What our customers say

Over 250 ★★★★★ reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

Lovely afternoon sailing

Our original booking had been to go on Gemini but weather wasn't great, so the next day we went out with Giambattista and Dave. A lovely afternoon spent relaxing and admiring the views. Our baby was made comfortable too. Many thanks
SilverLadyLondon | London | 31 October 2015

Relaxing Afternoon Sailing Trip

My husband and I did the afternoon sail with Captain Dave and had a really great experience. I am one to usually get seasick when out on the ocean, but thankfully had an enjoyable sail without even taking medicine. It was a nice escape from the big city crowds in Barcelona and was incredibly relaxing. The area to sit on the boat was really comfy and Dave even stopped the boat for us to swim, which was really appreciated by us. I would definitely recommend Classic Sail Barcelona to anyone looking for a relaxing time at sea in Barcelona.
Christie S | Seattle, Washington | 2 October 2016

The Jewel of Barcelona!!!!

My husband and I have just returned from 3 weeks in Spain. The top memory of our trip is our 3 hour sail with Dave, the owner of Classic Sail Barcelona. It was definitely the most memorable moment of our trip. Try something new and outside of the regular tourist trips. You can go as a group, a couple, or just by yourself. Dave will do everything he can to accommodate your needs. How many people get to sail on the Mediterranean? Don't miss this relaxing, enjoyable, and memorable trip!
Judith C | Cuenca, Ecuador | 13 November 2016

Beautiful Day on the Mediterranean!

Our group of 5 spent a 3 hour afternoon sailing on the Gemini with Captain Dave. We couldn't have asked for a better day on the water. Dave is a great captain and took care of all of our needs. The weather cooperated fully and we were able to sail up the coast north of Barcelona seeing the shoreline for quite a while. On the way back the wind picked up and made for a great experience, especially for the first time sailors with us.
Joanne B | Kansas City, Missouri | 28 May 2017

Great wind, great sail!

Our sail with Dave on the Gemini was fantastic. Dave was quick to get us information on booking and how to locate the boat. He was ready for departure as soon as we arrived. Gemini is a classic old wooden boat that is very stable and takes the water beautifully. Our weather was perfect with lots of wind which made for a great sail. Dave stopped so we could jump in the ocean for a swim. It was a great afternoon and we highly recommend this boat. Dave was a pleasant host and let my husband and daughter help sail. It was super easy to get to using the metro.
sdeboon | Red Deer, Canada | 6 July 2016

Great Experience

It was a great present for my gf. Evertyhing was good organized and the great views the coastline of barcelona were astonishing! Not the last time i will book this trip for sure! 5+
Rastko L | | 17 July 2015

Fantastic afternoon's sailing on Gemini with Skipper Dave

We took a 3 hour sailing trip with Skipper Dave - it was by far my favourite part of the holiday, and represented excellent value for money.
dduffy41 | | 25 October 2016

Beautiful

A beautiful sailing trip with a great skipper :). Nice sailing boat , I had a very cool experience on sea.
Ioan C | | 5 September 2014

Fantastic experience

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of sailing with Dave on the Gemini. It was an unforgettable experience. Dave is a pleasure personally and a very professional skipper. The boat is beautiful as well. He stopped twice so we could have a swim. He provides water but if you want anything else to drink or eat you gotta bring it. If you are thinking about sailing in Barcelona.. don't hesitate. Book with Dave and you wont be disappointed!
mdzebar | Brooklyn NY | 29 July 2015

Unwind with wind!!

Just had our honeymoon in Barcelona, it's an amazing city with plenty to eat, drink and see, after a fantastic week of trying to do as much as possible we could not have found a better way to relax and chill out than our trip with Dave on Gemini. We took the sunset cruise and it was just the two of us, Dave is really friendly and made our evening very relaxed, perfect way to end our honeymoon. He is also very knowledgeable about Barcelona too. Can't recommend it enough.
Edwinmajor | | 5 July 2015

A flawless Barcelona Experience, beautiful sailing adventure!

We have nothing but good things to say about our sailing trip with Dave. We created this Trip Advisor account just so that we could write a review for this experience. We went on a morning excursion that took us about 2 miles off the Barcelona coastline and lasted around 3 hours. The harbor was actually closed when we started but he still took us out for the full experience despite the delay. Very accommodating when I got a little sea-sick and was more than understanding, which was a huge positive for us. We slept in the sun for quite a bit of our journey. If you're worried about having to carry a conversation or awkward silences, don't be! He was very charming and conversational when needed but gave us our space as well. We will definitely be doing this again next time we are in the area!
Kipdsumner | Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany | 13 July 2014

You want to go sailing? Classic Sail Barcelona is the perfect provider!!

I wanted to surprise my fiancée for her birthday - the booking of Gemini with Skipper Dave was the perfect gift and an incredible experience. We took the Sunset Tour which was a picture perfect trip with blue sea, a romantic sunset and a refreshing swimming stop. Gemini is a beautiful and very well maintained sailing boat, with a nice history (built in 1947). Skipper Dave couldn't have been a nicer host with a friendly smile and loads of cool insights into sailing.
Colonius | Zurich, Switzerland | 28 July 2016

Wonderful moment

Spent the morning with my wife and kids on Dave's boat. First of all Dave is very professional and very friendly. He tells if you are interested, leaves you in peace if you want to nap, let's you drive if you want... he adapts to each individual perfectly.
Sylvain H | Madrid, Spain | 26 September 2017

Recommended for families.

My family with two small children aged 2 and 6 had a perfect afternoon sailing with classic sail Barcelona. Friendly captain and lovely views.
Marte T | | 7 September 2018

Great afternoon out!!

Having read all the great reviews, we booked this (family of three including 14 year old daughter)... we were not disappointed and had a great afternoon gently sailing around the bay off Barcelona Marina. Dave was a friendly host which made the trip even better... you won't regret booking this.
Will R | Solihull, United Kingdom | 24 July 2017

Do it, do it!

had an awesome day with Dave and the crew, Dave really knows his stuff. Whether your inexperienced (like me) or have some experience under your belt, you'll work as a team, meet someone new and you'll have a great day. The mediterranean and the views of Barcelona are a must do! I highly recommend.
EverythingsArchie | | 29 September 2013

Fantastic Afternoon

We had an amazing time with Cptn. Dave. It was the most relaxing part of our busy trip, and absolutely beautiful. There was not much wind when we went out, but we didn't care. It was comfortable and the views of the city were great. I'd like to be on that boat again, right now. Highly recommend, and the cost was reasonable and worth every cent.
juliebirditis | Bakersfield, California | 1 October 2015

Great way to escape the crowds

Great day on the water! Took my two daughters (17,20) and a friend out for a three hour sail. They really enjoyed it, very relaxing. The boat is definitely older but has a lot of charm. Our captain was Dave, he was very knowledgeable and a super nice guy. It was the perfect way to escape the crowds and noise of Barcelona. Great trip.
JCS28715 | Asheville, North Carolina | 24 August 2016

The most relaxing adventure of our trip!!

I would highly recommend taking a sailing trip with Dave!! He is wonderfully laid back and lets you make the very most out of the experience (unlike some of the larger/corporate excursions where they do not give room for a flexible schedule and you end up feeling like your on a school field-trip ), yet Dave is a safe and experienced sailor. My husband and I had been traveling for two weeks and this was the PERFECT break! We enjoyed the views, swam in the ocean, and even took a nap (yes, I was that relaxed)! If you are in Barcelona and want to have a great time out on the ocean, book with Dave!
Jaclyn P | Austin, Texas | 20 August 2015

Perfect romantic evening

I planned a private sunset sail with my partner as a surprise while we were on holidays in Barcelona. it was perfect! Dave was wonderful, the boat was perfect, it was lovely to sit, eating some cheese and watching the sun set and the lights go on around the town. A very special experience - highly recommended! Thank you again Dave for a memorable evening
Mima_Pope | Darwin, Australia | 21 October 2015

Breathtaking!

This sailing trip 4-5 miles from the coast of the city was most probably the highlight of our trip.
Philippe B | | 15 July 2015

Sailing fun

Had a great afternoon trip with Captain Dave - great host, and thoroughly enjoyable afternoon. Well worth a go!
Taylorgt1 | London, United Kingdom | 4 April 2017

Awesome afternoon in the sunshine!

I booked classic sail Barcelona for my friend's hen do so that we could enjoy an afternoon sailing along the coast making the most of the beautiful weather. The trip was exactly what we were hoping for. Dani, our skipper was fantastic. We brought on our own drink and food and we could play music and games and make ourselves at home. When the hen got sea sick (more than likely induced by the level of drinking the night before) Dani was great. He got her up to steer the boat and get out of the sun which made her feel a million times better. It was the perfect trip. If only we'd booked for the whole day or for another trip the next day. Maybe next time!
Vicky K | | 2 July 2016

Perfect day!

I would highly recommend spending a day sailing along the Barcelona coast with Captain Dave. We were out for a 7 hour cruise, although by the time we docked it was closer to 8 hours (not a complaint!). As soon as we slipped away from the dock the temperature dropped from hot and sticky to sunny and warm. The noise and crowds of the busy, steamy city were quickly a memory and we spent a beautiful serene afternoon gently swaying up the coast and back.
FTA269 | Sutton, Massachusetts | 20 August 2013

Different adventure on an old boat

What a nice sailing experience spending 4 hours in March on an old boat!
Sophiefrifri | Paris, France | 2 March 2014

Great sail on the Mediterranean for some peace and and wind in your face.

Dani was our captain for a great sail on their 40' monohull. We had a group of 7 with plenty of room and enjoyed a motor around and sail at sunset. Dani was a great guide, the boat was in great shape, and everyone had a great time getting off of land and getting some salty air into our systems.
Rick H | Clarkston, Michigan | 12 December 2016

'Sea' Barcelona Differently

If you're looking for something different to do in Barcelona, avoid the tourist traps and spend an afternoon on an old sailing boat, cruising around the coast.
Kim H | Toronto, Ontario, Canada | 27 August 2012

Great trip on a beautiful boat

Had a great trip with Dave whilst in Barcelona recently. Water was a little choppier than usual so no opportunity to swim but this is clearly out of the skippers hands, no complaints at all there. On a calmer day this would be just about the perfect way to spend an afternoon, cooling down from the August sun. Not your usual everyday sailing trip and all the better for it! All the best for the future of your enterprise Dave.
Jasonab1 | Nottingham, United Kingdom | 11 August 2015

Great boat and great skipper.

Great sail boat with an interesting history. Dave is a well-informed Scotsman who has been in Barcelona for almost a decade. He has a great website and I booked a bit in advance and he handled all my questions. We had a rare choppy sea (and some haze) so we missed the swim but the whole afternoon was relaxing.
JohnBoscoChicago_IL | Chicago, IL | 16 July 2015

Romantic sunset sail.

I booked a sunset sail for just me and my girlfriend. It was everything I had hoped for. We took a dip in the Mediterranean and watched a beautiful sunset over the city and mountain to the west. Captain Dave was knowledgeable and put us at ease right away. He allowed us just to sit back and enjoy the trip.
Rob W | | 29 July 2015

Amazing adventure at sea!

My husband and I did this as part of our honeymoon. We had so much fun! Dave was an excellent captain and polite host. The boat is truly a "classic sailboat" which gives it a lot of character and adds to the adventure.
sarah6082015 | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania | 23 June 2015

A perfect morning on board Gemini!

We had a great time on board Gemini and Dave was a welcoming skipper. It's a perfect way to see the Barcelonian coast and to go for a swim in the very warm, deep, blue Med and sunbathe on deck away from the masses! Take drinks and snacks to enjoy while peacefully sailing.
Paula S | Chichester, United Kingdom | 26 August 2015

Wonderfully relaxing, friendly, and informative trip

My wife booked this trip - we were a group of 9 (3 related families) - Classic Sail worked with another organization to ensure we got a boat that fit our group's size. It was clear that Dani had chosen a skipper that was fluent in English, and was just as native to Spain as could be! Bernardo was an excellent skipper - talked very knowledgeably about the culture and history of Barcelona and the buildings that we could see as we motored out from where the boat was anchored (Port Olympic). He also pointed out some of the sailing tips that an accomplished sailor would know - the ripples on the water indicating the location of wind, the tell-tales near the sail that he used to track the wind shifts to ensure the sail was oriented right. What was incredible was the extent to which he was able to encourage our younger daughter to feel confident in "helping" him sail, when we were way out in blue water, returning back to shore. Most of us got into the blue water to swim a while - and again, Bernardo had the right words of encouragement to get the faint-hearted into the water. We had a great time in the crystal-clear water, which was bracing at the first touch, but very comfortable rapidly after, not at all warm. We would heartily recommend this 2.5 hour sailing trip as a great way to relax in the Mediterranean!
Popsrao | New York City, New York | 17 July 2015

Fantastic first time sailing experience!

We were looking for more unique things to do in Barcelona than just the regular tourist sites and so we booked this sailing trip. It was by far one of our favorite and most relaxing parts of the trip. The water is beautiful off the coast of Barcelona and the views of the coast were fantastic. In mid april, the weather was beautiful and my light jacket was all i needed for a cover-up over my sundress.
cldegen | Greater London, United Kingdom | 23 May 2015

A beautiful break from the heat and noise of the city...

When we travel, our family (with a 12 and a 14 year old) prefer to "do" rather than just "see". Sagrada Familia is striking BUT three hours on a lovely sloop with the ocean breeze keeping us cool is so much more exhilerating than pounding the hot pavement in the city! We knew we wanted to sail while in Barcelona, but we also don't spend frivolously so we were looking for good value for money. We definitely found that with Classic Sail and were fortunate that Dave had a slot open with only one day's notiice.
Sabina K | | 31 July 2018

Lovely way to spend a couple of hours

Our group of 11, including 6 children aged 9-12, had a wonderful trip. Captain Danny was very friendly and let all the kids have a go at skippering the boat, which was one of their highlights of visiting Barcelona!
Melsybabes | Warlingham, United Kingdom | 2 January 2017

wonderful trip

We've had the most wonderful trip with David. The boat is so beautiful and charming. David made the most of out sailing trip and was extremely kind and caring. An absolute must in Barcelona. Thanx David and all the best...
Luisa_xoxo | Hamburg, Germany | 20 May 2014

Very Professional

We recently booked this tour. The process was extremely clean and easy. We made a deposit and had confirmation instantly. We contacted the captain throughout the process and he always got back to us quickly. Unfortunately, the day the trip was scheduled the weather was quite bad. We contacted the captain ~ 1 hour before and advised of our weather concern. The captain got right back to us and gave us the option to cancel. We unfortunately did cancel and couldn't reschedule as it was our last day(he offered to reschedule for the following evening). I got a confirmation of the cancellation and refund within minutes. I offered to have him keep the deposit due to feeling badly and he refused to accept. If we are back in town we will try again.
markK3337NQ | Florida | 2 September 2017

Wow! Definite recommendation

These guys were super helpful and flexible. We had to move trip a couple of times and they really accommodated us. Price was good considering everything we had and the food/ drink package for extra 10 Euros is worth it. We also brought some drinks ourselves. Skipper let us sail when we wanted, there was music (although a Bluetooth connection to our devices would be a good addition), there was sun, there was beer, it was a great way to spend 3 hours of sunset!
wittehengel | Istanbul, Turkey | 2 May 2017

A lovely way to spent an afternoon!

The whole thing was very straightforward; we emailed Dave asking about certain time slots then reserved one on his website and paid a 30 Euro deposit. We arrived at the dock ahead of time and identified his boat. Dave himself was lovely and very interesting to talk to. It was a bit choppier than we would have liked but what a lovely way to cool down. It was very hot when we were there, about 30 degrees so we enjoyed the break on Dave's boat. All in all a good experience!
Gaynor H | Horsham, United Kingdom | 7 August 2015

Incredible, Holiday Highlight

2:00 start time. Even though the sky was cloudy, we had the time of our lives. The sea was warm when we got in, Dave was lovely, the boat was charming and brilliant. Whether you think you are into sailing or not, give it a go, you will LOVE it! Kids and adults alike had a truly amazing time aboard this beautiful ship with it's fabulous skipper.
Rhiannon M | Leicester, United Kingdom | 30 August 2015

Great way to see Barcelona

Fab way to get away from it all and see Barcelona from another perspective. Lovely historic boat. Kids are most welcome!
6Months062013 | Landsborough, Australia | 8 June 2016

Very very well

Very good was. Very nice sail. Worth the money. Everything's just fine. I recommend everybody! Thanks Dave.
Varga D | | 25 December 2017

A wonderful Barcelona experience -

Dave did a great job taking us out to sail in Barcelona. We sailed, we swam, and we enjoyed ourselves immensely.
Phil T | New York | 6 September 2015

Exiciting...and calm! Awesome sailing trip!

We had booked with Dave for 4 adults and 1 child on a Friday afternoon. However, once we took off into our sailing trip, the waves were crazy! The boat was at 45 degrees most of the time. My 7 year old and I enjoyed it very much, but the wife and auntie were hanging on for their lives! Well, after almost an hour of this excitement, Skipper Dave called it off and we headed to port. A man of his words, he'd volunteered to refund most of our trip due to weather, but we opted to reschedule. So, again, we went on Monday morning. Calm sea and beautiful weather. This time it was a very smooth ride. We stopped for a few an took a dip in the clear cobalt blue sea. A very relaxing trip. Anyways, bring your own food and water. Enjoy the view and relax...But I have to say, I loved battling the waves!!!
phuwanai1194 | Atlanta, Georgia | 11 August 2016

Amazing Trip

We booked an afternoon 3.5 hour sailing tour and it was just incredible! We had so much fun, lying in the sun, jumping in the sea and just enjoying the beautiful day!
Sabrina P | Graz, Austria | 25 July 2015

Excellent, relaxing time :)

Spent a brilliant few hours out on the water with Dave last week. Really nice guy and the boat is a real classic, not much in the way of automation! Weather was gorgeous of course and we just pootled about, absolutely perfect. Even my perpetually grumpy teenage daughter admitted that she enjoyed it, I can think of no higher praise!
Matt P | London, England | 9 August 2015

Champagne & the Sea

What a wonderful and relaxing three hours out on the sea with friends! This is an amazing company to use as you can do what you want, it isn't like the big stuff companies that lay everything out for you. We brought our own champagne and food for a picnic on the boat, it was lovely! If you have a group of 4 or more would highly recommend booking out the entire boat, it is just lovely!
Lacey J | South Boston, Massachusetts, United States | 18 August 2015

Great experience sailing

This was very nice way of spending some quality time for our family. Views when out in the sea are just mesmerising. And it is a good way to get some fresh air and cool down a bit from the city heat. Especially we loved the option to swim out in the sea away from beachside chaos.
AnceA2 | | 6 September 2018

Best Part of our entire trip!

Best part of our entire trip! 9 of us booked very last minute and Dave helped make everything smooth and easy. Great communication. Julio was our captain and we had a blast. An amazing way to experience Barcelona at a tremendous value! Highly recommended!
Jeb213 | Hyannis | 8 June 2018
#

Google reviews

View more on Google »

 

TripAdvisor reviews


View more on TripAdvisor »
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#