What our customers say

Over 250 ★★★★★ reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

Amazing Experience

Recently, Dave took my girlfriend and me on a sunset tour on his beautiful boat, Gemini. Before the trip, he communicated with us so well and had an extremely quick response time. He gave very clear directions on how to get to the boat, and we had no trouble finding it in Port Olympic. We brought drinks and ice, and he brought a cooler, which was so kind of him. He took us out on the Mediterranean, let us go for a swim, sailed along the coastline, and then took us back as the day became night. He even took a couple of pictures for me and my girlfriend during sunset. The trip was beautiful, we had calm water, and if I return to Barcelona, I will definitely re-book this sailing experience with Dave and Gemini. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Thanks Dave (:
cac275 | Hattiesburg, Mississippi | 21 June 2017

Afternoon Sailing Trip

I was with a group of four guys in their late 20's and we had a great time. The entire trip is exactly as advertised.
Rupam B | | 11 July 2016

Great day at sea!

Everything was very easy from booking to meeting and then a very enjoyable day out on the ocean. Take your own food and drinks on and relax! I would happily do again on our next trip to Barcelona!
SimonD1986 | London, United Kingdom | 1 September 2018

Super sailing trip

Sailing on Gemini out of Port Olympic is absolutely splendid. It was such a remarkable voyage that I went twice within a month’s time. Well-read and rather charismatic, Skipper Dave is a first-class fellow and very professional. He’s attentive to the needs of his passengers and very accommodating. If you wander to the back of the boat, he’s got some great stories and advice about visiting BCN. I absolutely recommend booking a voyage on Gemini with Dave. It’s a trip we’ll remember always.
Chambiges | Bloomington, Indiana | 17 July 2015

'Sea' Barcelona Differently

If you're looking for something different to do in Barcelona, avoid the tourist traps and spend an afternoon on an old sailing boat, cruising around the coast.
Kim H | Toronto, Ontario, Canada | 27 August 2012

Wonderful experience

My mom and I recently went on an afternoon sail with Dave. We were a few minutes late, due to traffic from where we were coming from, but Dave was accommodating and he was waiting for us in the boat when we arrived. The weather was beautiful and it was overall a very relaxing and enjoyable sail. Thank you!
Grace L | | 24 September 2017

Excellent morning sail from Port Olimpic

We were a group of 11 who booked a sailing boat trip for my 30th birthday.
Karan S | London, United Kingdom | 14 June 2016

Excellent!

The last week of April my boyfriend and I spent some time in Barcelona and I'm so glad I booked this for one of our days because it turned out to be one of our favorite parts of the entire trip.
kenzieschy246 | Santa Monica, California | 8 May 2015

Great Trip!

My wife and I sailed through the afternoon into the evening. We swam in the Mediterranean and watched the sun set over Barcelona. It was an amazing experience! Beautiful and relaxing. Captain Dave was great. He is a first class skipper full of knowledge and enjoyable conversation, if you like. When we return, we plan on a longer excursion on the Gimini with captain Dave at the helm.
mfrazie | Tyler, Texas | 14 July 2015

A lovely way to spent an afternoon!

The whole thing was very straightforward; we emailed Dave asking about certain time slots then reserved one on his website and paid a 30 Euro deposit. We arrived at the dock ahead of time and identified his boat. Dave himself was lovely and very interesting to talk to. It was a bit choppier than we would have liked but what a lovely way to cool down. It was very hot when we were there, about 30 degrees so we enjoyed the break on Dave's boat. All in all a good experience!
Gaynor H | Horsham, United Kingdom | 7 August 2015

Awesome day on the water!

Very interesting to see Barcelona from the water. I got a great panorama shot of the city.
davidm_PDX | | 6 May 2012

A perfect morning on board Gemini!

We had a great time on board Gemini and Dave was a welcoming skipper. It's a perfect way to see the Barcelonian coast and to go for a swim in the very warm, deep, blue Med and sunbathe on deck away from the masses! Take drinks and snacks to enjoy while peacefully sailing.
Paula S | Chichester, United Kingdom | 26 August 2015

Great Sunset Sail

My boyfriend and I booked a sunset sail with Dave. The Gemini was a beautiful old ship. We enjoyed a 3 hour sail around the harbor. We brought our own wine on board and relaxed with the views.
cam20152015 | Dallas, Texas | 20 July 2015

Relaxing day at sea

We had a lovely and relaxing day at sea with Captain Dave. We highly recommend this private tour, great value for money!
nellafin | Helsinki, Finland | 16 August 2018

Our 1st sail in the Mediterranean

I'll preface this post with: just so you know my wife and I race, cruise and sail our own boat and sailing the mediterranean is a long time dream and we do plan to come spend a good couple of years on these safe and fun protected waters between Africa and Europe divide.
djekels | Chicago, Illinois | 4 June 2015

Wonderful moment

Spent the morning with my wife and kids on Dave's boat. First of all Dave is very professional and very friendly. He tells if you are interested, leaves you in peace if you want to nap, let's you drive if you want... he adapts to each individual perfectly.
Sylvain H | Madrid, Spain | 26 September 2017

most relaxed sail you could wish for

we were a group of 6 friends and enjoyed a lovely 3 hrs sail trip out of barcelona. the moment we left the harbour, sails were set and the wind took over.
A TripAdvisor Member | Dubai, United Arab Emirates | 23 May 2018

Brilliant! A perfect morning!

A wonderful morning of sun and sea, enjoyed hugely by adults and children alike (11 and 15). Dave is a gracious, knowledgeable host but not at all intrusive - very amenable when the kids wanted to stop the boat and swim. Much more personal than one of the more touristy operators who we watched setting off just before us. No better way to spend a sunny morning in Barcelona.
GemmaRLondon | London | 8 June 2016

A beautiful old boat, a wonderful experience

Dave, the skipper and owner of Gemini is a thoroughly lovely guy whose love of his boat and sailing is very evident. The trip was relaxing and we learned much about the boat and sailing and just enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We would thoroughly recommend this trip. The fact that dave is Scottish means there is no language barrier which further enhanced the trip.
Lou_Jenkins | Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom | 23 April 2018

Sailing with Captain Giambattista and ship mate Christian is an experience not to be missed: a relaxing sail far from the hustle

A real treasure of an experience. Wonderful crew who made us feel very special and made it the highlight of our trip, especially for our two, not always easy to please, teenagers. Highly recommend a sail with Dave and his excellent team.
RACHEL B | Haslemere, United Kingdom | 4 August 2013

Beautiful memory from Barcelona

This was my first time sailing and I really had a nice and relaxing experience. The boat is beautiful, Mr. Dave was a good host and I truly enjoyed it. Would recommend this trip to anyone who want to escape the city for a while and just relax. I would definitely do this again. Really great memory from Barcelona!
Aida S | | 22 May 2018

Lovely way to spend a couple of hours

Our group of 11, including 6 children aged 9-12, had a wonderful trip. Captain Danny was very friendly and let all the kids have a go at skippering the boat, which was one of their highlights of visiting Barcelona!
Melsybabes | Warlingham, United Kingdom | 2 January 2017

Romantic sunset sail.

I booked a sunset sail for just me and my girlfriend. It was everything I had hoped for. We took a dip in the Mediterranean and watched a beautiful sunset over the city and mountain to the west. Captain Dave was knowledgeable and put us at ease right away. He allowed us just to sit back and enjoy the trip.
Rob W | | 29 July 2015

Amazing trip - totally recommend!

Really lovely skipper, beautiful sailing boat and perfect sailing conditions, Amazing memories for a friends hen do!
Claire B | | 6 August 2018

Great way to relax between tourist activities in Barcelona

We enjoyed a delightful sail. Beautiful weather and Dave's cordiality made it even better. The sail was a great hiatus from the rush of the running around the tourist sites of the city.
BruceMAnderson | Houston, Texas | 27 June 2015

Great day's sailing!

Dave is a very friendly and accommodating skipper, with your enjoyment and safety as his top priority. We had an excellent 7 hour day sail from Port Olimpic on-board Gemini, a very nice wooden boat (one of the few traditional wooden boats in Barcelona), with her distinctive wooden mast.
mjpm24 | London | 25 August 2013

A beautiful break from the heat and noise of the city...

When we travel, our family (with a 12 and a 14 year old) prefer to "do" rather than just "see". Sagrada Familia is striking BUT three hours on a lovely sloop with the ocean breeze keeping us cool is so much more exhilerating than pounding the hot pavement in the city! We knew we wanted to sail while in Barcelona, but we also don't spend frivolously so we were looking for good value for money. We definitely found that with Classic Sail and were fortunate that Dave had a slot open with only one day's notiice.
Sabina K | | 31 July 2018

A wonderful afternoon sailing on Skipper Dave's sailboat!

My husband and I sailed with Skipper Dave on his 41 foot, 1943 gorgeous wood sailboat. My husband is an accomplished sailor and offered to "crew" as we exited the harbor and got under sail. Of course, Skipper Dave was more than capable of doing this independently, but allowed my husband to assist. It wound up that he let my husband sail the boat (steer) for the 3 hours of the sail! He just loved being out on the Mediterranean, under sail, and manning the helm! I stayed on the fore deck and let those 2 sailors talk shop together. Skipper Dave was professional, capable and very friendly. He asked us what sort of sail we wanted...as I prefer a more smooth ride, he only put up the partial sails as it was a windy day. It was a perfect afternoon of sun and relaxation and a wonderful gift to my husband! Thank you for a lovely day!!
JulieNitz | Farmington Hills, Michigan | 13 October 2017

Awesome afternoon in the sunshine!

I booked classic sail Barcelona for my friend's hen do so that we could enjoy an afternoon sailing along the coast making the most of the beautiful weather. The trip was exactly what we were hoping for. Dani, our skipper was fantastic. We brought on our own drink and food and we could play music and games and make ourselves at home. When the hen got sea sick (more than likely induced by the level of drinking the night before) Dani was great. He got her up to steer the boat and get out of the sun which made her feel a million times better. It was the perfect trip. If only we'd booked for the whole day or for another trip the next day. Maybe next time!
Vicky K | | 2 July 2016

A fantastic afternoon

A group of friends and I sailed with Dave one afternoon and it was one of the best things we've done in Barcelona! It was great to see Barcelona from the water and Dave was extremely nice and Gemini was great. Hands down something you must do while in Barcelona
Jacqueline B | Barcelona, Spain | 12 June 2014

Charming Boat with a friendly skipper

I thoroughly a 3 hour cruise with Captain Dave on board Gemini. The boat oozes charm and is really interesting in its setup. As someone who only recently started sailing, i had an amazing time chatting with Captain Dave. Even thiugh the wind was very light, i had a great time. Highly recommended
Aquanauticaldbn | Durban, South Africa | 3 December 2017

Highlight of our visit

I had booked this adventure asan early birthday gift to my husband. It did not disappoint. He is still grinning four days later. Imagine sailing along the coast, a breeze, some sun, sipping water libation you brought on board. The waves of the sea gently moving against the sides of the boat as you sails glide you through the water. You look inland and see the many points of interest to see. Truly romantic or telly family oriented depending on your entourage. It's private so you get to have the run of the deck. Loved it!
DianeColo | Montreal | 30 April 2015

Great Sailing Experience in Barcelona

We booked afternoon on Capitan Dave's beautiful boat as a bithday surprise for our friend. We had a fantastic time. Very relaxing and exiting in the same time.
Piotr K | | 6 May 2015

Best thing we've done in Barcelona

This sailing trip was one of the best things we have ever done in Barcelona and we’ve been to Barcelona many times and seen most of what it has to offer. Dave was absolutely brilliant and made the whole experience from the initial booking through to disembarking back at the harbour totally seamless and a great experience. Dave replies to emails straight away, he was very accommodating, he even agreed to move our trip to another day due to the weather, he didn’t mind if we brought along our own food and drink, he was even prepared to pull up and let us go for a swim, but we chickened out of that because the water was so cold..
alexjwood | Birmingham, UK | 28 May 2014

Beautiful Day on the Mediterranean!

Our group of 5 spent a 3 hour afternoon sailing on the Gemini with Captain Dave. We couldn't have asked for a better day on the water. Dave is a great captain and took care of all of our needs. The weather cooperated fully and we were able to sail up the coast north of Barcelona seeing the shoreline for quite a while. On the way back the wind picked up and made for a great experience, especially for the first time sailors with us.
Joanne B | Kansas City, Missouri | 28 May 2017

An Engagement Aboard the Gemini

The sailing experience with Dave and his son was fantastic. I proposed to my long-time girlfriend while aboard the Gemini. Dave helped make the moment special by sharing his love of sailing with us and by preparing cava for our celebration. I highly recommend sailing with Dave and the Gemini. Fantastic experience! *****
Mike S | | 23 September 2018

What an amazing trip!

My wife and I had such an amazing time on Skipper Dave's sailboat. Definitely the highlight of our time in Barcelona.
Michael A | | 10 August 2015

EXCEEDED our Expectations!

My friends and I reserved a sail with Classic Sailing for the afternoon after our flight landed in BCN. The gentle ride, fresh sea air, sunshine and cool water was just the ticket for our jet-lagged group. We would go again in a heartbeat! Everything was perfect and Captain David was a fabulous host and skipper!
Pamela L | Nashville, Tennessee | 13 October 2014

Hands down, the best part of our trip!

Could there be anything better than having a beautiful old sailing boat to just you and your friends for the whole afternoon, in the blazing Barcelona sunshine? As we found out, no, there really couldn't.
Vickycee | Leeds, United Kingdom | 18 June 2014

Wow! Definite recommendation

These guys were super helpful and flexible. We had to move trip a couple of times and they really accommodated us. Price was good considering everything we had and the food/ drink package for extra 10 Euros is worth it. We also brought some drinks ourselves. Skipper let us sail when we wanted, there was music (although a Bluetooth connection to our devices would be a good addition), there was sun, there was beer, it was a great way to spend 3 hours of sunset!
wittehengel | Istanbul, Turkey | 2 May 2017

Excellent experience

The experience is highly recommended. The Gemini is a very nice boat to sail on, Dave is very kind and the price very competitive. Largely matched our expectations!
Marounistan | London, United Kingdom | 7 June 2017

Catching the Sailing Bug!

I'd never been sailing, and had never really sought to do so through fears of a) getting wet and covered in salt water b) being shouted by some tyrannical captain who thought that everyone who gets on his boat is an utterly lost cause, ruining his day, and c) drowning. I was massively grateful then that my friends took me out with Dave on Gemini – changing my opinion on the subject forever, and instilling in me an addiction to sailing that I will carry to the grave.
Rackermagic | London, United Kingdom | 7 September 2011

Favorite thing I did in Barcelona

My Birthday wouldn't have been as special if not for this wonderful sail with David. The boat is so charming and beautiful. David is great, you can tell he loves what he does. Highly recommended. Thank you David for making my Birthday one of my most memorable.
JUSF | New york | 29 May 2014

A wonderful Barcelona experience -

Dave did a great job taking us out to sail in Barcelona. We sailed, we swam, and we enjoyed ourselves immensely.
Phil T | New York | 6 September 2015

Fun boat ride-a little choppy

Dave and his son Diego were great sailors and excellent guides and hosts on their lovely boat. Had great weather for as early in the season as it was. Seas were a bit choppy though, and would have been better had we followed Dave’s sound advice of taking Dramamine beforehand for a few of our group. Highly recommend the experience and the captain!
Megan T | | 1 April 2018

Fantastic relaxing sail!

Bernardo the skipper was wonderfully knowledgeable and friendly - made the 3 hour sail most enjoyable! Water was clear and fresh! Highly recommended for some relaxation, water and fun during the hot, hot summer!
DPLosAngeles | Los Angeles | 29 July 2015

A Must-Do While In Barcelona!

While in Barcelona, this was THE best thing we did by far! We had an amazing day out on the sea. Captain Dave was an amazing crew and looked after us to perfection. We had lots of fun. Thank you David.
Luiz Paulo V | London, England, United Kingdom | 13 August 2013

Sail or Chill on a Classic Yacht in Barcelona

It was a fab afternoon out with skipper Dave, who let the two of us help sail when we wanted, taught us a bit, and then we chatted and chilled when we wanted. And the yacht is classic old school! And at a fair price as well, esp. if we had more people. Just do it ...
Donovan H | United States | 12 September 2018

Very very well

Very good was. Very nice sail. Worth the money. Everything's just fine. I recommend everybody! Thanks Dave.
Varga D | | 25 December 2017

Unbelievable Day of Sailing

This was my first ever sailing experience, and I could not have asked for a better captain to literally "show me the ropes." Captain Dave was a pleasure to join on-board as he provided me with the history of the boat; the reason why he purchased it; his adventure of sailing it to Barcelona and some insight into his experience here since.
Michael P | Boston, Massachusetts | 23 February 2015
#

Google reviews

View more on Google »

 

TripAdvisor reviews


View more on TripAdvisor »
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#