What our customers say

Over 250 ★★★★★ reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

A lovely way to spent an afternoon!

The whole thing was very straightforward; we emailed Dave asking about certain time slots then reserved one on his website and paid a 30 Euro deposit. We arrived at the dock ahead of time and identified his boat. Dave himself was lovely and very interesting to talk to. It was a bit choppier than we would have liked but what a lovely way to cool down. It was very hot when we were there, about 30 degrees so we enjoyed the break on Dave's boat. All in all a good experience!
Gaynor H | Horsham, United Kingdom | 7 August 2015

Exceeded expectations. Bravo!

Way to go Dave! You and your son were such great hosts and we had a wonderful time on your boat. Dave clearly loves what he does for a living and it shows clearly. Thank you again.
Michael S | Baltimore, Maryland | 4 July 2017

Super sailing trip

Sailing on Gemini out of Port Olympic is absolutely splendid. It was such a remarkable voyage that I went twice within a month’s time. Well-read and rather charismatic, Skipper Dave is a first-class fellow and very professional. He’s attentive to the needs of his passengers and very accommodating. If you wander to the back of the boat, he’s got some great stories and advice about visiting BCN. I absolutely recommend booking a voyage on Gemini with Dave. It’s a trip we’ll remember always.
Chambiges | Bloomington, Indiana | 17 July 2015

Great day's sailing!

Dave is a very friendly and accommodating skipper, with your enjoyment and safety as his top priority. We had an excellent 7 hour day sail from Port Olimpic on-board Gemini, a very nice wooden boat (one of the few traditional wooden boats in Barcelona), with her distinctive wooden mast.
mjpm24 | London | 25 August 2013

Sailing in Spain, at Sunset - A Must Do

I got a hold of Dave through a friend that had sailed with him a week before and he came highly recommended. I can see why. He is truly a good soul and a gentleman and his boat speaks volumes about his charm and debonair. Gemini is a little dated but it is spacious and has a lot of character. I had a group of 6 and it fit very nicely and for its price, it's definitely as good as it gets.
Brian L T | Los Angeles, California | 7 September 2015

Amazing Family adventure

We had an Amazing time, we where able to have such a relaxing time. Dave answered all of our questions before and during our trip. We have 2 kids ages 4 and 9 they loved it. Dave gave us a tour of he boat and explained safety tips before we left, made sure we where comfortable. It was an incredible experience, Definitely recommend it.
Daniel R | Wiesbaden, Germany | 19 August 2015

Something different

Fantastic venture with Capt Dave for a surprise birthday gift for a friend. Beautiful boat, great views of Barcelona and fun watching the boat being operated by sail and hitting some descents speeds!
Al H | London, United Kingdom | 4 May 2015

Champagne & the Sea

What a wonderful and relaxing three hours out on the sea with friends! This is an amazing company to use as you can do what you want, it isn't like the big stuff companies that lay everything out for you. We brought our own champagne and food for a picnic on the boat, it was lovely! If you have a group of 4 or more would highly recommend booking out the entire boat, it is just lovely!
Lacey J | South Boston, Massachusetts, United States | 18 August 2015

Amazing adventure at sea!

My husband and I did this as part of our honeymoon. We had so much fun! Dave was an excellent captain and polite host. The boat is truly a "classic sailboat" which gives it a lot of character and adds to the adventure.
sarah6082015 | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania | 23 June 2015

Excellent option for a relaxing and romantic experience in Barcelona

My wife and I enjoyed a sunset cruise in July. Although the weather was warm in the city (roughly 90 deg F), the temp was definitely cooler on the water, even with limited breezes. Marina easily accessible from the old city. Great views, smooth sailing, comfortable one-of-a-kind sailboat, and a personable and cordial skipper. Slight downside on supposedly "limited" bathroom facilities, but if you plan ahead . . . :)
Christopher S | Chicago, Illinois | 24 July 2015

Killing It

Gorgeous. Simply gorgeous. Best way to see Barcelona with Dave.
G H | Sydney, Australia | 15 August 2017

Only good things to say.....

We went out with a large group - ages 12 - 78 - and Dave made everyone feel comfortable. He is amazingly calm and kind and accommodating - and clearly a skilled sailor! We needed to change our day and time numerous times and he was flexible and understanding. The views from the water were beautiful. It was an adventure. We highly recommend sailing with Dave.
2015Alisa | Raleigh, North Carolina | 1 January 2015

Awesome day on the water!

Very interesting to see Barcelona from the water. I got a great panorama shot of the city.
davidm_PDX | | 6 May 2012

Highly Recommend!

Dave and his boat are lovely. The boat is a beautiful piece of history and allows you to spend private time on the water with friends. I've been on many boats around the world (private and groups) and had an exceptional time on Dave's. If you're looking for a day of boating in Barcelona, this is the trip for you. I didn't do this myself, but I could see this being a phenomenal option for couples who want some private time on the sea.
skier29 | San Francisco, Ca | 15 July 2019

Excellent!

The last week of April my boyfriend and I spent some time in Barcelona and I'm so glad I booked this for one of our days because it turned out to be one of our favorite parts of the entire trip.
kenzieschy246 | Santa Monica, California | 8 May 2015

Sailing Bracelona

Excellent value for money sail on board a classic sail boat which is easy to access. We had a three hour sail and swim in the deep ocean on a beautiful autumn day. I would highly recommend this trip, Dave is a very laid back friendly individual overall great day out.
smackmac420 | Glasgow, United Kingdom | 6 November 2017

A sunset sail with David!

After a long day of walking the streets of Barcelona, our group of 8 (seniors) took a cab to meet David for his last sail of the day. Unfortunately for David, his classic sail boat was down for repairs, however; he had a backup plan in place when we arrived. We spent a relaxing evening enjoying our wine and snacks while sailing in a 42' sailboat overlooking the magnificent city of Barcelona. Seeing the sunset over the water...priceless! The best advise I can offer is to book a sail with David. David is a first class captain and we (really) enjoyed his company. David was not only easy on the eyes, he was a delightful captain to talk to. David left nothing unanswered if you had a question about sailing or the city of Barcelona. What an enjoyable evening...thank you David for adding your personal touch to a beautiful evening! You're the best and we wish you much success!!!
nchurchill | Houston, Texas | 19 September 2014

A Must Do While Visiting Barcelona!

My sailboat trip around the coast of beautiful Barcelona was the highlight of my trip. Captain Dave was a gracious host and worked hard to ensure that our group had a wonderful experience on the blue water’s of the Mediterranean. The views were stunning and watching the sunset from the boat was both mesmerizing and magical. I would highly recommend a trip on the charming Gemini to anyone who wants to have a pleasantly unique experience. You won’t regret it.
David G | Birmingham, Alabama | 7 July 2014

Looking to escape for 3 hours?This is THE best sailing I had for a long time

We were 18 adults, looking for a way to get away of our routine for a couple of hours without our kids. Dave and his team had THE idea. They took us for 3 hours on his catamaran by the Barcelona coast. We were alone on the sea, we could take some fresh air and catch up with our friends with some back ground music, drinks, fruits and snacks... the dream come true. I definitely recommend Dave and I will for sure book a tour again. Dave was helpful, responsive, welcoming, discreet... Trust me, I am very picky and I have to say, these guys deserve to be known! See you very soon Dave!
Lorraine C | | 10 November 2017

Simply Awesome!

My Dad booked the trip as a surprise. And what a surprise! The weather was ideal, the boat fantastic and Captain Dave did a great job. We were out for about three very enjoyable hours. Gemini is a lovely little traditional sailing boat and this added charm to the event. One certainly learnt a lot from the trip and was left with a memory that will stick for a lifetime. A recommendation.
MacDonald555 | Wiesmoor, Germany | 21 September 2016

A great sail

This will easily be one of my highlights from Barcelona. Very few things could be as relaxing as this lovely morning/afternoon voyage out into the sea. Dave was an excellent host, and took excellent care of us.
Kyle M | Dartford | 28 July 2016

Excellent morning sail from Port Olimpic

We were a group of 11 who booked a sailing boat trip for my 30th birthday.
Karan S | London, United Kingdom | 14 June 2016

Unbelievable Day of Sailing

This was my first ever sailing experience, and I could not have asked for a better captain to literally "show me the ropes." Captain Dave was a pleasure to join on-board as he provided me with the history of the boat; the reason why he purchased it; his adventure of sailing it to Barcelona and some insight into his experience here since.
Michael P | Boston, Massachusetts | 23 February 2015

Chillin on the Mediterranean Sea

It was quick and easy to book this trip. The boat was easy to find and captain Dave was the perfect host. Unobtrusively providing a wonderful outing for us and allowing for us to truely enjoy relaxing in the boat and taking in the gorgeous Mediterranean Sea. Absolutely beautiful! I highly recommend this!
Julia H | Austin | 3 August 2018

Great start to the trip

We went on an afternoon sail the first day of our honeymoon. It was a great relaxing day to get accustomed to the time change. Gemini is a great old wooden sail boat, and Dave is hilarious. It was my husband's favorite part of Spain (we went to Barcelona, Sevilla and Granada). It was just a nice relaxing day. We went swimming, drank some wine, husband smoked a cigar. Nothing not to like.
NattyLynn | New York City, New York | 24 June 2014

Great Experience

It was a great present for my gf. Evertyhing was good organized and the great views the coastline of barcelona were astonishing! Not the last time i will book this trip for sure! 5+
Rastko L | | 17 July 2015

Excellent experience

The experience is highly recommended. The Gemini is a very nice boat to sail on, Dave is very kind and the price very competitive. Largely matched our expectations!
Marounistan | London, United Kingdom | 7 June 2017

Best thing we've done in Barcelona

This sailing trip was one of the best things we have ever done in Barcelona and we’ve been to Barcelona many times and seen most of what it has to offer. Dave was absolutely brilliant and made the whole experience from the initial booking through to disembarking back at the harbour totally seamless and a great experience. Dave replies to emails straight away, he was very accommodating, he even agreed to move our trip to another day due to the weather, he didn’t mind if we brought along our own food and drink, he was even prepared to pull up and let us go for a swim, but we chickened out of that because the water was so cold..
alexjwood | Birmingham, UK | 28 May 2014

Fantastic Afternoon

We had an amazing time with Cptn. Dave. It was the most relaxing part of our busy trip, and absolutely beautiful. There was not much wind when we went out, but we didn't care. It was comfortable and the views of the city were great. I'd like to be on that boat again, right now. Highly recommend, and the cost was reasonable and worth every cent.
juliebirditis | Bakersfield, California | 1 October 2015

Fantastic evening

We went on a sunset cruise with Dave (who is lovely) and had a great time. I enjoyed the sunshine and sunset while watching the coastline fade away and my boyfriend got to do some sailing, so everyone was happy!
FuzzAldrin | Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom | 22 October 2015

Wonderful start to our vacation!

I traveled to Spain with a group of friends and we began our trip with an afternoon aboard the Gemini! The day couldn't have been more perfect weather-wise, and David was kind enough to shop for us for our drinks and munchies, as we had just landed in Spain and had no time to do it ourselves. He found a spot for us to jump in the sea to cool off .......and for me, it was one more check off my bucket list to say I swam in the Mediterranean! I only wish we'd had time at the end of our vacation to sail on the Gemini one last time! Thanks for a wonderful day David!!
Robin H | Iowa, United States | 19 October 2014

A beautiful old boat, a wonderful experience

Dave, the skipper and owner of Gemini is a thoroughly lovely guy whose love of his boat and sailing is very evident. The trip was relaxing and we learned much about the boat and sailing and just enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We would thoroughly recommend this trip. The fact that dave is Scottish means there is no language barrier which further enhanced the trip.
Lou_Jenkins | Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom | 23 April 2018

Hen do fun!

We surprised the boat loving bride to be with a 3.5 hour private trip on the Gemini and she absolutely loved it. We all had the most amazing experience. The boat is gorgeous and with the sun out this really is a must do in Barcelona! David is a lovely guy, very friendly and easy going. We brought our own food and drink on board and some speakers to play our own music. This is such a good price as well compared to other boat companies over there that charge double the price for half the amount of time. We all definitely recommend this and would go back again next time we are in Barca.
Gembles85 | Surrey | 1 July 2014

Romantic sunset sail.

I booked a sunset sail for just me and my girlfriend. It was everything I had hoped for. We took a dip in the Mediterranean and watched a beautiful sunset over the city and mountain to the west. Captain Dave was knowledgeable and put us at ease right away. He allowed us just to sit back and enjoy the trip.
Rob W | | 29 July 2015

Amazing afternoon

My sister and I spent an afternoon on Dave's boat and it was one of the best things we did on our trip. The views are amazing, the boat is beautiful and Dave is a great captain. The views from the ocean are incredible and really lets you see Barcelona from another perspective. We were able to bring lunch and cava and just lay in the quiet sun for a few hours. We were originally scheduled for a Monday but the weather was bad so Dave was very accommodating in rescheduling with us. Would definitely recommend!
avs1029 | New York City, New York | 15 July 2014

Recommended!

We had a very fun afternoon sailing on Gemini with Dave. A lovely wooden boat with room for all our stuff and it was great to be able to take our own food and drinks onboard (there's an easily accessible coolbox!). It was fairly blustery when we were out so we got to experience some "proper" sailing and basking in the sunshine was great. My only tip would be - take some warm clothing if you're out later on towards the evening, we got a little chilly on the journey back but then it was only April! It was a highly memorable part of our trip.
Olivia B | London, United Kingdom | 6 May 2014

Coolest boat I have ever been on

A must do for anyone who enjoys the water. Very knowledgable and laid back captain on a stellar sailboat. You will not be disappointed.
Dave W | Barcelona, Spain | 3 February 2015

Different adventure on an old boat

What a nice sailing experience spending 4 hours in March on an old boat!
Sophiefrifri | Paris, France | 2 March 2014

The perfect escape

The morning that my mother and I spent with Dave on his beautiful sailboat was a few hours in heaven! My mother was visiting me on the cruise ship I work on, had already seen the famous sights of Barcelona, so I was searching for a different way to experience the city. We both have a special attachment to sailing, I always was admiring the sail boats in the harbor from my cruise ship deck, and from the reviews on Trip Advisor, Classic Sail Barcelona sounded perfect… and it was.
Linz625 | Montreal, Quebec, Canada | 5 August 2015

Highlight of our honeymoon!

My wife and I had a lovely evening sailing with Dave. He was very accommodating and friendly. The boat itself is very charming and easy to find in Port Olimpic. The views of the Barcelona shore are unreal at dusk. Make sure you bring some food and drink for your trip. Dave even let us swim out in the open ocean as the sun set over the city. If you plan on making it out to Barcelona, do not skip this opportunity. I can't say enough about how amazing this experience was. Thank you Dave!
830drews | Mansfield, Massachusetts | 14 September 2013

A perfect way to spend the evening

I booked Classic Sail as a gift for my friends on our last night together in Barcelona. The booking was easy, communication thorough, and it was easy to find the boat. Dave got us out away from some of the noisier groups so we could enjoy a dip in the Mediterranean during the sunset. He was available but unobtrusive, and seems to be a great captain and lovely person. Six thumbs up!
Katy S | | 31 July 2018

Sailing fun

Had a great afternoon trip with Captain Dave - great host, and thoroughly enjoyable afternoon. Well worth a go!
Taylorgt1 | London, United Kingdom | 4 April 2017

Great sail on the Mediterranean for some peace and and wind in your face.

Dani was our captain for a great sail on their 40' monohull. We had a group of 7 with plenty of room and enjoyed a motor around and sail at sunset. Dani was a great guide, the boat was in great shape, and everyone had a great time getting off of land and getting some salty air into our systems.
Rick H | Clarkston, Michigan | 12 December 2016

A flawless Barcelona Experience, beautiful sailing adventure!

We have nothing but good things to say about our sailing trip with Dave. We created this Trip Advisor account just so that we could write a review for this experience. We went on a morning excursion that took us about 2 miles off the Barcelona coastline and lasted around 3 hours. The harbor was actually closed when we started but he still took us out for the full experience despite the delay. Very accommodating when I got a little sea-sick and was more than understanding, which was a huge positive for us. We slept in the sun for quite a bit of our journey. If you're worried about having to carry a conversation or awkward silences, don't be! He was very charming and conversational when needed but gave us our space as well. We will definitely be doing this again next time we are in the area!
Kipdsumner | Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany | 13 July 2014

Perfect romantic evening

I planned a private sunset sail with my partner as a surprise while we were on holidays in Barcelona. it was perfect! Dave was wonderful, the boat was perfect, it was lovely to sit, eating some cheese and watching the sun set and the lights go on around the town. A very special experience - highly recommended! Thank you again Dave for a memorable evening
Mima_Pope | Darwin, Australia | 21 October 2015

You want to go sailing? Classic Sail Barcelona is the perfect provider!!

I wanted to surprise my fiancée for her birthday - the booking of Gemini with Skipper Dave was the perfect gift and an incredible experience. We took the Sunset Tour which was a picture perfect trip with blue sea, a romantic sunset and a refreshing swimming stop. Gemini is a beautiful and very well maintained sailing boat, with a nice history (built in 1947). Skipper Dave couldn't have been a nicer host with a friendly smile and loads of cool insights into sailing.
Colonius | Zurich, Switzerland | 28 July 2016

Brilliant! A perfect morning!

A wonderful morning of sun and sea, enjoyed hugely by adults and children alike (11 and 15). Dave is a gracious, knowledgeable host but not at all intrusive - very amenable when the kids wanted to stop the boat and swim. Much more personal than one of the more touristy operators who we watched setting off just before us. No better way to spend a sunny morning in Barcelona.
GemmaRLondon | London | 8 June 2016

Best sailor and best boat in Barcelona

I did sailed on Gemini in december 2012 with some friends, the experience was great.
ReyGuigu | Lyon | 27 February 2013

Sail or Chill on a Classic Yacht in Barcelona

It was a fab afternoon out with skipper Dave, who let the two of us help sail when we wanted, taught us a bit, and then we chatted and chilled when we wanted. And the yacht is classic old school! And at a fair price as well, esp. if we had more people. Just do it ...
Donovan H | United States | 12 September 2018

A Mediterranean Adventure

Our family of four had a wonderful adventure with Captain Dave on the last day of our Barcelona vacation. Dave was very responsive through our email communications to book the trip. The directions to the Gemini were easy to follow and she was as described – well maintained with much character. Captain Dave was very personable but not intrusive – he patiently answered all our questions. We spent over three hours enjoying the beautiful Barcelona skyline. He even stopped and anchored so our kids could swim in the Mediterranean. We would highly recommend Classic Sailing and hope that we have the opportunity to sail on the Gemini someday again.
Kathy M | Rocky Hill, Connecticut | 23 August 2014
#

Google reviews

View more on Google »

 

TripAdvisor reviews


View more on TripAdvisor »
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#