What our customers say

Over 250 ★★★★★ reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

Great way to see Barcelona

Fab way to get away from it all and see Barcelona from another perspective. Lovely historic boat. Kids are most welcome!
6Months062013 | Landsborough, Australia | 8 June 2016

Fantastic day of sailing!

What a great experience! We went sailing with Dave in early April for my birthday. Dave is fantastic and Gemini is gorgeous! Seeing Barcelona from sea was gorgeous. Can't recommend doing this enough!
calitravels48 | Los Angeles, California | 21 April 2015

Awesome afternoon in the sunshine!

I booked classic sail Barcelona for my friend's hen do so that we could enjoy an afternoon sailing along the coast making the most of the beautiful weather. The trip was exactly what we were hoping for. Dani, our skipper was fantastic. We brought on our own drink and food and we could play music and games and make ourselves at home. When the hen got sea sick (more than likely induced by the level of drinking the night before) Dani was great. He got her up to steer the boat and get out of the sun which made her feel a million times better. It was the perfect trip. If only we'd booked for the whole day or for another trip the next day. Maybe next time!
Vicky K | | 2 July 2016

Excellent option for a relaxing and romantic experience in Barcelona

My wife and I enjoyed a sunset cruise in July. Although the weather was warm in the city (roughly 90 deg F), the temp was definitely cooler on the water, even with limited breezes. Marina easily accessible from the old city. Great views, smooth sailing, comfortable one-of-a-kind sailboat, and a personable and cordial skipper. Slight downside on supposedly "limited" bathroom facilities, but if you plan ahead . . . :)
Christopher S | Chicago, Illinois | 24 July 2015

Sailing in Spain, at Sunset - A Must Do

I got a hold of Dave through a friend that had sailed with him a week before and he came highly recommended. I can see why. He is truly a good soul and a gentleman and his boat speaks volumes about his charm and debonair. Gemini is a little dated but it is spacious and has a lot of character. I had a group of 6 and it fit very nicely and for its price, it's definitely as good as it gets.
Brian L T | Los Angeles, California | 7 September 2015

Fabulous sunset sail

We had a brilliant time on board Gemini with Dave. Very relaxed and welcoming. It's a beautiful boat and Dave could not to be more helpful or accommodating - and the sunset over the mountains was stunning. You get to see a unique view of the Barcelona skyline and coast and you can either relax with the sails blowing as he skippers or if you want you can help with the piloting of the boat. And it's great value too!!
Elaine S | | 18 April 2017

Excellent!

The last week of April my boyfriend and I spent some time in Barcelona and I'm so glad I booked this for one of our days because it turned out to be one of our favorite parts of the entire trip.
kenzieschy246 | Santa Monica, California | 8 May 2015

Great sunrise cruise watching Perseids

This was our first time on a sailboat and didn’t know what to expect. We booked the special tour for a pre-dawn sail to watch the Perseids meteor shower, Dave was super responsive answering all our questions and made the booking process easy. He was available on what’s app as well for ad-hoc questions and gave detailed instructions at every step. We got started right on time and the small group of people made it a really pleasant and calm experience. Sunrise was gorgeous and the night sky was beautiful. Customer friendly and English speaking - highly recommended.
kopsai | Barcelona, Spain | 14 August 2019

Sail Gemini!

The environment was more like a friend taking you out on a boat, rather than a cookie-cutter tour boat. Dave the skipper was an excellent guide, pointing out sights on the water and across the Barcelona cityscape, and even let a couple of us take a turn at the tiller (no scrapes, thankfully!) I recommend this to anyone who wants a REAL experience out in the waters off Barcelona.
Andrew M | Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada | 2 August 2014

'Sea' Barcelona Differently

If you're looking for something different to do in Barcelona, avoid the tourist traps and spend an afternoon on an old sailing boat, cruising around the coast.
Kim H | Toronto, Ontario, Canada | 27 August 2012

The most relaxing adventure of our trip!!

I would highly recommend taking a sailing trip with Dave!! He is wonderfully laid back and lets you make the very most out of the experience (unlike some of the larger/corporate excursions where they do not give room for a flexible schedule and you end up feeling like your on a school field-trip ), yet Dave is a safe and experienced sailor. My husband and I had been traveling for two weeks and this was the PERFECT break! We enjoyed the views, swam in the ocean, and even took a nap (yes, I was that relaxed)! If you are in Barcelona and want to have a great time out on the ocean, book with Dave!
Jaclyn P | Austin, Texas | 20 August 2015

Recommended for families.

My family with two small children aged 2 and 6 had a perfect afternoon sailing with classic sail Barcelona. Friendly captain and lovely views.
Marte T | | 7 September 2018

Relaxing 3 hours away from the buzz

A very lovely afternoon with skipper Stefan and a welcome getaway from the hot city.
Alar I | Tartu, Estonia | 12 August 2015

Sunset tour

We enjoyed a lovely sunset tour with Dave. The view of Barcelona from the sea is amazing as well as the silence away from city!
Marine V | Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates | 7 July 2016

Charming Boat with a friendly skipper

I thoroughly a 3 hour cruise with Captain Dave on board Gemini. The boat oozes charm and is really interesting in its setup. As someone who only recently started sailing, i had an amazing time chatting with Captain Dave. Even thiugh the wind was very light, i had a great time. Highly recommended
Aquanauticaldbn | Durban, South Africa | 3 December 2017

A wonderful afternoon sailing on Skipper Dave's sailboat!

My husband and I sailed with Skipper Dave on his 41 foot, 1943 gorgeous wood sailboat. My husband is an accomplished sailor and offered to "crew" as we exited the harbor and got under sail. Of course, Skipper Dave was more than capable of doing this independently, but allowed my husband to assist. It wound up that he let my husband sail the boat (steer) for the 3 hours of the sail! He just loved being out on the Mediterranean, under sail, and manning the helm! I stayed on the fore deck and let those 2 sailors talk shop together. Skipper Dave was professional, capable and very friendly. He asked us what sort of sail we wanted...as I prefer a more smooth ride, he only put up the partial sails as it was a windy day. It was a perfect afternoon of sun and relaxation and a wonderful gift to my husband! Thank you for a lovely day!!
JulieNitz | Farmington Hills, Michigan | 13 October 2017

A Mediterranean Adventure

Our family of four had a wonderful adventure with Captain Dave on the last day of our Barcelona vacation. Dave was very responsive through our email communications to book the trip. The directions to the Gemini were easy to follow and she was as described – well maintained with much character. Captain Dave was very personable but not intrusive – he patiently answered all our questions. We spent over three hours enjoying the beautiful Barcelona skyline. He even stopped and anchored so our kids could swim in the Mediterranean. We would highly recommend Classic Sailing and hope that we have the opportunity to sail on the Gemini someday again.
Kathy M | Rocky Hill, Connecticut | 23 August 2014

Amazing afternoon

My sister and I spent an afternoon on Dave's boat and it was one of the best things we did on our trip. The views are amazing, the boat is beautiful and Dave is a great captain. The views from the ocean are incredible and really lets you see Barcelona from another perspective. We were able to bring lunch and cava and just lay in the quiet sun for a few hours. We were originally scheduled for a Monday but the weather was bad so Dave was very accommodating in rescheduling with us. Would definitely recommend!
avs1029 | New York City, New York | 15 July 2014

Great views and friendly captain

This was our first morning in Barcelona after a week of travels. It sure was nice to get out on the water and see this beautiful city from a unique perspective. So relaxing just being out on the water. My girlfriend and I had the boat to ourselves and Dave gave us the space to enjoy each other's company. He was always available to answer any questions but did not intrude. We stopped for a short swim and the water was nice and refreshing. I printed out the map from Dave's web site and handed it to our taxi driver. He dropped us off less than 3 minutes away from the boat. Super easy to get to.
Brian M | Galveston Island, Texas | 5 August 2014

Best sailor and best boat in Barcelona

I did sailed on Gemini in december 2012 with some friends, the experience was great.
ReyGuigu | Lyon | 27 February 2013

A wonderful Barcelona experience -

Dave did a great job taking us out to sail in Barcelona. We sailed, we swam, and we enjoyed ourselves immensely.
Phil T | New York | 6 September 2015

Different adventure on an old boat

What a nice sailing experience spending 4 hours in March on an old boat!
Sophiefrifri | Paris, France | 2 March 2014

Something different

Fantastic venture with Capt Dave for a surprise birthday gift for a friend. Beautiful boat, great views of Barcelona and fun watching the boat being operated by sail and hitting some descents speeds!
Al H | London, United Kingdom | 4 May 2015

Amazing trip - totally recommend!

Really lovely skipper, beautiful sailing boat and perfect sailing conditions, Amazing memories for a friends hen do!
Claire B | | 6 August 2018

Highly recommended experience

Highly recommended activity in Barcelona! It was amazing to enjoy the sailing, sun, sea while chilling on the deck of the classic yacht and chatting with friends, enjoying drinks and even jumping for a swim.
D_travel_rev | Alicante, Spain | 29 June 2016

You want to go sailing? Classic Sail Barcelona is the perfect provider!!

I wanted to surprise my fiancée for her birthday - the booking of Gemini with Skipper Dave was the perfect gift and an incredible experience. We took the Sunset Tour which was a picture perfect trip with blue sea, a romantic sunset and a refreshing swimming stop. Gemini is a beautiful and very well maintained sailing boat, with a nice history (built in 1947). Skipper Dave couldn't have been a nicer host with a friendly smile and loads of cool insights into sailing.
Colonius | Zurich, Switzerland | 28 July 2016

A perfect morning on board Gemini!

We had a great time on board Gemini and Dave was a welcoming skipper. It's a perfect way to see the Barcelonian coast and to go for a swim in the very warm, deep, blue Med and sunbathe on deck away from the masses! Take drinks and snacks to enjoy while peacefully sailing.
Paula S | Chichester, United Kingdom | 26 August 2015

Hen do fun!

We surprised the boat loving bride to be with a 3.5 hour private trip on the Gemini and she absolutely loved it. We all had the most amazing experience. The boat is gorgeous and with the sun out this really is a must do in Barcelona! David is a lovely guy, very friendly and easy going. We brought our own food and drink on board and some speakers to play our own music. This is such a good price as well compared to other boat companies over there that charge double the price for half the amount of time. We all definitely recommend this and would go back again next time we are in Barca.
Gembles85 | Surrey | 1 July 2014

Great boat and great skipper.

Great sail boat with an interesting history. Dave is a well-informed Scotsman who has been in Barcelona for almost a decade. He has a great website and I booked a bit in advance and he handled all my questions. We had a rare choppy sea (and some haze) so we missed the swim but the whole afternoon was relaxing.
JohnBoscoChicago_IL | Chicago, IL | 16 July 2015

Breathtaking!

This sailing trip 4-5 miles from the coast of the city was most probably the highlight of our trip.
Philippe B | | 15 July 2015

Great Fun

4 of us booked the boat for 3 hours on a glorious Saturday afternoon. Dave was a great Skipper, letting us drink and play music while he took care of the sailing.
Dom S | | 11 July 2017

Great Sunset Sail

My boyfriend and I booked a sunset sail with Dave. The Gemini was a beautiful old ship. We enjoyed a 3 hour sail around the harbor. We brought our own wine on board and relaxed with the views.
cam20152015 | Dallas, Texas | 20 July 2015

Our 1st sail in the Mediterranean

I'll preface this post with: just so you know my wife and I race, cruise and sail our own boat and sailing the mediterranean is a long time dream and we do plan to come spend a good couple of years on these safe and fun protected waters between Africa and Europe divide.
djekels | Chicago, Illinois | 4 June 2015

Unbelievable Day of Sailing

This was my first ever sailing experience, and I could not have asked for a better captain to literally "show me the ropes." Captain Dave was a pleasure to join on-board as he provided me with the history of the boat; the reason why he purchased it; his adventure of sailing it to Barcelona and some insight into his experience here since.
Michael P | Boston, Massachusetts | 23 February 2015

What an experience!

My review is long overdue! We sailed on the Gemini with Skipper Dave a few months ago, in September of 2017. The whole experience, sailing in an 80 year old sailboat along the coast of Barcelona with good friends was an experience that we all will remember for a long time.
cclis | macon, ga | 23 January 2018

Chill Sail!

I was in Barcelona for honeymoon and I booked this trip after reading all the amazing reviews! Dave is super nice and chill and the boat is absolutely beautiful! It is very relaxing to be on the ocean, and Dave left us alone so that we can have a peaceful sail! It was everything I had dreamed for a Barcelona Boat Tour!
Natalie G | | 24 August 2017

Didn't Make The Sail, But Still 5 Stars

Unfortunately we had to cancel our trip the same day because two in our party had a medical emergency and went home. Dave was incredibly easy to work with and responsive and gave us our deposit back without issue. We really appreciated it. We were very bummed to miss the boat trip, but if we are ever in Barcelona again we definitely will put it at the top of the list. Thank you very much again, Dave.
Neeners815 | Jersey City, New Jersey | 4 September 2016

Fantastic!!!!

Dave could not have been a better captain. He was accommodating, interesting and a great captain. Swimming off the boat was fantastic. The family had a perfect day! We were supposed to be out for 7 hours but Dave extended it to over 8. It was great.
Wkohn | | 19 August 2013

Sailing fun

Had a great afternoon trip with Captain Dave - great host, and thoroughly enjoyable afternoon. Well worth a go!
Taylorgt1 | London, United Kingdom | 4 April 2017

Excellent private Hen Party on the "No Limits"

Excellent 3 hour sunset tour. The Lady Skippers were super nice and friendly. The boat was just perfect for the 11 of us and the experience with Dave from the 1st contact until after the booking was very pleasant, professional and prompt.
Viola P | Brussels, Belgium | 26 June 2019

Fantastic sailing experience

Great sailing experience and great captain. When we first arrived at the boat the weather was not that good and the captain told us it is our option if we want to go, otherwise he will fully refund the money. We decided to wait couple of hours and then the sun got back and we went in a wonderful cruise.
Alexandru415 | Bucharest, Romania | 24 May 2015

the barcelona coast at sunset….

what a fabulous treat this was for my friends and me! captain dave went out of his way to make our experience a positive and memorable one. take the time to experience beautiful barcelona from the lovely waters of the mediterranean.
ldythang1 | Birmingham, AL | 9 July 2014

Great sail

My wife and I recently took the Gemini out with skipper Dave for a sunset sail there in Barcelona. The directions to the boat were spot on. I fully recommend going out of port Olimpic, as you are in the open water in no time. It was a little choppy but Dave did a outstanding job guiding the boat while my wife and I had Cava and toasted to the last sight of the evening sun going behind Montjuic. Perfect way to end our vacation in Spain.
dbrown109 | Gloster, Mississippi | 15 September 2017

Great Experience

It was a great present for my gf. Evertyhing was good organized and the great views the coastline of barcelona were astonishing! Not the last time i will book this trip for sure! 5+
Rastko L | | 17 July 2015

Champagne & the Sea

What a wonderful and relaxing three hours out on the sea with friends! This is an amazing company to use as you can do what you want, it isn't like the big stuff companies that lay everything out for you. We brought our own champagne and food for a picnic on the boat, it was lovely! If you have a group of 4 or more would highly recommend booking out the entire boat, it is just lovely!
Lacey J | South Boston, Massachusetts, United States | 18 August 2015

A great sail

This will easily be one of my highlights from Barcelona. Very few things could be as relaxing as this lovely morning/afternoon voyage out into the sea. Dave was an excellent host, and took excellent care of us.
Kyle M | Dartford | 28 July 2016

Excellent Cruise

Our sailing trip with Captain Dave was the best part of our trip to Barcelona! We went on a sunset cruise and the weather was perfect. Dave was very accommodating with our plans and responded quickly to emails related to our trip. He even gave us an excellent suggestion for a great seafood dinner. He was a most excellent host! If you’re in Barcelona you should take a cruise with Dave!
chuckiefresh | St. Pete, FL | 19 August 2014

Coolest boat I have ever been on

A must do for anyone who enjoys the water. Very knowledgable and laid back captain on a stellar sailboat. You will not be disappointed.
Dave W | Barcelona, Spain | 3 February 2015

Great captain, great boat!

The boat Gemini is gorgeous and well-maintained by its captain, who is a knowledgeable seaman and all around fun guy. We went out for a relaxing day tooling around and enjoyed some snacks, cava, and conversation while just relaxing with great views and a peaceful breeze blowing us along. Dave can educate you on the finer points of sailing or just be a good companion while you're out for the day. I drop him a line every time I'm passing through Barcelona to go for a sail.
Nicholas M | New York City, New York | 28 February 2013

Recommended!

We had a very fun afternoon sailing on Gemini with Dave. A lovely wooden boat with room for all our stuff and it was great to be able to take our own food and drinks onboard (there's an easily accessible coolbox!). It was fairly blustery when we were out so we got to experience some "proper" sailing and basking in the sunshine was great. My only tip would be - take some warm clothing if you're out later on towards the evening, we got a little chilly on the journey back but then it was only April! It was a highly memorable part of our trip.
Olivia B | London, United Kingdom | 6 May 2014
#

Google reviews

View more on Google »

 

TripAdvisor reviews


View more on TripAdvisor »
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#