drink package for extra 10 Euros is worth it. We also brought some drinks ourselves. Skipper let us sail when we wanted, there was music (although a Bluetooth connection to our devices would be a good addition), there was sun, there was beer, it was a great way to spend 3 hours of sunset!
wittehengel | Istanbul, Turkey | 2 May 2017

Fabulous sunset sail

We had a brilliant time on board Gemini with Dave. Very relaxed and welcoming. It's a beautiful boat and Dave could not to be more helpful or accommodating - and the sunset over the mountains was stunning. You get to see a unique view of the Barcelona skyline and coast and you can either relax with the sails blowing as he skippers or if you want you can help with the piloting of the boat. And it's great value too!!
Elaine S | | 18 April 2017

Sailing fun

Had a great afternoon trip with Captain Dave - great host, and thoroughly enjoyable afternoon. Well worth a go!
Taylorgt1 | London, United Kingdom | 4 April 2017

Could not have had a better first-time sailing experience

This was a weekend of firsts - first time in Barcelona, first time on a sailboat, first time on the Mediterranean. Skipper Dave's sailing cruise operation is as skillful as it is courteous. Whether you're into talking about the techniques and history of sailing or just sitting back and enjoying the views and sounds of sailing off the coast at Barcelona this is an experience worth every Euro.
Keith H | | 22 March 2017

Lovely way to spend a couple of hours

Our group of 11, including 6 children aged 9-12, had a wonderful trip. Captain Danny was very friendly and let all the kids have a go at skippering the boat, which was one of their highlights of visiting Barcelona!
Melsybabes | Warlingham, United Kingdom | 2 January 2017

Great sail on the Mediterranean for some peace and and wind in your face.

Dani was our captain for a great sail on their 40' monohull. We had a group of 7 with plenty of room and enjoyed a motor around and sail at sunset. Dani was a great guide, the boat was in great shape, and everyone had a great time getting off of land and getting some salty air into our systems.
Rick H | Clarkston, Michigan | 12 December 2016

The Jewel of Barcelona!!!!

My husband and I have just returned from 3 weeks in Spain. The top memory of our trip is our 3 hour sail with Dave, the owner of Classic Sail Barcelona. It was definitely the most memorable moment of our trip. Try something new and outside of the regular tourist trips. You can go as a group, a couple, or just by yourself. Dave will do everything he can to accommodate your needs. How many people get to sail on the Mediterranean? Don't miss this relaxing, enjoyable, and memorable trip!
Judith C | Cuenca, Ecuador | 13 November 2016

A wonderful evening with Captain Dave

Captain Dave and his boat Gemini were the perfect escape from the urban Barcelona. We booked an afternoon sail however he contacted us and advised we go a bit later to enjoy the sunset. It was beautiful. My love and I had the boat to ourselves and Captain Dave was a perfect balance of accommodating and knowledgeable, while at the same time leaving us to ourselves so we could soak in the experience.
braddog8 | Bozeman, Montana | 27 October 2016

Fantastic afternoon's sailing on Gemini with Skipper Dave

We took a 3 hour sailing trip with Skipper Dave - it was by far my favourite part of the holiday, and represented excellent value for money.
dduffy41 | | 25 October 2016

Relaxing Afternoon Sailing Trip

My husband and I did the afternoon sail with Captain Dave and had a really great experience. I am one to usually get seasick when out on the ocean, but thankfully had an enjoyable sail without even taking medicine. It was a nice escape from the big city crowds in Barcelona and was incredibly relaxing. The area to sit on the boat was really comfy and Dave even stopped the boat for us to swim, which was really appreciated by us. I would definitely recommend Classic Sail Barcelona to anyone looking for a relaxing time at sea in Barcelona.
Christie S | Seattle, Washington | 2 October 2016

Catamara <3

We booked the catamaran for 12 persons, after a tour in both harbour of Barcelona, we sailed further away and then stopped to take a bath :D.
Rouffy83350 | Barcelona, Spain | 28 September 2016

Simply Awesome!

My Dad booked the trip as a surprise. And what a surprise! The weather was ideal, the boat fantastic and Captain Dave did a great job. We were out for about three very enjoyable hours. Gemini is a lovely little traditional sailing boat and this added charm to the event. One certainly learnt a lot from the trip and was left with a memory that will stick for a lifetime. A recommendation.
MacDonald555 | Wiesmoor, Germany | 21 September 2016

The perfect getaway

If you want to see Barcelona from another side, you certainly want to sail with skipper Dave.
stijns740 | | 6 September 2016

Didn't Make The Sail, But Still 5 Stars

Unfortunately we had to cancel our trip the same day because two in our party had a medical emergency and went home. Dave was incredibly easy to work with and responsive and gave us our deposit back without issue. We really appreciated it. We were very bummed to miss the boat trip, but if we are ever in Barcelona again we definitely will put it at the top of the list. Thank you very much again, Dave.
Neeners815 | Jersey City, New Jersey | 4 September 2016

Great way to escape the crowds

Great day on the water! Took my two daughters (17,20) and a friend out for a three hour sail. They really enjoyed it, very relaxing. The boat is definitely older but has a lot of charm. Our captain was Dave, he was very knowledgeable and a super nice guy. It was the perfect way to escape the crowds and noise of Barcelona. Great trip.
JCS28715 | Asheville, North Carolina | 24 August 2016

Gorgeous chill afternoon sail!

If you want to spend some time relaxing on the water, this is the sailing excursion to choose. Skipper Dave was kind and helpful, but he really left you alone to relax as you sail the beautiful sea. The Gemini is a beautiful boat. Can't go wrong with this trip.
lizalford | Marrakech, Morocco | 11 August 2016

Exiciting...and calm! Awesome sailing trip!

We had booked with Dave for 4 adults and 1 child on a Friday afternoon. However, once we took off into our sailing trip, the waves were crazy! The boat was at 45 degrees most of the time. My 7 year old and I enjoyed it very much, but the wife and auntie were hanging on for their lives! Well, after almost an hour of this excitement, Skipper Dave called it off and we headed to port. A man of his words, he'd volunteered to refund most of our trip due to weather, but we opted to reschedule. So, again, we went on Monday morning. Calm sea and beautiful weather. This time it was a very smooth ride. We stopped for a few an took a dip in the clear cobalt blue sea. A very relaxing trip. Anyways, bring your own food and water. Enjoy the view and relax...But I have to say, I loved battling the waves!!!
phuwanai1194 | Atlanta, Georgia | 11 August 2016

Excellent romantic excursion

My fiancée and I went on a sunset cruise with David. It was an incredible and memorable experience. David was very easy to work with and responsive beforehand, providing advice on what to bring. The actual trip was fantastic. It was a bit rocky to start, which seems to be typical during the early evening in Barcelona. We took some anti-nausea pills before heading out so we were fine, but I'd recommend this for anyone who is prone to seasickness. However about halfway through it calmed down a ton. The sunset itself was unreal. Barcelona doesn't have a great view of the sunset in the city since the sun sets over the mountains but out on the water you can see everything. The trip was so romantic and is something we are going to always remember.
Dave B | Boston | 31 July 2016

A great sail

This will easily be one of my highlights from Barcelona. Very few things could be as relaxing as this lovely morning/afternoon voyage out into the sea. Dave was an excellent host, and took excellent care of us.
Kyle M | Dartford | 28 July 2016

You want to go sailing? Classic Sail Barcelona is the perfect provider!!

I wanted to surprise my fiancée for her birthday - the booking of Gemini with Skipper Dave was the perfect gift and an incredible experience. We took the Sunset Tour which was a picture perfect trip with blue sea, a romantic sunset and a refreshing swimming stop. Gemini is a beautiful and very well maintained sailing boat, with a nice history (built in 1947). Skipper Dave couldn't have been a nicer host with a friendly smile and loads of cool insights into sailing.
Colonius | Zurich, Switzerland | 28 July 2016

Spectacular!

This was a highlight of our family visit to Barcelona. With our family of five kids, ranging from a nine year old to a twenty year old, Skipper Dave was the bomb. He answered every one of my older son's questions on the how-to and physics of sailing. We learned a lot. We also were able to stop the boat and jump into the sea for a few minutes, which was a blast. The scenery was spectacular and the boat was unbelievably cool and classic. My wife and teenage daughters loved laying on the deck and soaking in the Vitamin D. To anyone visiting Barca, I'd put this sail trip high on your list. We absolutely loved it.
Eric M | | 26 July 2016

HAPPY SAILING

If you want to go sailing for a few hours on a 1940s sail boat then do this. I came across another provider with good reviews but it was a modern catamaran which didn't interest me.
DalBelloV | Barcelona, Spain | 20 July 2016

Highlight of our Barcelona weekend hen party trip !

Dave is a very friendly and helpful person and our tour was beyond our expectations. We surprised our friend for her bachelorette trip and this was def the highlight! Absolutely fantastic! We had an amazing 3 hour boat ride on the beautiful gemini boat. I can highly recommend this tour! If you want to enjoy a special boatride with your special one(s), this is for.
Michal_travels | Berlin, Germany | 11 July 2016

Afternoon Sailing Trip

I was with a group of four guys in their late 20's and we had a great time. The entire trip is exactly as advertised.
Rupam B | | 11 July 2016

Sunset tour

We enjoyed a lovely sunset tour with Dave. The view of Barcelona from the sea is amazing as well as the silence away from city!
Marine V | Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates | 7 July 2016

Great wind, great sail!

Our sail with Dave on the Gemini was fantastic. Dave was quick to get us information on booking and how to locate the boat. He was ready for departure as soon as we arrived. Gemini is a classic old wooden boat that is very stable and takes the water beautifully. Our weather was perfect with lots of wind which made for a great sail. Dave stopped so we could jump in the ocean for a swim. It was a great afternoon and we highly recommend this boat. Dave was a pleasant host and let my husband and daughter help sail. It was super easy to get to using the metro.
sdeboon | Red Deer, Canada | 6 July 2016

Sunset cruise

Our group of 7 took the sunset cruise with our skipper Stefan. We had a very enjoyable experience, even though the majority of us suffered from sea sickness! We were able to bring our own food, drink and even music via the bluetooth facility provided. The price of this trip compared very favourably with others and this is another reason why I would recommend this experience.
YorkshireMackem | yorkshire | 3 July 2016

Awesome afternoon in the sunshine!

I booked classic sail Barcelona for my friend's hen do so that we could enjoy an afternoon sailing along the coast making the most of the beautiful weather. The trip was exactly what we were hoping for. Dani, our skipper was fantastic. We brought on our own drink and food and we could play music and games and make ourselves at home. When the hen got sea sick (more than likely induced by the level of drinking the night before) Dani was great. He got her up to steer the boat and get out of the sun which made her feel a million times better. It was the perfect trip. If only we'd booked for the whole day or for another trip the next day. Maybe next time!
Vicky K | | 2 July 2016

Highly recommended experience

Highly recommended activity in Barcelona! It was amazing to enjoy the sailing, sun, sea while chilling on the deck of the classic yacht and chatting with friends, enjoying drinks and even jumping for a swim.
D_travel_rev | Alicante, Spain | 29 June 2016

Great Host, Great Boat, Great Time!

We are a family of five (Mother, Father, Son-19yrs, Son-13yrs, Son-6yrs) and chose for the morning sail with Skipper Dave. The reservation was simply done online, meet up instructions were clear and easy, and payment was as transparent and easy. We would absolutely recommend this as a great experience in Barcelona for any family. Thank you Dave!
Mike B | | 27 June 2016

Excellent morning sail from Port Olimpic

We were a group of 11 who booked a sailing boat trip for my 30th birthday.
Karan S | London, United Kingdom | 14 June 2016

Great way to see Barcelona

Fab way to get away from it all and see Barcelona from another perspective. Lovely historic boat. Kids are most welcome!
6Months062013 | Landsborough, Australia | 8 June 2016

Brilliant! A perfect morning!

A wonderful morning of sun and sea, enjoyed hugely by adults and children alike (11 and 15). Dave is a gracious, knowledgeable host but not at all intrusive - very amenable when the kids wanted to stop the boat and swim. Much more personal than one of the more touristy operators who we watched setting off just before us. No better way to spend a sunny morning in Barcelona.
GemmaRLondon | London | 8 June 2016

Mediterranean Coastal Cruise

My daughter and I were stopping in Barcelona for the week for her Spring Break. We didn't know the city, or have any plans, so on the fly, we found this Sailboat cruise, signed up and went. It was very easy to book, very easy to find, and an enjoyable experience all around. Skipper Dave was super nice. He answered questions, and talked to us as needed, and also, allowed us to just chill on the front of the boat and enjoy the views. It was a great time, and if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and enjoy some peace and quiet with a great view, I highly recommend this trip.
jontravels2018 | Destin, Florida | 31 March 2016

True sailing on the Med.

If you've been rum punch sunset cruising in Hawaii or Key West, think about this sail differently. This is an earthy, jump on a cool wooden boat and get ready to just have a sail type of experience. You bring your own food and beverages so nothing fancy there. There is no music unless you bring your own -- so prepare for the sound of the wind and the waves. If the wind is high, don't expect to be strolling on the boat - but rather holding a rail without letting go and enjoying a bit of adventure. Hit the restroom first and if you are the seasick type and the wind is up take some dramamine first as it really is a sailboat not a party boat! Dave was a solid captain who knew his stuff, but not there to give you a tour - just there to sail the boat. I really appreciated his clear communication about what to expect as well as flexibility with us with a last minute member cancelling due to illness.
Laura S | | 29 March 2016

Great view of Barcelona

Had a great sail with Capt. Dave. He was very accommodating and we enjoyed the conversation as we sailed the coastline. The boat was very easy to find in the large marina and the reservation process was smooth. Thanks Dave!
PATRICK R | madison | 25 March 2016

Great dip in the Mediterranean

I booked this classic sailing trip with Dave for our honeymoon back in the summer 2015. I promised Dave to give him a 5-stars, comments and recommendations so here it is.
vspeang | Greater London, United Kingdom | 1 January 2016

Light airs but great sail

My wife and I went for for an afternoon sail on Gemini with Dave last week and while the winds were light she ghosted along better than I expected.
Stephen B | | 10 November 2015

Lovely afternoon sailing

Our original booking had been to go on Gemini but weather wasn't great, so the next day we went out with Giambattista and Dave. A lovely afternoon spent relaxing and admiring the views. Our baby was made comfortable too. Many thanks
SilverLadyLondon | London | 31 October 2015

Fantastic evening

We went on a sunset cruise with Dave (who is lovely) and had a great time. I enjoyed the sunshine and sunset while watching the coastline fade away and my boyfriend got to do some sailing, so everyone was happy!
FuzzAldrin | Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom | 22 October 2015

Perfect romantic evening

I planned a private sunset sail with my partner as a surprise while we were on holidays in Barcelona. it was perfect! Dave was wonderful, the boat was perfect, it was lovely to sit, eating some cheese and watching the sun set and the lights go on around the town. A very special experience - highly recommended! Thank you again Dave for a memorable evening
Mima_Pope | Darwin, Australia | 21 October 2015

A wonderful experience

Although we sailed on unsettled sea day :-)
LihiRa | Zichron Yaakov, Israel | 9 October 2015

Fantastic Afternoon

We had an amazing time with Cptn. Dave. It was the most relaxing part of our busy trip, and absolutely beautiful. There was not much wind when we went out, but we didn't care. It was comfortable and the views of the city were great. I'd like to be on that boat again, right now. Highly recommend, and the cost was reasonable and worth every cent.
juliebirditis | Bakersfield, California | 1 October 2015

Beautiful evening sail!

Skipper Dave was amazing! We took the evening sail and it was perfect. This is a great activity and I highly recommend it.
HNikkie | Chicago, Illinois | 28 September 2015

Spot on

Can't fault the sunset cruise for a perfect anniversary experience. I was a bit apprehensive as I get motion-sickness, but I took a kwells, wore some wrist-bands and kept my eyes on the horizon and had a wonderful time despite it being rather choppy. I also followed Dave's advice and stayed to the middle and centre of the boat (Gemini). Husband used to sail when he was younger and Dave was happy to let him get involved and answer questions about the boat - which is a really beautiful classic boat. Watching the sun fade over the Barcelona horizon was pretty special. (I read the reviews on here prior to booking and the photos just don't do the experience justice.) Dave is a lovely skipper with a lovely boat. Would definitely recommend Classic Sail to anyone looking to do something a bit special in Barcelona.
highspeedcow | | 7 September 2015

Sailing in Spain, at Sunset - A Must Do

I got a hold of Dave through a friend that had sailed with him a week before and he came highly recommended. I can see why. He is truly a good soul and a gentleman and his boat speaks volumes about his charm and debonair. Gemini is a little dated but it is spacious and has a lot of character. I had a group of 6 and it fit very nicely and for its price, it's definitely as good as it gets.
Brian L T | Los Angeles, California | 7 September 2015

A wonderful Barcelona experience -

Dave did a great job taking us out to sail in Barcelona. We sailed, we swam, and we enjoyed ourselves immensely.
Phil T | New York | 6 September 2015

Incredible, Holiday Highlight

2:00 start time. Even though the sky was cloudy, we had the time of our lives. The sea was warm when we got in, Dave was lovely, the boat was charming and brilliant. Whether you think you are into sailing or not, give it a go, you will LOVE it! Kids and adults alike had a truly amazing time aboard this beautiful ship with it's fabulous skipper.
Rhiannon M | Leicester, United Kingdom | 30 August 2015

A perfect morning on board Gemini!

We had a great time on board Gemini and Dave was a welcoming skipper. It's a perfect way to see the Barcelonian coast and to go for a swim in the very warm, deep, blue Med and sunbathe on deck away from the masses! Take drinks and snacks to enjoy while peacefully sailing.
Paula S | Chichester, United Kingdom | 26 August 2015

Relaxing family excursion with a great skipper!

We had a terrific 3+ hour cruise on the Gemini with David. He welcomed my wife and I and our three boys (6, 10, 16) on board and despite the cloudy skies and chop we really had a great time. Packed some bread, charcuterie, cheese and drinks enjoyed the view of Barcelona and some interesting conversation with David. Since we couldn't jump in the Med we really just spent the 3 hours in relaxation, and it was still the highlight of our 3 days in Barcelona. Just an FYI, there is paid PARKING literally right next to the boat, just drive down Carrer de la Marina and swing a left where there is the parking barrier but the underground pay garage at Port Olimpic is an option as well. Thanks David!
Sami C | | 22 August 2015

The most relaxing adventure of our trip!!

I would highly recommend taking a sailing trip with Dave!! He is wonderfully laid back and lets you make the very most out of the experience (unlike some of the larger/corporate excursions where they do not give room for a flexible schedule and you end up feeling like your on a school field-trip ), yet Dave is a safe and experienced sailor. My husband and I had been traveling for two weeks and this was the PERFECT break! We enjoyed the views, swam in the ocean, and even took a nap (yes, I was that relaxed)! If you are in Barcelona and want to have a great time out on the ocean, book with Dave!
Jaclyn P | Austin, Texas | 20 August 2015

Amazing Family adventure

We had an Amazing time, we where able to have such a relaxing time. Dave answered all of our questions before and during our trip. We have 2 kids ages 4 and 9 they loved it. Dave gave us a tour of he boat and explained safety tips before we left, made sure we where comfortable. It was an incredible experience, Definitely recommend it.
Daniel R | Wiesbaden, Germany | 19 August 2015

Champagne & the Sea

What a wonderful and relaxing three hours out on the sea with friends! This is an amazing company to use as you can do what you want, it isn't like the big stuff companies that lay everything out for you. We brought our own champagne and food for a picnic on the boat, it was lovely! If you have a group of 4 or more would highly recommend booking out the entire boat, it is just lovely!
Lacey J | South Boston, Massachusetts, United States | 18 August 2015

Relaxing 3 hours away from the buzz

A very lovely afternoon with skipper Stefan and a welcome getaway from the hot city.
Alar I | Tartu, Estonia | 12 August 2015

Great trip on a beautiful boat

Had a great trip with Dave whilst in Barcelona recently. Water was a little choppier than usual so no opportunity to swim but this is clearly out of the skippers hands, no complaints at all there. On a calmer day this would be just about the perfect way to spend an afternoon, cooling down from the August sun. Not your usual everyday sailing trip and all the better for it! All the best for the future of your enterprise Dave.
Jasonab1 | Nottingham, United Kingdom | 11 August 2015

Trip Highlight!!

We had a wonderful time!! Gorgeous views of the city and a fun time on the boat. We took all 5 of our kids ranging in age from 3-17 and everyone felt it was the best part of our trip. Would definitely recommend
kscottsmith5 | New Canaan, Connecticut | 11 August 2015

What an amazing trip!

My wife and I had such an amazing time on Skipper Dave's sailboat. Definitely the highlight of our time in Barcelona.
Michael A | | 10 August 2015

Excellent, relaxing time :)

Spent a brilliant few hours out on the water with Dave last week. Really nice guy and the boat is a real classic, not much in the way of automation! Weather was gorgeous of course and we just pootled about, absolutely perfect. Even my perpetually grumpy teenage daughter admitted that she enjoyed it, I can think of no higher praise!
Matt P | London, England | 9 August 2015

A lovely way to spent an afternoon!

The whole thing was very straightforward; we emailed Dave asking about certain time slots then reserved one on his website and paid a 30 Euro deposit. We arrived at the dock ahead of time and identified his boat. Dave himself was lovely and very interesting to talk to. It was a bit choppier than we would have liked but what a lovely way to cool down. It was very hot when we were there, about 30 degrees so we enjoyed the break on Dave's boat. All in all a good experience!
Gaynor H | Horsham, United Kingdom | 7 August 2015

The perfect escape

The morning that my mother and I spent with Dave on his beautiful sailboat was a few hours in heaven! My mother was visiting me on the cruise ship I work on, had already seen the famous sights of Barcelona, so I was searching for a different way to experience the city. We both have a special attachment to sailing, I always was admiring the sail boats in the harbor from my cruise ship deck, and from the reviews on Trip Advisor, Classic Sail Barcelona sounded perfect… and it was.
Linz625 | Montreal, Quebec, Canada | 5 August 2015

Very nice skipper!

The sign-up and transaction online were very smooth. We had to cut our sea promenade short as our son got seasick (first time sailing) due to very choppy waves, but through it Dave proved to be a wonderful skipper, very careful, riding the waves as smoothly as possible, and seems a lovely man. Will try it again in the future, with more clement weather! Thank you Dave!
bedandy | Montpellier | 4 August 2015

Fantastic experience

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of sailing with Dave on the Gemini. It was an unforgettable experience. Dave is a pleasure personally and a very professional skipper. The boat is beautiful as well. He stopped twice so we could have a swim. He provides water but if you want anything else to drink or eat you gotta bring it. If you are thinking about sailing in Barcelona.. don't hesitate. Book with Dave and you wont be disappointed!
mdzebar | Brooklyn NY | 29 July 2015

Fantastic relaxing sail!

Bernardo the skipper was wonderfully knowledgeable and friendly - made the 3 hour sail most enjoyable! Water was clear and fresh! Highly recommended for some relaxation, water and fun during the hot, hot summer!
DPLosAngeles | Los Angeles | 29 July 2015

Romantic sunset sail.

I booked a sunset sail for just me and my girlfriend. It was everything I had hoped for. We took a dip in the Mediterranean and watched a beautiful sunset over the city and mountain to the west. Captain Dave was knowledgeable and put us at ease right away. He allowed us just to sit back and enjoy the trip.
Rob W | | 29 July 2015

Amazing Trip

We booked an afternoon 3.5 hour sailing tour and it was just incredible! We had so much fun, lying in the sun, jumping in the sea and just enjoying the beautiful day!
Sabrina P | Graz, Austria | 25 July 2015

Excellent option for a relaxing and romantic experience in Barcelona

My wife and I enjoyed a sunset cruise in July. Although the weather was warm in the city (roughly 90 deg F), the temp was definitely cooler on the water, even with limited breezes. Marina easily accessible from the old city. Great views, smooth sailing, comfortable one-of-a-kind sailboat, and a personable and cordial skipper. Slight downside on supposedly "limited" bathroom facilities, but if you plan ahead . . . :)
Christopher S | Chicago, Illinois | 24 July 2015

Great Sunset Sail

My boyfriend and I booked a sunset sail with Dave. The Gemini was a beautiful old ship. We enjoyed a 3 hour sail around the harbor. We brought our own wine on board and relaxed with the views.
cam20152015 | Dallas, Texas | 20 July 2015

Great Experience

It was a great present for my gf. Evertyhing was good organized and the great views the coastline of barcelona were astonishing! Not the last time i will book this trip for sure! 5+
Rastko L | | 17 July 2015

Wonderfully relaxing, friendly, and informative trip

My wife booked this trip - we were a group of 9 (3 related families) - Classic Sail worked with another organization to ensure we got a boat that fit our group's size. It was clear that Dani had chosen a skipper that was fluent in English, and was just as native to Spain as could be! Bernardo was an excellent skipper - talked very knowledgeably about the culture and history of Barcelona and the buildings that we could see as we motored out from where the boat was anchored (Port Olympic). He also pointed out some of the sailing tips that an accomplished sailor would know - the ripples on the water indicating the location of wind, the tell-tales near the sail that he used to track the wind shifts to ensure the sail was oriented right. What was incredible was the extent to which he was able to encourage our younger daughter to feel confident in "helping" him sail, when we were way out in blue water, returning back to shore. Most of us got into the blue water to swim a while - and again, Bernardo had the right words of encouragement to get the faint-hearted into the water. We had a great time in the crystal-clear water, which was bracing at the first touch, but very comfortable rapidly after, not at all warm. We would heartily recommend this 2.5 hour sailing trip as a great way to relax in the Mediterranean!
Popsrao | New York City, New York | 17 July 2015

Super sailing trip

Sailing on Gemini out of Port Olympic is absolutely splendid. It was such a remarkable voyage that I went twice within a month’s time. Well-read and rather charismatic, Skipper Dave is a first-class fellow and very professional. He’s attentive to the needs of his passengers and very accommodating. If you wander to the back of the boat, he’s got some great stories and advice about visiting BCN. I absolutely recommend booking a voyage on Gemini with Dave. It’s a trip we’ll remember always.
Chambiges | Bloomington, Indiana | 17 July 2015

Great boat and great skipper.

Great sail boat with an interesting history. Dave is a well-informed Scotsman who has been in Barcelona for almost a decade. He has a great website and I booked a bit in advance and he handled all my questions. We had a rare choppy sea (and some haze) so we missed the swim but the whole afternoon was relaxing.
JohnBoscoChicago_IL | Chicago, IL | 16 July 2015

Breathtaking!

This sailing trip 4-5 miles from the coast of the city was most probably the highlight of our trip.
Philippe B | | 15 July 2015

Great Trip!

My wife and I sailed through the afternoon into the evening. We swam in the Mediterranean and watched the sun set over Barcelona. It was an amazing experience! Beautiful and relaxing. Captain Dave was great. He is a first class skipper full of knowledge and enjoyable conversation, if you like. When we return, we plan on a longer excursion on the Gimini with captain Dave at the helm.
mfrazie | Tyler, Texas | 14 July 2015

Unwind with wind!!

Just had our honeymoon in Barcelona, it's an amazing city with plenty to eat, drink and see, after a fantastic week of trying to do as much as possible we could not have found a better way to relax and chill out than our trip with Dave on Gemini. We took the sunset cruise and it was just the two of us, Dave is really friendly and made our evening very relaxed, perfect way to end our honeymoon. He is also very knowledgeable about Barcelona too. Can't recommend it enough.
Edwinmajor | | 5 July 2015

Perfect day

Great boat, great skipper, great day. The biggest bang for the buck you're able to get in Barcelona, just do it.
johananden | | 28 June 2015

Great way to relax between tourist activities in Barcelona

We enjoyed a delightful sail. Beautiful weather and Dave's cordiality made it even better. The sail was a great hiatus from the rush of the running around the tourist sites of the city.
BruceMAnderson | Houston, Texas | 27 June 2015

Great Time

Gemini is a wonderful ship and Dave is a great captain. You'll have an excellent afternoon overlooking Barcelona.
Chris S | Detroit, Michigan | 25 June 2015

Amazing adventure at sea!

My husband and I did this as part of our honeymoon. We had so much fun! Dave was an excellent captain and polite host. The boat is truly a "classic sailboat" which gives it a lot of character and adds to the adventure.
sarah6082015 | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania | 23 June 2015

What an absolute treat

My friends and I had an absolutely fantastic afternoon sailing along the Barcelona coastline earlier in the month. Dave was a brilliant and knowledgeable host, extremely welcoming and we couldn't have asked for better weather. It was such a treat being able to swim in the clear waters alongside the boat. I would highly recommend this experience to all as it was the highlight of my Barcelona adventure. Thanks again Dave!
SuzeDyson | Auckland Central, New Zealand | 22 June 2015

Fun morning sail

Skippe Dave was great, and it was a fun morning sail. Gemini is full of character, and Dave was happy to tell us all about her. Definitely recommend this to others.
Bill N | Barcelona, Spain | 21 June 2015

All aboard for a great day sailing

Family and friends were in Barcelona for an upcoming wedding. Following days of walking and sightseeing, we enjoyed a beautiful sunny day aboard Gemini with Captain Dave. This sailing experience shows Barca in a different but beautiful light. A highlight of our trip.
Stewart A | Melbourne, Victoria, Australia | 20 June 2015

Awesome and relaxing

Awesome sailing trip and really relaxing! If u like just laying back, talking and enjoying the view this is for you! You get a different vision of Barcelona and Dave is open to answer questions.
Daniel N | | 10 June 2015

Our 1st sail in the Mediterranean

I'll preface this post with: just so you know my wife and I race, cruise and sail our own boat and sailing the mediterranean is a long time dream and we do plan to come spend a good couple of years on these safe and fun protected waters between Africa and Europe divide.
djekels | Chicago, Illinois | 4 June 2015

Fantastic sailing experience

Great sailing experience and great captain. When we first arrived at the boat the weather was not that good and the captain told us it is our option if we want to go, otherwise he will fully refund the money. We decided to wait couple of hours and then the sun got back and we went in a wonderful cruise.
Alexandru415 | Bucharest, Romania | 24 May 2015

Fantastic first time sailing experience!

We were looking for more unique things to do in Barcelona than just the regular tourist sites and so we booked this sailing trip. It was by far one of our favorite and most relaxing parts of the trip. The water is beautiful off the coast of Barcelona and the views of the coast were fantastic. In mid april, the weather was beautiful and my light jacket was all i needed for a cover-up over my sundress.
cldegen | Greater London, United Kingdom | 23 May 2015

Excellent!

The last week of April my boyfriend and I spent some time in Barcelona and I'm so glad I booked this for one of our days because it turned out to be one of our favorite parts of the entire trip.
kenzieschy246 | Santa Monica, California | 8 May 2015

Great Sailing Experience in Barcelona

We booked afternoon on Capitan Dave's beautiful boat as a bithday surprise for our friend. We had a fantastic time. Very relaxing and exiting in the same time.
Piotr K | | 6 May 2015

Something different

Fantastic venture with Capt Dave for a surprise birthday gift for a friend. Beautiful boat, great views of Barcelona and fun watching the boat being operated by sail and hitting some descents speeds!
Al H | London, United Kingdom | 4 May 2015

Relaxing Sail after Touring

Capt Dave is very accommodating and knows just how to customize the experience to his customers. We booked the sail after a few hard days of touring and we enjoyed just relaxing on the boat while Capt Dave took care of everything else. We highly recommend sailing with Dave.
RossTonyB | Pensacola, Florida | 2 May 2015

Highlight of our visit

I had booked this adventure asan early birthday gift to my husband. It did not disappoint. He is still grinning four days later. Imagine sailing along the coast, a breeze, some sun, sipping water libation you brought on board. The waves of the sea gently moving against the sides of the boat as you sails glide you through the water. You look inland and see the many points of interest to see. Truly romantic or telly family oriented depending on your entourage. It's private so you get to have the run of the deck. Loved it!
DianeColo | Montreal | 30 April 2015

Very best sailing in Barcelona

Get sailing on a great boat with a great skipper. All around a fantastic experience. You will not be disappointed.
Eric S | | 22 April 2015

Fantastic day of sailing!

What a great experience! We went sailing with Dave in early April for my birthday. Dave is fantastic and Gemini is gorgeous! Seeing Barcelona from sea was gorgeous. Can't recommend doing this enough!
calitravels48 | Los Angeles, California | 21 April 2015

Relaxing afternoon of sailing

A relaxing way to spend an afternoon, and a great way to take in views of the city while enjoying nibbles & drinks (that we took ourselves). I recommend bringing a windbreaker.
Catherine C | | 9 April 2015

Beautiful sail on a pristine day ... with a wonderful captain

My family thoroughly enjoyed our sail with Dave. The Gemini is a beautiful classic sloop, with a captain who's charming and engaging, and proved to be a great conversationalist ... with us and our teenage son. Today's sail was one of my favorite adventures we've taken while in Spain.
the_3_adventurers | Raleigh, North Carolina | 27 March 2015

Unbelievable Day of Sailing

This was my first ever sailing experience, and I could not have asked for a better captain to literally "show me the ropes." Captain Dave was a pleasure to join on-board as he provided me with the history of the boat; the reason why he purchased it; his adventure of sailing it to Barcelona and some insight into his experience here since.
Michael P | Boston, Massachusetts | 23 February 2015

Coolest boat I have ever been on

A must do for anyone who enjoys the water. Very knowledgable and laid back captain on a stellar sailboat. You will not be disappointed.
Dave W | Barcelona, Spain | 3 February 2015

Only good things to say.....

We went out with a large group - ages 12 - 78 - and Dave made everyone feel comfortable. He is amazingly calm and kind and accommodating - and clearly a skilled sailor! We needed to change our day and time numerous times and he was flexible and understanding. The views from the water were beautiful. It was an adventure. We highly recommend sailing with Dave.
2015Alisa | Raleigh, North Carolina | 1 January 2015

Excellent change of pace from busy Barca

Fantastic day out and got my first hands - on experience of sailing which was exhilarating. David was great company. Bring food, water and warm, wind-proof clothes - it's much cooler out on the water. This would be an amazingly refreshing experience in summer. Thank you David!
postmodernista | Glasgow, United Kingdom | 29 November 2014

All add my 5 star review to our sunset sail

One of the nicest things we did while in Barcelona and that's saying quite a bit. It was just really relaxing, literally smooth sailing and great views of the city. The Gemini was easy to find - less than a 10 Euro cab ride from the Gotic Quarter. We booked the sunset cruise as a private sail for our wedding anniversary. It may be helpful to know that David is Scottish so it was, for us, a plus to have a native English speaking guide.
dogs_in_heaven | Berlin, Maryland | 21 October 2014

Wonderful start to our vacation!

I traveled to Spain with a group of friends and we began our trip with an afternoon aboard the Gemini! The day couldn't have been more perfect weather-wise, and David was kind enough to shop for us for our drinks and munchies, as we had just landed in Spain and had no time to do it ourselves. He found a spot for us to jump in the sea to cool off .......and for me, it was one more check off my bucket list to say I swam in the Mediterranean! I only wish we'd had time at the end of our vacation to sail on the Gemini one last time! Thanks for a wonderful day David!!
Robin H | Iowa, United States | 19 October 2014

EXCEEDED our Expectations!

My friends and I reserved a sail with Classic Sailing for the afternoon after our flight landed in BCN. The gentle ride, fresh sea air, sunshine and cool water was just the ticket for our jet-lagged group. We would go again in a heartbeat! Everything was perfect and Captain David was a fabulous host and skipper!
Pamela L | Nashville, Tennessee | 13 October 2014

A sunset sail with David!

After a long day of walking the streets of Barcelona, our group of 8 (seniors) took a cab to meet David for his last sail of the day. Unfortunately for David, his classic sail boat was down for repairs, however; he had a backup plan in place when we arrived. We spent a relaxing evening enjoying our wine and snacks while sailing in a 42' sailboat overlooking the magnificent city of Barcelona. Seeing the sunset over the water...priceless! The best advise I can offer is to book a sail with David. David is a first class captain and we (really) enjoyed his company. David was not only easy on the eyes, he was a delightful captain to talk to. David left nothing unanswered if you had a question about sailing or the city of Barcelona. What an enjoyable evening...thank you David for adding your personal touch to a beautiful evening! You're the best and we wish you much success!!!
nchurchill | Houston, Texas | 19 September 2014

Beautiful

A beautiful sailing trip with a great skipper :). Nice sailing boat , I had a very cool experience on sea.
Ioan C | | 5 September 2014

A Mediterranean Adventure

Our family of four had a wonderful adventure with Captain Dave on the last day of our Barcelona vacation. Dave was very responsive through our email communications to book the trip. The directions to the Gemini were easy to follow and she was as described – well maintained with much character. Captain Dave was very personable but not intrusive – he patiently answered all our questions. We spent over three hours enjoying the beautiful Barcelona skyline. He even stopped and anchored so our kids could swim in the Mediterranean. We would highly recommend Classic Sailing and hope that we have the opportunity to sail on the Gemini someday again.
Kathy M | Rocky Hill, Connecticut | 23 August 2014

Excellent Cruise

Our sailing trip with Captain Dave was the best part of our trip to Barcelona! We went on a sunset cruise and the weather was perfect. Dave was very accommodating with our plans and responded quickly to emails related to our trip. He even gave us an excellent suggestion for a great seafood dinner. He was a most excellent host! If you’re in Barcelona you should take a cruise with Dave!
chuckiefresh | St. Pete, FL | 19 August 2014

Fabulous morning sail with helpful host

We booked a morning sail and as I have restricted mobility Dave the skipper moved the boat to an accessible berth. The cruise was beautiful with great views of Barcelona and Dave giving some local knowledge and flavour. The boat was full of character and comfortable and stable even when the wind got up. Half a day was plenty and it gives you an opportunity to explore Port Olympic afterwards.
J L | | 10 August 2014

Great views and friendly captain

This was our first morning in Barcelona after a week of travels. It sure was nice to get out on the water and see this beautiful city from a unique perspective. So relaxing just being out on the water. My girlfriend and I had the boat to ourselves and Dave gave us the space to enjoy each other's company. He was always available to answer any questions but did not intrude. We stopped for a short swim and the water was nice and refreshing. I printed out the map from Dave's web site and handed it to our taxi driver. He dropped us off less than 3 minutes away from the boat. Super easy to get to.
Brian M | Galveston Island, Texas | 5 August 2014

Sail Gemini!

The environment was more like a friend taking you out on a boat, rather than a cookie-cutter tour boat. Dave the skipper was an excellent guide, pointing out sights on the water and across the Barcelona cityscape, and even let a couple of us take a turn at the tiller (no scrapes, thankfully!) I recommend this to anyone who wants a REAL experience out in the waters off Barcelona.
Andrew M | Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada | 2 August 2014

Amazing afternoon

My sister and I spent an afternoon on Dave's boat and it was one of the best things we did on our trip. The views are amazing, the boat is beautiful and Dave is a great captain. The views from the ocean are incredible and really lets you see Barcelona from another perspective. We were able to bring lunch and cava and just lay in the quiet sun for a few hours. We were originally scheduled for a Monday but the weather was bad so Dave was very accommodating in rescheduling with us. Would definitely recommend!
avs1029 | New York City, New York | 15 July 2014

A flawless Barcelona Experience, beautiful sailing adventure!

We have nothing but good things to say about our sailing trip with Dave. We created this Trip Advisor account just so that we could write a review for this experience. We went on a morning excursion that took us about 2 miles off the Barcelona coastline and lasted around 3 hours. The harbor was actually closed when we started but he still took us out for the full experience despite the delay. Very accommodating when I got a little sea-sick and was more than understanding, which was a huge positive for us. We slept in the sun for quite a bit of our journey. If you're worried about having to carry a conversation or awkward silences, don't be! He was very charming and conversational when needed but gave us our space as well. We will definitely be doing this again next time we are in the area!
Kipdsumner | Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany | 13 July 2014

the barcelona coast at sunset….

what a fabulous treat this was for my friends and me! captain dave went out of his way to make our experience a positive and memorable one. take the time to experience beautiful barcelona from the lovely waters of the mediterranean.
ldythang1 | Birmingham, AL | 9 July 2014

A Must Do While Visiting Barcelona!

My sailboat trip around the coast of beautiful Barcelona was the highlight of my trip. Captain Dave was a gracious host and worked hard to ensure that our group had a wonderful experience on the blue water’s of the Mediterranean. The views were stunning and watching the sunset from the boat was both mesmerizing and magical. I would highly recommend a trip on the charming Gemini to anyone who wants to have a pleasantly unique experience. You won’t regret it.
David G | Birmingham, Alabama | 7 July 2014

Hen do fun!

We surprised the boat loving bride to be with a 3.5 hour private trip on the Gemini and she absolutely loved it. We all had the most amazing experience. The boat is gorgeous and with the sun out this really is a must do in Barcelona! David is a lovely guy, very friendly and easy going. We brought our own food and drink on board and some speakers to play our own music. This is such a good price as well compared to other boat companies over there that charge double the price for half the amount of time. We all definitely recommend this and would go back again next time we are in Barca.
Gembles85 | Surrey | 1 July 2014

Great start to the trip

We went on an afternoon sail the first day of our honeymoon. It was a great relaxing day to get accustomed to the time change. Gemini is a great old wooden sail boat, and Dave is hilarious. It was my husband's favorite part of Spain (we went to Barcelona, Sevilla and Granada). It was just a nice relaxing day. We went swimming, drank some wine, husband smoked a cigar. Nothing not to like.
NattyLynn | New York City, New York | 24 June 2014

Hands down, the best part of our trip!

Could there be anything better than having a beautiful old sailing boat to just you and your friends for the whole afternoon, in the blazing Barcelona sunshine? As we found out, no, there really couldn't.
Vickycee | Leeds, United Kingdom | 18 June 2014

Best thing we did on the trip!

Visited as part of a hen party, easily
Shireen A | Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom | 16 June 2014

A fantastic afternoon

A group of friends and I sailed with Dave one afternoon and it was one of the best things we've done in Barcelona! It was great to see Barcelona from the water and Dave was extremely nice and Gemini was great. Hands down something you must do while in Barcelona
Jacqueline B | Barcelona, Spain | 12 June 2014

Favorite thing I did in Barcelona

My Birthday wouldn't have been as special if not for this wonderful sail with David. The boat is so charming and beautiful. David is great, you can tell he loves what he does. Highly recommended. Thank you David for making my Birthday one of my most memorable.
JUSF | New york | 29 May 2014

Best thing we've done in Barcelona

This sailing trip was one of the best things we have ever done in Barcelona and we’ve been to Barcelona many times and seen most of what it has to offer. Dave was absolutely brilliant and made the whole experience from the initial booking through to disembarking back at the harbour totally seamless and a great experience. Dave replies to emails straight away, he was very accommodating, he even agreed to move our trip to another day due to the weather, he didn’t mind if we brought along our own food and drink, he was even prepared to pull up and let us go for a swim, but we chickened out of that because the water was so cold..
alexjwood | Birmingham, UK | 28 May 2014

wonderful trip

We've had the most wonderful trip with David. The boat is so beautiful and charming. David made the most of out sailing trip and was extremely kind and caring. An absolute must in Barcelona. Thanx David and all the best...
Luisa_xoxo | Hamburg, Germany | 20 May 2014

Recommended!

We had a very fun afternoon sailing on Gemini with Dave. A lovely wooden boat with room for all our stuff and it was great to be able to take our own food and drinks onboard (there's an easily accessible coolbox!). It was fairly blustery when we were out so we got to experience some "proper" sailing and basking in the sunshine was great. My only tip would be - take some warm clothing if you're out later on towards the evening, we got a little chilly on the journey back but then it was only April! It was a highly memorable part of our trip.
Olivia B | London, United Kingdom | 6 May 2014

Gorgeous view of the sunset!

We had a marvelous time going for an evening sail with Dave. He was very friendly and courteous, and we absolutely loved the view of the sun setting over the city skyline. Very highly recommended!
Cipriana C | | 21 April 2014

Different adventure on an old boat

What a nice sailing experience spending 4 hours in March on an old boat!
Sophiefrifri | Paris, France | 2 March 2014

Do it, do it!

had an awesome day with Dave and the crew, Dave really knows his stuff. Whether your inexperienced (like me) or have some experience under your belt, you'll work as a team, meet someone new and you'll have a great day. The mediterranean and the views of Barcelona are a must do! I highly recommend.
EverythingsArchie | | 29 September 2013

Highlight of our honeymoon!

My wife and I had a lovely evening sailing with Dave. He was very accommodating and friendly. The boat itself is very charming and easy to find in Port Olimpic. The views of the Barcelona shore are unreal at dusk. Make sure you bring some food and drink for your trip. Dave even let us swim out in the open ocean as the sun set over the city. If you plan on making it out to Barcelona, do not skip this opportunity. I can't say enough about how amazing this experience was. Thank you Dave!
830drews | Mansfield, Massachusetts | 14 September 2013

Lovely morning on the sea

A group of 5 of us spent a lovely 3.5 hours on the water. Dave was really friendly and welcoming, made us feel safe and let us bring food and drink aboard. The wind was very low that morning so we spent some time jumping off the boat and swimming. The whole experience was so much more characterful than most other boat trips I've been on. HIGHLY recommended.
Silentninja100 | London, United Kingdom | 4 September 2013

Amazing afternoon

Me and four of my friends (23-25 y.o.) went sailing with Dave. We spent an amazing afternoon away from the hectic city and enjoyed the Waves, Wind and the sea mixed with some beer and good food. I can recommend this to anyone. If you want to do this on the weekend it is better to reserve in advance, but you can always call and ask spontaneous. Absolutely safe.
Lars174 | Bern, Switzerland | 3 September 2013

Great day's sailing!

Dave is a very friendly and accommodating skipper, with your enjoyment and safety as his top priority. We had an excellent 7 hour day sail from Port Olimpic on-board Gemini, a very nice wooden boat (one of the few traditional wooden boats in Barcelona), with her distinctive wooden mast.
mjpm24 | London | 25 August 2013

Barcelona by full moon

Last night a friend and I went sailing from Barcelona Marina in a beautiful old wooden sailing boat 'Gemini', with her gregarious and knowledgeable captain, Dave. Clear skies and a full moon, the light breeze filling the sails, pushing us through the calm water, it was a perfect evening jaunt, admiring the magical vistas of night time Barcelona. Definitely something to be considered on a trip to Barcelona. It got a little chilly towards the end of the evening so take a sweater or a fleece.
Yubitzume | Barcelona, Spain | 21 August 2013

Perfect day!

I would highly recommend spending a day sailing along the Barcelona coast with Captain Dave. We were out for a 7 hour cruise, although by the time we docked it was closer to 8 hours (not a complaint!). As soon as we slipped away from the dock the temperature dropped from hot and sticky to sunny and warm. The noise and crowds of the busy, steamy city were quickly a memory and we spent a beautiful serene afternoon gently swaying up the coast and back.
FTA269 | Sutton, Massachusetts | 20 August 2013

Fantastic!!!!

Dave could not have been a better captain. He was accommodating, interesting and a great captain. Swimming off the boat was fantastic. The family had a perfect day! We were supposed to be out for 7 hours but Dave extended it to over 8. It was great.
Wkohn | | 19 August 2013

A Must-Do While In Barcelona!

While in Barcelona, this was THE best thing we did by far! We had an amazing day out on the sea. Captain Dave was an amazing crew and looked after us to perfection. We had lots of fun. Thank you David.
Luiz Paulo V | London, England, United Kingdom | 13 August 2013

Sailing with Captain Giambattista and ship mate Christian is an experience not to be missed: a relaxing sail far from the hustle

A real treasure of an experience. Wonderful crew who made us feel very special and made it the highlight of our trip, especially for our two, not always easy to please, teenagers. Highly recommend a sail with Dave and his excellent team.
RACHEL B | Haslemere, United Kingdom | 4 August 2013

Sailing on the coast of Barcelona

In my experience sailing can be a great and challenging adventure and it can be very relaxing chilling out. It all depends on weather and season. I have tried sailing on this boat both in rough weather and in nice summer days and I love both experiences.
Signite | Barcelona, Spain | 1 March 2013

Great captain, great boat!

The boat Gemini is gorgeous and well-maintained by its captain, who is a knowledgeable seaman and all around fun guy. We went out for a relaxing day tooling around and enjoyed some snacks, cava, and conversation while just relaxing with great views and a peaceful breeze blowing us along. Dave can educate you on the finer points of sailing or just be a good companion while you're out for the day. I drop him a line every time I'm passing through Barcelona to go for a sail.
Nicholas M | New York City, New York | 28 February 2013

Best sailor and best boat in Barcelona

I did sailed on Gemini in december 2012 with some friends, the experience was great.
ReyGuigu | Lyon | 27 February 2013

'Sea' Barcelona Differently

If you're looking for something different to do in Barcelona, avoid the tourist traps and spend an afternoon on an old sailing boat, cruising around the coast.
Kim H | Toronto, Ontario, Canada | 27 August 2012

Awesome day on the water!

Very interesting to see Barcelona from the water. I got a great panorama shot of the city.
davidm_PDX | | 6 May 2012

Catching the Sailing Bug!

I'd never been sailing, and had never really sought to do so through fears of a) getting wet and covered in salt water b) being shouted by some tyrannical captain who thought that everyone who gets on his boat is an utterly lost cause, ruining his day, and c) drowning. I was massively grateful then that my friends took me out with Dave on Gemini – changing my opinion on the subject forever, and instilling in me an addiction to sailing that I will carry to the grave.
Rackermagic | London, United Kingdom | 7 September 2011
#

Google reviews

View more on Google »

 

TripAdvisor reviews


View more on TripAdvisor »
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#