What our customers say

Over 250 ★★★★★ reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

Great captain, great boat!

The boat Gemini is gorgeous and well-maintained by its captain, who is a knowledgeable seaman and all around fun guy. We went out for a relaxing day tooling around and enjoyed some snacks, cava, and conversation while just relaxing with great views and a peaceful breeze blowing us along. Dave can educate you on the finer points of sailing or just be a good companion while you're out for the day. I drop him a line every time I'm passing through Barcelona to go for a sail.
Nicholas M | New York City, New York | 28 February 2013

A Must Do While Visiting Barcelona!

My sailboat trip around the coast of beautiful Barcelona was the highlight of my trip. Captain Dave was a gracious host and worked hard to ensure that our group had a wonderful experience on the blue water’s of the Mediterranean. The views were stunning and watching the sunset from the boat was both mesmerizing and magical. I would highly recommend a trip on the charming Gemini to anyone who wants to have a pleasantly unique experience. You won’t regret it.
David G | Birmingham, Alabama | 7 July 2014

Highlight of our honeymoon!

My wife and I had a lovely evening sailing with Dave. He was very accommodating and friendly. The boat itself is very charming and easy to find in Port Olimpic. The views of the Barcelona shore are unreal at dusk. Make sure you bring some food and drink for your trip. Dave even let us swim out in the open ocean as the sun set over the city. If you plan on making it out to Barcelona, do not skip this opportunity. I can't say enough about how amazing this experience was. Thank you Dave!
830drews | Mansfield, Massachusetts | 14 September 2013

Beautiful memory from Barcelona

This was my first time sailing and I really had a nice and relaxing experience. The boat is beautiful, Mr. Dave was a good host and I truly enjoyed it. Would recommend this trip to anyone who want to escape the city for a while and just relax. I would definitely do this again. Really great memory from Barcelona!
Aida S | | 22 May 2018

A lovely way to spent an afternoon!

The whole thing was very straightforward; we emailed Dave asking about certain time slots then reserved one on his website and paid a 30 Euro deposit. We arrived at the dock ahead of time and identified his boat. Dave himself was lovely and very interesting to talk to. It was a bit choppier than we would have liked but what a lovely way to cool down. It was very hot when we were there, about 30 degrees so we enjoyed the break on Dave's boat. All in all a good experience!
Gaynor H | Horsham, United Kingdom | 7 August 2015

Hands down, the best part of our trip!

Could there be anything better than having a beautiful old sailing boat to just you and your friends for the whole afternoon, in the blazing Barcelona sunshine? As we found out, no, there really couldn't.
Vickycee | Leeds, United Kingdom | 18 June 2014

Great afternoon out!!

Having read all the great reviews, we booked this (family of three including 14 year old daughter)... we were not disappointed and had a great afternoon gently sailing around the bay off Barcelona Marina. Dave was a friendly host which made the trip even better... you won't regret booking this.
Will R | Solihull, United Kingdom | 24 July 2017

Fun morning sail

Skippe Dave was great, and it was a fun morning sail. Gemini is full of character, and Dave was happy to tell us all about her. Definitely recommend this to others.
Bill N | Barcelona, Spain | 21 June 2015

Champagne & the Sea

What a wonderful and relaxing three hours out on the sea with friends! This is an amazing company to use as you can do what you want, it isn't like the big stuff companies that lay everything out for you. We brought our own champagne and food for a picnic on the boat, it was lovely! If you have a group of 4 or more would highly recommend booking out the entire boat, it is just lovely!
Lacey J | South Boston, Massachusetts, United States | 18 August 2015

Trip Highlight!!

We had a wonderful time!! Gorgeous views of the city and a fun time on the boat. We took all 5 of our kids ranging in age from 3-17 and everyone felt it was the best part of our trip. Would definitely recommend
kscottsmith5 | New Canaan, Connecticut | 11 August 2015

Very nice skipper!

The sign-up and transaction online were very smooth. We had to cut our sea promenade short as our son got seasick (first time sailing) due to very choppy waves, but through it Dave proved to be a wonderful skipper, very careful, riding the waves as smoothly as possible, and seems a lovely man. Will try it again in the future, with more clement weather! Thank you Dave!
bedandy | Montpellier | 4 August 2015

Chill Sail!

I was in Barcelona for honeymoon and I booked this trip after reading all the amazing reviews! Dave is super nice and chill and the boat is absolutely beautiful! It is very relaxing to be on the ocean, and Dave left us alone so that we can have a peaceful sail! It was everything I had dreamed for a Barcelona Boat Tour!
Natalie G | | 24 August 2017

Spot on

Can't fault the sunset cruise for a perfect anniversary experience. I was a bit apprehensive as I get motion-sickness, but I took a kwells, wore some wrist-bands and kept my eyes on the horizon and had a wonderful time despite it being rather choppy. I also followed Dave's advice and stayed to the middle and centre of the boat (Gemini). Husband used to sail when he was younger and Dave was happy to let him get involved and answer questions about the boat - which is a really beautiful classic boat. Watching the sun fade over the Barcelona horizon was pretty special. (I read the reviews on here prior to booking and the photos just don't do the experience justice.) Dave is a lovely skipper with a lovely boat. Would definitely recommend Classic Sail to anyone looking to do something a bit special in Barcelona.
highspeedcow | | 7 September 2015

Awesome and relaxing

Awesome sailing trip and really relaxing! If u like just laying back, talking and enjoying the view this is for you! You get a different vision of Barcelona and Dave is open to answer questions.
Daniel N | | 10 June 2015

Awesome experience

Dave very accommodating and a great skipper. His skill and information about everything was wonderful. A great way to see Barcelona from a different view. When I had short legs to get on the boat he made a way for me to do it. Let the sea breeze be in your face and relax and enjoy. Must do in Barcelona.
ruthibyers | | 10 May 2017

A wonderful experience

Although we sailed on unsettled sea day :-)
LihiRa | Zichron Yaakov, Israel | 9 October 2015

Great Sail with Dave

We sailed with Dave in June of 2015 and had a great afternoon with him, so when we found ourselves back in Barcelona (July 2017), sailing with Dave again was a must do. We had another great afternoon with Dave. Sailing in the Mediterranean is a great way to see the city. We went for a swim, five miles out; the water was amazing. Highly recommend a sailing trip with Dave.
Larry G | | 18 July 2017

Sailing Bracelona

Excellent value for money sail on board a classic sail boat which is easy to access. We had a three hour sail and swim in the deep ocean on a beautiful autumn day. I would highly recommend this trip, Dave is a very laid back friendly individual overall great day out.
smackmac420 | Glasgow, United Kingdom | 6 November 2017

Great Experience

It was a great present for my gf. Evertyhing was good organized and the great views the coastline of barcelona were astonishing! Not the last time i will book this trip for sure! 5+
Rastko L | | 17 July 2015

Only good things to say.....

We went out with a large group - ages 12 - 78 - and Dave made everyone feel comfortable. He is amazingly calm and kind and accommodating - and clearly a skilled sailor! We needed to change our day and time numerous times and he was flexible and understanding. The views from the water were beautiful. It was an adventure. We highly recommend sailing with Dave.
2015Alisa | Raleigh, North Carolina | 1 January 2015

A wonderful evening with Captain Dave

Captain Dave and his boat Gemini were the perfect escape from the urban Barcelona. We booked an afternoon sail however he contacted us and advised we go a bit later to enjoy the sunset. It was beautiful. My love and I had the boat to ourselves and Captain Dave was a perfect balance of accommodating and knowledgeable, while at the same time leaving us to ourselves so we could soak in the experience.
braddog8 | Bozeman, Montana | 27 October 2016

A perfect way to spend the evening

I booked Classic Sail as a gift for my friends on our last night together in Barcelona. The booking was easy, communication thorough, and it was easy to find the boat. Dave got us out away from some of the noisier groups so we could enjoy a dip in the Mediterranean during the sunset. He was available but unobtrusive, and seems to be a great captain and lovely person. Six thumbs up!
Katy S | | 31 July 2018

Fantastic Experience

Highly recommended for a group of friends/family. 3 hours was a perfect amount of time to cruise the harbour and the captain really gave us space so it felt like our own boat. Much preferred to the large catamaran tours with 50+ people
mitchpittaway | Toronto, Canada | 18 July 2019

Best Part of our entire trip!

Best part of our entire trip! 9 of us booked very last minute and Dave helped make everything smooth and easy. Great communication. Julio was our captain and we had a blast. An amazing way to experience Barcelona at a tremendous value! Highly recommended!
Jeb213 | Hyannis | 8 June 2018

A wonderful Barcelona experience -

Dave did a great job taking us out to sail in Barcelona. We sailed, we swam, and we enjoyed ourselves immensely.
Phil T | New York | 6 September 2015

Highly Recommend!

Dave and his boat are lovely. The boat is a beautiful piece of history and allows you to spend private time on the water with friends. I've been on many boats around the world (private and groups) and had an exceptional time on Dave's. If you're looking for a day of boating in Barcelona, this is the trip for you. I didn't do this myself, but I could see this being a phenomenal option for couples who want some private time on the sea.
skier29 | San Francisco, Ca | 15 July 2019

Excellent experience

The experience is highly recommended. The Gemini is a very nice boat to sail on, Dave is very kind and the price very competitive. Largely matched our expectations!
Marounistan | London, United Kingdom | 7 June 2017

Do it, do it!

had an awesome day with Dave and the crew, Dave really knows his stuff. Whether your inexperienced (like me) or have some experience under your belt, you'll work as a team, meet someone new and you'll have a great day. The mediterranean and the views of Barcelona are a must do! I highly recommend.
EverythingsArchie | | 29 September 2013

Highlight of our visit

I had booked this adventure asan early birthday gift to my husband. It did not disappoint. He is still grinning four days later. Imagine sailing along the coast, a breeze, some sun, sipping water libation you brought on board. The waves of the sea gently moving against the sides of the boat as you sails glide you through the water. You look inland and see the many points of interest to see. Truly romantic or telly family oriented depending on your entourage. It's private so you get to have the run of the deck. Loved it!
DianeColo | Montreal | 30 April 2015

Wonderfully relaxing, friendly, and informative trip

My wife booked this trip - we were a group of 9 (3 related families) - Classic Sail worked with another organization to ensure we got a boat that fit our group's size. It was clear that Dani had chosen a skipper that was fluent in English, and was just as native to Spain as could be! Bernardo was an excellent skipper - talked very knowledgeably about the culture and history of Barcelona and the buildings that we could see as we motored out from where the boat was anchored (Port Olympic). He also pointed out some of the sailing tips that an accomplished sailor would know - the ripples on the water indicating the location of wind, the tell-tales near the sail that he used to track the wind shifts to ensure the sail was oriented right. What was incredible was the extent to which he was able to encourage our younger daughter to feel confident in "helping" him sail, when we were way out in blue water, returning back to shore. Most of us got into the blue water to swim a while - and again, Bernardo had the right words of encouragement to get the faint-hearted into the water. We had a great time in the crystal-clear water, which was bracing at the first touch, but very comfortable rapidly after, not at all warm. We would heartily recommend this 2.5 hour sailing trip as a great way to relax in the Mediterranean!
Popsrao | New York City, New York | 17 July 2015

Classic Sailing Barcelona Yacht Charter

An excellent afternoons sail with Dave off the coast of Barcelona. It was an absolute joy and would thoroughly recommend it whether you are experienced or not. It was lovely to leave the hot city behind and have the sea breeze on your face.
Jan R | | 4 October 2017

Great start to the trip

We went on an afternoon sail the first day of our honeymoon. It was a great relaxing day to get accustomed to the time change. Gemini is a great old wooden sail boat, and Dave is hilarious. It was my husband's favorite part of Spain (we went to Barcelona, Sevilla and Granada). It was just a nice relaxing day. We went swimming, drank some wine, husband smoked a cigar. Nothing not to like.
NattyLynn | New York City, New York | 24 June 2014

Fantastic relaxing sail!

Bernardo the skipper was wonderfully knowledgeable and friendly - made the 3 hour sail most enjoyable! Water was clear and fresh! Highly recommended for some relaxation, water and fun during the hot, hot summer!
DPLosAngeles | Los Angeles | 29 July 2015

Recommended!

We had a very fun afternoon sailing on Gemini with Dave. A lovely wooden boat with room for all our stuff and it was great to be able to take our own food and drinks onboard (there's an easily accessible coolbox!). It was fairly blustery when we were out so we got to experience some "proper" sailing and basking in the sunshine was great. My only tip would be - take some warm clothing if you're out later on towards the evening, we got a little chilly on the journey back but then it was only April! It was a highly memorable part of our trip.
Olivia B | London, United Kingdom | 6 May 2014

Great sail on the Mediterranean for some peace and and wind in your face.

Dani was our captain for a great sail on their 40' monohull. We had a group of 7 with plenty of room and enjoyed a motor around and sail at sunset. Dani was a great guide, the boat was in great shape, and everyone had a great time getting off of land and getting some salty air into our systems.
Rick H | Clarkston, Michigan | 12 December 2016

'Sea' Barcelona Differently

If you're looking for something different to do in Barcelona, avoid the tourist traps and spend an afternoon on an old sailing boat, cruising around the coast.
Kim H | Toronto, Ontario, Canada | 27 August 2012

Light airs but great sail

My wife and I went for for an afternoon sail on Gemini with Dave last week and while the winds were light she ghosted along better than I expected.
Stephen B | | 10 November 2015

Something different

Fantastic venture with Capt Dave for a surprise birthday gift for a friend. Beautiful boat, great views of Barcelona and fun watching the boat being operated by sail and hitting some descents speeds!
Al H | London, United Kingdom | 4 May 2015

Amazing afternoon

Me and four of my friends (23-25 y.o.) went sailing with Dave. We spent an amazing afternoon away from the hectic city and enjoyed the Waves, Wind and the sea mixed with some beer and good food. I can recommend this to anyone. If you want to do this on the weekend it is better to reserve in advance, but you can always call and ask spontaneous. Absolutely safe.
Lars174 | Bern, Switzerland | 3 September 2013

Relaxing Sail after Touring

Capt Dave is very accommodating and knows just how to customize the experience to his customers. We booked the sail after a few hard days of touring and we enjoyed just relaxing on the boat while Capt Dave took care of everything else. We highly recommend sailing with Dave.
RossTonyB | Pensacola, Florida | 2 May 2015

Didn't Make The Sail, But Still 5 Stars

Unfortunately we had to cancel our trip the same day because two in our party had a medical emergency and went home. Dave was incredibly easy to work with and responsive and gave us our deposit back without issue. We really appreciated it. We were very bummed to miss the boat trip, but if we are ever in Barcelona again we definitely will put it at the top of the list. Thank you very much again, Dave.
Neeners815 | Jersey City, New Jersey | 4 September 2016

Excellent, relaxing time :)

Spent a brilliant few hours out on the water with Dave last week. Really nice guy and the boat is a real classic, not much in the way of automation! Weather was gorgeous of course and we just pootled about, absolutely perfect. Even my perpetually grumpy teenage daughter admitted that she enjoyed it, I can think of no higher praise!
Matt P | London, England | 9 August 2015

What an amazing trip!

My wife and I had such an amazing time on Skipper Dave's sailboat. Definitely the highlight of our time in Barcelona.
Michael A | | 10 August 2015

Sailing on the coast of Barcelona

In my experience sailing can be a great and challenging adventure and it can be very relaxing chilling out. It all depends on weather and season. I have tried sailing on this boat both in rough weather and in nice summer days and I love both experiences.
Signite | Barcelona, Spain | 1 March 2013

Perfect day!

I would highly recommend spending a day sailing along the Barcelona coast with Captain Dave. We were out for a 7 hour cruise, although by the time we docked it was closer to 8 hours (not a complaint!). As soon as we slipped away from the dock the temperature dropped from hot and sticky to sunny and warm. The noise and crowds of the busy, steamy city were quickly a memory and we spent a beautiful serene afternoon gently swaying up the coast and back.
FTA269 | Sutton, Massachusetts | 20 August 2013

A perfect morning on board Gemini!

We had a great time on board Gemini and Dave was a welcoming skipper. It's a perfect way to see the Barcelonian coast and to go for a swim in the very warm, deep, blue Med and sunbathe on deck away from the masses! Take drinks and snacks to enjoy while peacefully sailing.
Paula S | Chichester, United Kingdom | 26 August 2015

A fantastic afternoon

A group of friends and I sailed with Dave one afternoon and it was one of the best things we've done in Barcelona! It was great to see Barcelona from the water and Dave was extremely nice and Gemini was great. Hands down something you must do while in Barcelona
Jacqueline B | Barcelona, Spain | 12 June 2014

Highlight of our Barcelona weekend hen party trip !

Dave is a very friendly and helpful person and our tour was beyond our expectations. We surprised our friend for her bachelorette trip and this was def the highlight! Absolutely fantastic! We had an amazing 3 hour boat ride on the beautiful gemini boat. I can highly recommend this tour! If you want to enjoy a special boatride with your special one(s), this is for.
Michal_travels | Berlin, Germany | 11 July 2016

Catamara <3

We booked the catamaran for 12 persons, after a tour in both harbour of Barcelona, we sailed further away and then stopped to take a bath :D.
Rouffy83350 | Barcelona, Spain | 28 September 2016

Relaxing Afternoon Sailing Trip

My husband and I did the afternoon sail with Captain Dave and had a really great experience. I am one to usually get seasick when out on the ocean, but thankfully had an enjoyable sail without even taking medicine. It was a nice escape from the big city crowds in Barcelona and was incredibly relaxing. The area to sit on the boat was really comfy and Dave even stopped the boat for us to swim, which was really appreciated by us. I would definitely recommend Classic Sail Barcelona to anyone looking for a relaxing time at sea in Barcelona.
Christie S | Seattle, Washington | 2 October 2016
#

Google reviews

View more on Google »

 

TripAdvisor reviews


View more on TripAdvisor »
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#