What our customers say

Over 250 ★★★★★ reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

Perfect romantic evening

I planned a private sunset sail with my partner as a surprise while we were on holidays in Barcelona. it was perfect! Dave was wonderful, the boat was perfect, it was lovely to sit, eating some cheese and watching the sun set and the lights go on around the town. A very special experience - highly recommended! Thank you again Dave for a memorable evening
Mima_Pope | Darwin, Australia | 21 October 2015

The perfect getaway

If you want to see Barcelona from another side, you certainly want to sail with skipper Dave.
stijns740 | | 6 September 2016

A must in Barcelona!

We enjoyed our sunset cruise w Dave! Great way to relax and see the city! It's a very comfortable boat and ride (didn't feel motion sick) his sail boat can handle the waves. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
purplenimen | Fort Myers | 28 August 2017

Great Time

Gemini is a wonderful ship and Dave is a great captain. You'll have an excellent afternoon overlooking Barcelona.
Chris S | Detroit, Michigan | 25 June 2015

Great dip in the Mediterranean

I booked this classic sailing trip with Dave for our honeymoon back in the summer 2015. I promised Dave to give him a 5-stars, comments and recommendations so here it is.
vspeang | Greater London, United Kingdom | 1 January 2016

Amazing Experience

Recently, Dave took my girlfriend and me on a sunset tour on his beautiful boat, Gemini. Before the trip, he communicated with us so well and had an extremely quick response time. He gave very clear directions on how to get to the boat, and we had no trouble finding it in Port Olympic. We brought drinks and ice, and he brought a cooler, which was so kind of him. He took us out on the Mediterranean, let us go for a swim, sailed along the coastline, and then took us back as the day became night. He even took a couple of pictures for me and my girlfriend during sunset. The trip was beautiful, we had calm water, and if I return to Barcelona, I will definitely re-book this sailing experience with Dave and Gemini. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Thanks Dave (:
cac275 | Hattiesburg, Mississippi | 21 June 2017

Best thing we've done in Barcelona

This sailing trip was one of the best things we have ever done in Barcelona and we’ve been to Barcelona many times and seen most of what it has to offer. Dave was absolutely brilliant and made the whole experience from the initial booking through to disembarking back at the harbour totally seamless and a great experience. Dave replies to emails straight away, he was very accommodating, he even agreed to move our trip to another day due to the weather, he didn’t mind if we brought along our own food and drink, he was even prepared to pull up and let us go for a swim, but we chickened out of that because the water was so cold..
alexjwood | Birmingham, UK | 28 May 2014

Fantastic experience

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of sailing with Dave on the Gemini. It was an unforgettable experience. Dave is a pleasure personally and a very professional skipper. The boat is beautiful as well. He stopped twice so we could have a swim. He provides water but if you want anything else to drink or eat you gotta bring it. If you are thinking about sailing in Barcelona.. don't hesitate. Book with Dave and you wont be disappointed!
mdzebar | Brooklyn NY | 29 July 2015

Sail Gemini!

The environment was more like a friend taking you out on a boat, rather than a cookie-cutter tour boat. Dave the skipper was an excellent guide, pointing out sights on the water and across the Barcelona cityscape, and even let a couple of us take a turn at the tiller (no scrapes, thankfully!) I recommend this to anyone who wants a REAL experience out in the waters off Barcelona.
Andrew M | Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada | 2 August 2014

EXCEEDED our Expectations!

My friends and I reserved a sail with Classic Sailing for the afternoon after our flight landed in BCN. The gentle ride, fresh sea air, sunshine and cool water was just the ticket for our jet-lagged group. We would go again in a heartbeat! Everything was perfect and Captain David was a fabulous host and skipper!
Pamela L | Nashville, Tennessee | 13 October 2014

Wonderful experience

My mom and I recently went on an afternoon sail with Dave. We were a few minutes late, due to traffic from where we were coming from, but Dave was accommodating and he was waiting for us in the boat when we arrived. The weather was beautiful and it was overall a very relaxing and enjoyable sail. Thank you!
Grace L | | 24 September 2017

Fantastic Afternoon

We had an amazing time with Cptn. Dave. It was the most relaxing part of our busy trip, and absolutely beautiful. There was not much wind when we went out, but we didn't care. It was comfortable and the views of the city were great. I'd like to be on that boat again, right now. Highly recommend, and the cost was reasonable and worth every cent.
juliebirditis | Bakersfield, California | 1 October 2015

Relaxing 3 hours away from the buzz

A very lovely afternoon with skipper Stefan and a welcome getaway from the hot city.
Alar I | Tartu, Estonia | 12 August 2015

Great views and friendly captain

This was our first morning in Barcelona after a week of travels. It sure was nice to get out on the water and see this beautiful city from a unique perspective. So relaxing just being out on the water. My girlfriend and I had the boat to ourselves and Dave gave us the space to enjoy each other's company. He was always available to answer any questions but did not intrude. We stopped for a short swim and the water was nice and refreshing. I printed out the map from Dave's web site and handed it to our taxi driver. He dropped us off less than 3 minutes away from the boat. Super easy to get to.
Brian M | Galveston Island, Texas | 5 August 2014

You want to go sailing? Classic Sail Barcelona is the perfect provider!!

I wanted to surprise my fiancée for her birthday - the booking of Gemini with Skipper Dave was the perfect gift and an incredible experience. We took the Sunset Tour which was a picture perfect trip with blue sea, a romantic sunset and a refreshing swimming stop. Gemini is a beautiful and very well maintained sailing boat, with a nice history (built in 1947). Skipper Dave couldn't have been a nicer host with a friendly smile and loads of cool insights into sailing.
Colonius | Zurich, Switzerland | 28 July 2016

Excellent option for a relaxing and romantic experience in Barcelona

My wife and I enjoyed a sunset cruise in July. Although the weather was warm in the city (roughly 90 deg F), the temp was definitely cooler on the water, even with limited breezes. Marina easily accessible from the old city. Great views, smooth sailing, comfortable one-of-a-kind sailboat, and a personable and cordial skipper. Slight downside on supposedly "limited" bathroom facilities, but if you plan ahead . . . :)
Christopher S | Chicago, Illinois | 24 July 2015

The Jewel of Barcelona!!!!

My husband and I have just returned from 3 weeks in Spain. The top memory of our trip is our 3 hour sail with Dave, the owner of Classic Sail Barcelona. It was definitely the most memorable moment of our trip. Try something new and outside of the regular tourist trips. You can go as a group, a couple, or just by yourself. Dave will do everything he can to accommodate your needs. How many people get to sail on the Mediterranean? Don't miss this relaxing, enjoyable, and memorable trip!
Judith C | Cuenca, Ecuador | 13 November 2016

A wonderful afternoon sailing on Skipper Dave's sailboat!

My husband and I sailed with Skipper Dave on his 41 foot, 1943 gorgeous wood sailboat. My husband is an accomplished sailor and offered to "crew" as we exited the harbor and got under sail. Of course, Skipper Dave was more than capable of doing this independently, but allowed my husband to assist. It wound up that he let my husband sail the boat (steer) for the 3 hours of the sail! He just loved being out on the Mediterranean, under sail, and manning the helm! I stayed on the fore deck and let those 2 sailors talk shop together. Skipper Dave was professional, capable and very friendly. He asked us what sort of sail we wanted...as I prefer a more smooth ride, he only put up the partial sails as it was a windy day. It was a perfect afternoon of sun and relaxation and a wonderful gift to my husband! Thank you for a lovely day!!
JulieNitz | Farmington Hills, Michigan | 13 October 2017

Great Host, Great Boat, Great Time!

We are a family of five (Mother, Father, Son-19yrs, Son-13yrs, Son-6yrs) and chose for the morning sail with Skipper Dave. The reservation was simply done online, meet up instructions were clear and easy, and payment was as transparent and easy. We would absolutely recommend this as a great experience in Barcelona for any family. Thank you Dave!
Mike B | | 27 June 2016

Excellent, relaxing time :)

Spent a brilliant few hours out on the water with Dave last week. Really nice guy and the boat is a real classic, not much in the way of automation! Weather was gorgeous of course and we just pootled about, absolutely perfect. Even my perpetually grumpy teenage daughter admitted that she enjoyed it, I can think of no higher praise!
Matt P | London, England | 9 August 2015

Highlight of our trip

We really enjoyed sailing with Dave. We spent 10 days in Barcelona and sailing was our break from sightseeing, which turned out to be the highlight of our trip. Would definitely go back. First time on the Mediterranean, it was beautiful and relaxing. Dave was a great host.
Jolynne P | | 19 June 2017

Very best sailing in Barcelona

Get sailing on a great boat with a great skipper. All around a fantastic experience. You will not be disappointed.
Eric S | | 22 April 2015

Awesome day on the water!

Very interesting to see Barcelona from the water. I got a great panorama shot of the city.
davidm_PDX | | 6 May 2012

Chill Sail!

I was in Barcelona for honeymoon and I booked this trip after reading all the amazing reviews! Dave is super nice and chill and the boat is absolutely beautiful! It is very relaxing to be on the ocean, and Dave left us alone so that we can have a peaceful sail! It was everything I had dreamed for a Barcelona Boat Tour!
Natalie G | | 24 August 2017

Great captain, great boat!

The boat Gemini is gorgeous and well-maintained by its captain, who is a knowledgeable seaman and all around fun guy. We went out for a relaxing day tooling around and enjoyed some snacks, cava, and conversation while just relaxing with great views and a peaceful breeze blowing us along. Dave can educate you on the finer points of sailing or just be a good companion while you're out for the day. I drop him a line every time I'm passing through Barcelona to go for a sail.
Nicholas M | New York City, New York | 28 February 2013

A Mediterranean Adventure

Our family of four had a wonderful adventure with Captain Dave on the last day of our Barcelona vacation. Dave was very responsive through our email communications to book the trip. The directions to the Gemini were easy to follow and she was as described – well maintained with much character. Captain Dave was very personable but not intrusive – he patiently answered all our questions. We spent over three hours enjoying the beautiful Barcelona skyline. He even stopped and anchored so our kids could swim in the Mediterranean. We would highly recommend Classic Sailing and hope that we have the opportunity to sail on the Gemini someday again.
Kathy M | Rocky Hill, Connecticut | 23 August 2014

Brilliant! A perfect morning!

A wonderful morning of sun and sea, enjoyed hugely by adults and children alike (11 and 15). Dave is a gracious, knowledgeable host but not at all intrusive - very amenable when the kids wanted to stop the boat and swim. Much more personal than one of the more touristy operators who we watched setting off just before us. No better way to spend a sunny morning in Barcelona.
GemmaRLondon | London | 8 June 2016

Awesome experience

Dave very accommodating and a great skipper. His skill and information about everything was wonderful. A great way to see Barcelona from a different view. When I had short legs to get on the boat he made a way for me to do it. Let the sea breeze be in your face and relax and enjoy. Must do in Barcelona.
ruthibyers | | 10 May 2017

Amazing Trip

We booked an afternoon 3.5 hour sailing tour and it was just incredible! We had so much fun, lying in the sun, jumping in the sea and just enjoying the beautiful day!
Sabrina P | Graz, Austria | 25 July 2015

Excellent!

The last week of April my boyfriend and I spent some time in Barcelona and I'm so glad I booked this for one of our days because it turned out to be one of our favorite parts of the entire trip.
kenzieschy246 | Santa Monica, California | 8 May 2015

Only good things to say.....

We went out with a large group - ages 12 - 78 - and Dave made everyone feel comfortable. He is amazingly calm and kind and accommodating - and clearly a skilled sailor! We needed to change our day and time numerous times and he was flexible and understanding. The views from the water were beautiful. It was an adventure. We highly recommend sailing with Dave.
2015Alisa | Raleigh, North Carolina | 1 January 2015

Great Experience

It was a great present for my gf. Evertyhing was good organized and the great views the coastline of barcelona were astonishing! Not the last time i will book this trip for sure! 5+
Rastko L | | 17 July 2015

Do it, do it!

had an awesome day with Dave and the crew, Dave really knows his stuff. Whether your inexperienced (like me) or have some experience under your belt, you'll work as a team, meet someone new and you'll have a great day. The mediterranean and the views of Barcelona are a must do! I highly recommend.
EverythingsArchie | | 29 September 2013

Charming Boat with a friendly skipper

I thoroughly a 3 hour cruise with Captain Dave on board Gemini. The boat oozes charm and is really interesting in its setup. As someone who only recently started sailing, i had an amazing time chatting with Captain Dave. Even thiugh the wind was very light, i had a great time. Highly recommended
Aquanauticaldbn | Durban, South Africa | 3 December 2017

A wonderful Barcelona experience -

Dave did a great job taking us out to sail in Barcelona. We sailed, we swam, and we enjoyed ourselves immensely.
Phil T | New York | 6 September 2015

Fantastic afternoon's sailing on Gemini with Skipper Dave

We took a 3 hour sailing trip with Skipper Dave - it was by far my favourite part of the holiday, and represented excellent value for money.
dduffy41 | | 25 October 2016

Perfect day!

I would highly recommend spending a day sailing along the Barcelona coast with Captain Dave. We were out for a 7 hour cruise, although by the time we docked it was closer to 8 hours (not a complaint!). As soon as we slipped away from the dock the temperature dropped from hot and sticky to sunny and warm. The noise and crowds of the busy, steamy city were quickly a memory and we spent a beautiful serene afternoon gently swaying up the coast and back.
FTA269 | Sutton, Massachusetts | 20 August 2013

The perfect escape

The morning that my mother and I spent with Dave on his beautiful sailboat was a few hours in heaven! My mother was visiting me on the cruise ship I work on, had already seen the famous sights of Barcelona, so I was searching for a different way to experience the city. We both have a special attachment to sailing, I always was admiring the sail boats in the harbor from my cruise ship deck, and from the reviews on Trip Advisor, Classic Sail Barcelona sounded perfect… and it was.
Linz625 | Montreal, Quebec, Canada | 5 August 2015

most relaxed sail you could wish for

we were a group of 6 friends and enjoyed a lovely 3 hrs sail trip out of barcelona. the moment we left the harbour, sails were set and the wind took over.
A TripAdvisor Member | Dubai, United Arab Emirates | 23 May 2018

Fabulous morning sail with helpful host

We booked a morning sail and as I have restricted mobility Dave the skipper moved the boat to an accessible berth. The cruise was beautiful with great views of Barcelona and Dave giving some local knowledge and flavour. The boat was full of character and comfortable and stable even when the wind got up. Half a day was plenty and it gives you an opportunity to explore Port Olympic afterwards.
J L | | 10 August 2014

Great Fun

4 of us booked the boat for 3 hours on a glorious Saturday afternoon. Dave was a great Skipper, letting us drink and play music while he took care of the sailing.
Dom S | | 11 July 2017

What an experience!

My review is long overdue! We sailed on the Gemini with Skipper Dave a few months ago, in September of 2017. The whole experience, sailing in an 80 year old sailboat along the coast of Barcelona with good friends was an experience that we all will remember for a long time.
cclis | macon, ga | 23 January 2018

A great sail

This will easily be one of my highlights from Barcelona. Very few things could be as relaxing as this lovely morning/afternoon voyage out into the sea. Dave was an excellent host, and took excellent care of us.
Kyle M | Dartford | 28 July 2016

Private Sunset Cruise

Booked this for our anniversary, and had a really amazing evening. The boat is beautiful and skipper Dave is really helpful and friendly, all we had to do was enjoy the trip. My girlfriend was amazed by the experience and it was the perfect way to celebrate a romantic evening and escape the city.
sean j | | 6 August 2017

Very Professional

We recently booked this tour. The process was extremely clean and easy. We made a deposit and had confirmation instantly. We contacted the captain throughout the process and he always got back to us quickly. Unfortunately, the day the trip was scheduled the weather was quite bad. We contacted the captain ~ 1 hour before and advised of our weather concern. The captain got right back to us and gave us the option to cancel. We unfortunately did cancel and couldn't reschedule as it was our last day(he offered to reschedule for the following evening). I got a confirmation of the cancellation and refund within minutes. I offered to have him keep the deposit due to feeling badly and he refused to accept. If we are back in town we will try again.
markK3337NQ | Florida | 2 September 2017

Highlight of our Barcelona weekend hen party trip !

Dave is a very friendly and helpful person and our tour was beyond our expectations. We surprised our friend for her bachelorette trip and this was def the highlight! Absolutely fantastic! We had an amazing 3 hour boat ride on the beautiful gemini boat. I can highly recommend this tour! If you want to enjoy a special boatride with your special one(s), this is for.
Michal_travels | Berlin, Germany | 11 July 2016

Lovely afternoon sailing

Our original booking had been to go on Gemini but weather wasn't great, so the next day we went out with Giambattista and Dave. A lovely afternoon spent relaxing and admiring the views. Our baby was made comfortable too. Many thanks
SilverLadyLondon | London | 31 October 2015

Sunset cruise

Our group of 7 took the sunset cruise with our skipper Stefan. We had a very enjoyable experience, even though the majority of us suffered from sea sickness! We were able to bring our own food, drink and even music via the bluetooth facility provided. The price of this trip compared very favourably with others and this is another reason why I would recommend this experience.
YorkshireMackem | yorkshire | 3 July 2016

An unforgettable experience

A Trip with Dave on the Gemini is one of those gems that you feel very lucky to have found and will leave a beautiful, unforgettable experience on your mind. The price is incredibly affordable for the experience of being on a timeless sailboat cruising along the Barcelona coast. Dave, the captain, is full of interesting stories and makes you feel like this is the trip of your life. If you choose to do one thing while you’re in Barcelona, do this!
Anna L | Barcelona | 21 October 2018

Coolest boat I have ever been on

A must do for anyone who enjoys the water. Very knowledgable and laid back captain on a stellar sailboat. You will not be disappointed.
Dave W | Barcelona, Spain | 3 February 2015
#

Google reviews

View more on Google »

 

TripAdvisor reviews


View more on TripAdvisor »
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#