What our customers say

Over 250 ★★★★★ reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

EXCEEDED our Expectations!

My friends and I reserved a sail with Classic Sailing for the afternoon after our flight landed in BCN. The gentle ride, fresh sea air, sunshine and cool water was just the ticket for our jet-lagged group. We would go again in a heartbeat! Everything was perfect and Captain David was a fabulous host and skipper!
Pamela L | Nashville, Tennessee | 13 October 2014

A beautiful old boat, a wonderful experience

Dave, the skipper and owner of Gemini is a thoroughly lovely guy whose love of his boat and sailing is very evident. The trip was relaxing and we learned much about the boat and sailing and just enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We would thoroughly recommend this trip. The fact that dave is Scottish means there is no language barrier which further enhanced the trip.
Lou_Jenkins | Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom | 23 April 2018

Great sail on the Mediterranean for some peace and and wind in your face.

Dani was our captain for a great sail on their 40' monohull. We had a group of 7 with plenty of room and enjoyed a motor around and sail at sunset. Dani was a great guide, the boat was in great shape, and everyone had a great time getting off of land and getting some salty air into our systems.
Rick H | Clarkston, Michigan | 12 December 2016

Killing It

Gorgeous. Simply gorgeous. Best way to see Barcelona with Dave.
G H | Sydney, Australia | 15 August 2017

Very nice skipper!

The sign-up and transaction online were very smooth. We had to cut our sea promenade short as our son got seasick (first time sailing) due to very choppy waves, but through it Dave proved to be a wonderful skipper, very careful, riding the waves as smoothly as possible, and seems a lovely man. Will try it again in the future, with more clement weather! Thank you Dave!
bedandy | Montpellier | 4 August 2015

Sunset tour

We enjoyed a lovely sunset tour with Dave. The view of Barcelona from the sea is amazing as well as the silence away from city!
Marine V | Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates | 7 July 2016

Amazing Family adventure

We had an Amazing time, we where able to have such a relaxing time. Dave answered all of our questions before and during our trip. We have 2 kids ages 4 and 9 they loved it. Dave gave us a tour of he boat and explained safety tips before we left, made sure we where comfortable. It was an incredible experience, Definitely recommend it.
Daniel R | Wiesbaden, Germany | 19 August 2015

A fantastic afternoon

A group of friends and I sailed with Dave one afternoon and it was one of the best things we've done in Barcelona! It was great to see Barcelona from the water and Dave was extremely nice and Gemini was great. Hands down something you must do while in Barcelona
Jacqueline B | Barcelona, Spain | 12 June 2014

Super sailing trip

Sailing on Gemini out of Port Olympic is absolutely splendid. It was such a remarkable voyage that I went twice within a month’s time. Well-read and rather charismatic, Skipper Dave is a first-class fellow and very professional. He’s attentive to the needs of his passengers and very accommodating. If you wander to the back of the boat, he’s got some great stories and advice about visiting BCN. I absolutely recommend booking a voyage on Gemini with Dave. It’s a trip we’ll remember always.
Chambiges | Bloomington, Indiana | 17 July 2015

True sailing on the Med.

If you've been rum punch sunset cruising in Hawaii or Key West, think about this sail differently. This is an earthy, jump on a cool wooden boat and get ready to just have a sail type of experience. You bring your own food and beverages so nothing fancy there. There is no music unless you bring your own -- so prepare for the sound of the wind and the waves. If the wind is high, don't expect to be strolling on the boat - but rather holding a rail without letting go and enjoying a bit of adventure. Hit the restroom first and if you are the seasick type and the wind is up take some dramamine first as it really is a sailboat not a party boat! Dave was a solid captain who knew his stuff, but not there to give you a tour - just there to sail the boat. I really appreciated his clear communication about what to expect as well as flexibility with us with a last minute member cancelling due to illness.
Laura S | | 29 March 2016

Excellent option for a relaxing and romantic experience in Barcelona

My wife and I enjoyed a sunset cruise in July. Although the weather was warm in the city (roughly 90 deg F), the temp was definitely cooler on the water, even with limited breezes. Marina easily accessible from the old city. Great views, smooth sailing, comfortable one-of-a-kind sailboat, and a personable and cordial skipper. Slight downside on supposedly "limited" bathroom facilities, but if you plan ahead . . . :)
Christopher S | Chicago, Illinois | 24 July 2015

Fantastic evening

We went on a sunset cruise with Dave (who is lovely) and had a great time. I enjoyed the sunshine and sunset while watching the coastline fade away and my boyfriend got to do some sailing, so everyone was happy!
FuzzAldrin | Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom | 22 October 2015

Breathtaking!

This sailing trip 4-5 miles from the coast of the city was most probably the highlight of our trip.
Philippe B | | 15 July 2015

A perfect morning on board Gemini!

We had a great time on board Gemini and Dave was a welcoming skipper. It's a perfect way to see the Barcelonian coast and to go for a swim in the very warm, deep, blue Med and sunbathe on deck away from the masses! Take drinks and snacks to enjoy while peacefully sailing.
Paula S | Chichester, United Kingdom | 26 August 2015

Sailing in Spain, at Sunset - A Must Do

I got a hold of Dave through a friend that had sailed with him a week before and he came highly recommended. I can see why. He is truly a good soul and a gentleman and his boat speaks volumes about his charm and debonair. Gemini is a little dated but it is spacious and has a lot of character. I had a group of 6 and it fit very nicely and for its price, it's definitely as good as it gets.
Brian L T | Los Angeles, California | 7 September 2015

Barcelona by full moon

Last night a friend and I went sailing from Barcelona Marina in a beautiful old wooden sailing boat 'Gemini', with her gregarious and knowledgeable captain, Dave. Clear skies and a full moon, the light breeze filling the sails, pushing us through the calm water, it was a perfect evening jaunt, admiring the magical vistas of night time Barcelona. Definitely something to be considered on a trip to Barcelona. It got a little chilly towards the end of the evening so take a sweater or a fleece.
Yubitzume | Barcelona, Spain | 21 August 2013

Fantastic relaxing sail!

Bernardo the skipper was wonderfully knowledgeable and friendly - made the 3 hour sail most enjoyable! Water was clear and fresh! Highly recommended for some relaxation, water and fun during the hot, hot summer!
DPLosAngeles | Los Angeles | 29 July 2015

Excellent!

The last week of April my boyfriend and I spent some time in Barcelona and I'm so glad I booked this for one of our days because it turned out to be one of our favorite parts of the entire trip.
kenzieschy246 | Santa Monica, California | 8 May 2015

Sail Gemini!

The environment was more like a friend taking you out on a boat, rather than a cookie-cutter tour boat. Dave the skipper was an excellent guide, pointing out sights on the water and across the Barcelona cityscape, and even let a couple of us take a turn at the tiller (no scrapes, thankfully!) I recommend this to anyone who wants a REAL experience out in the waters off Barcelona.
Andrew M | Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada | 2 August 2014

Wonderful start to our vacation!

I traveled to Spain with a group of friends and we began our trip with an afternoon aboard the Gemini! The day couldn't have been more perfect weather-wise, and David was kind enough to shop for us for our drinks and munchies, as we had just landed in Spain and had no time to do it ourselves. He found a spot for us to jump in the sea to cool off .......and for me, it was one more check off my bucket list to say I swam in the Mediterranean! I only wish we'd had time at the end of our vacation to sail on the Gemini one last time! Thanks for a wonderful day David!!
Robin H | Iowa, United States | 19 October 2014

Amazing trip - totally recommend!

Really lovely skipper, beautiful sailing boat and perfect sailing conditions, Amazing memories for a friends hen do!
Claire B | | 6 August 2018

Great way to relax between tourist activities in Barcelona

We enjoyed a delightful sail. Beautiful weather and Dave's cordiality made it even better. The sail was a great hiatus from the rush of the running around the tourist sites of the city.
BruceMAnderson | Houston, Texas | 27 June 2015

Amazing Experience

Recently, Dave took my girlfriend and me on a sunset tour on his beautiful boat, Gemini. Before the trip, he communicated with us so well and had an extremely quick response time. He gave very clear directions on how to get to the boat, and we had no trouble finding it in Port Olympic. We brought drinks and ice, and he brought a cooler, which was so kind of him. He took us out on the Mediterranean, let us go for a swim, sailed along the coastline, and then took us back as the day became night. He even took a couple of pictures for me and my girlfriend during sunset. The trip was beautiful, we had calm water, and if I return to Barcelona, I will definitely re-book this sailing experience with Dave and Gemini. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Thanks Dave (:
cac275 | Hattiesburg, Mississippi | 21 June 2017

Beautiful memory from Barcelona

This was my first time sailing and I really had a nice and relaxing experience. The boat is beautiful, Mr. Dave was a good host and I truly enjoyed it. Would recommend this trip to anyone who want to escape the city for a while and just relax. I would definitely do this again. Really great memory from Barcelona!
Aida S | | 22 May 2018

Very Professional

We recently booked this tour. The process was extremely clean and easy. We made a deposit and had confirmation instantly. We contacted the captain throughout the process and he always got back to us quickly. Unfortunately, the day the trip was scheduled the weather was quite bad. We contacted the captain ~ 1 hour before and advised of our weather concern. The captain got right back to us and gave us the option to cancel. We unfortunately did cancel and couldn't reschedule as it was our last day(he offered to reschedule for the following evening). I got a confirmation of the cancellation and refund within minutes. I offered to have him keep the deposit due to feeling badly and he refused to accept. If we are back in town we will try again.
markK3337NQ | Florida | 2 September 2017

Great boat and great skipper.

Great sail boat with an interesting history. Dave is a well-informed Scotsman who has been in Barcelona for almost a decade. He has a great website and I booked a bit in advance and he handled all my questions. We had a rare choppy sea (and some haze) so we missed the swim but the whole afternoon was relaxing.
JohnBoscoChicago_IL | Chicago, IL | 16 July 2015

Great Time

Gemini is a wonderful ship and Dave is a great captain. You'll have an excellent afternoon overlooking Barcelona.
Chris S | Detroit, Michigan | 25 June 2015

Relaxing 3 hours away from the buzz

A very lovely afternoon with skipper Stefan and a welcome getaway from the hot city.
Alar I | Tartu, Estonia | 12 August 2015

Fantastic Afternoon

We had an amazing time with Cptn. Dave. It was the most relaxing part of our busy trip, and absolutely beautiful. There was not much wind when we went out, but we didn't care. It was comfortable and the views of the city were great. I'd like to be on that boat again, right now. Highly recommend, and the cost was reasonable and worth every cent.
juliebirditis | Bakersfield, California | 1 October 2015

Fantastic sailing experience

Great sailing experience and great captain. When we first arrived at the boat the weather was not that good and the captain told us it is our option if we want to go, otherwise he will fully refund the money. We decided to wait couple of hours and then the sun got back and we went in a wonderful cruise.
Alexandru415 | Bucharest, Romania | 24 May 2015

wonderful trip

We've had the most wonderful trip with David. The boat is so beautiful and charming. David made the most of out sailing trip and was extremely kind and caring. An absolute must in Barcelona. Thanx David and all the best...
Luisa_xoxo | Hamburg, Germany | 20 May 2014

Great view of Barcelona

Had a great sail with Capt. Dave. He was very accommodating and we enjoyed the conversation as we sailed the coastline. The boat was very easy to find in the large marina and the reservation process was smooth. Thanks Dave!
PATRICK R | madison | 25 March 2016

Lovely way to spend a couple of hours

Our group of 11, including 6 children aged 9-12, had a wonderful trip. Captain Danny was very friendly and let all the kids have a go at skippering the boat, which was one of their highlights of visiting Barcelona!
Melsybabes | Warlingham, United Kingdom | 2 January 2017

Gorgeous chill afternoon sail!

If you want to spend some time relaxing on the water, this is the sailing excursion to choose. Skipper Dave was kind and helpful, but he really left you alone to relax as you sail the beautiful sea. The Gemini is a beautiful boat. Can't go wrong with this trip.
lizalford | Marrakech, Morocco | 11 August 2016

A wonderful experience

Although we sailed on unsettled sea day :-)
LihiRa | Zichron Yaakov, Israel | 9 October 2015

Sunset cruise

Our group of 7 took the sunset cruise with our skipper Stefan. We had a very enjoyable experience, even though the majority of us suffered from sea sickness! We were able to bring our own food, drink and even music via the bluetooth facility provided. The price of this trip compared very favourably with others and this is another reason why I would recommend this experience.
YorkshireMackem | yorkshire | 3 July 2016

most relaxed sail you could wish for

we were a group of 6 friends and enjoyed a lovely 3 hrs sail trip out of barcelona. the moment we left the harbour, sails were set and the wind took over.
A TripAdvisor Member | Dubai, United Arab Emirates | 23 May 2018

Great Sail with Dave

We sailed with Dave in June of 2015 and had a great afternoon with him, so when we found ourselves back in Barcelona (July 2017), sailing with Dave again was a must do. We had another great afternoon with Dave. Sailing in the Mediterranean is a great way to see the city. We went for a swim, five miles out; the water was amazing. Highly recommend a sailing trip with Dave.
Larry G | | 18 July 2017

Great experience sailing

This was very nice way of spending some quality time for our family. Views when out in the sea are just mesmerising. And it is a good way to get some fresh air and cool down a bit from the city heat. Especially we loved the option to swim out in the sea away from beachside chaos.
AnceA2 | | 6 September 2018

Exiciting...and calm! Awesome sailing trip!

We had booked with Dave for 4 adults and 1 child on a Friday afternoon. However, once we took off into our sailing trip, the waves were crazy! The boat was at 45 degrees most of the time. My 7 year old and I enjoyed it very much, but the wife and auntie were hanging on for their lives! Well, after almost an hour of this excitement, Skipper Dave called it off and we headed to port. A man of his words, he'd volunteered to refund most of our trip due to weather, but we opted to reschedule. So, again, we went on Monday morning. Calm sea and beautiful weather. This time it was a very smooth ride. We stopped for a few an took a dip in the clear cobalt blue sea. A very relaxing trip. Anyways, bring your own food and water. Enjoy the view and relax...But I have to say, I loved battling the waves!!!
phuwanai1194 | Atlanta, Georgia | 11 August 2016

You want to go sailing? Classic Sail Barcelona is the perfect provider!!

I wanted to surprise my fiancée for her birthday - the booking of Gemini with Skipper Dave was the perfect gift and an incredible experience. We took the Sunset Tour which was a picture perfect trip with blue sea, a romantic sunset and a refreshing swimming stop. Gemini is a beautiful and very well maintained sailing boat, with a nice history (built in 1947). Skipper Dave couldn't have been a nicer host with a friendly smile and loads of cool insights into sailing.
Colonius | Zurich, Switzerland | 28 July 2016

Awesome experience

Dave very accommodating and a great skipper. His skill and information about everything was wonderful. A great way to see Barcelona from a different view. When I had short legs to get on the boat he made a way for me to do it. Let the sea breeze be in your face and relax and enjoy. Must do in Barcelona.
ruthibyers | | 10 May 2017

Sailing fun

Had a great afternoon trip with Captain Dave - great host, and thoroughly enjoyable afternoon. Well worth a go!
Taylorgt1 | London, United Kingdom | 4 April 2017

A wonderful Barcelona experience -

Dave did a great job taking us out to sail in Barcelona. We sailed, we swam, and we enjoyed ourselves immensely.
Phil T | New York | 6 September 2015

Excellent romantic excursion

My fiancée and I went on a sunset cruise with David. It was an incredible and memorable experience. David was very easy to work with and responsive beforehand, providing advice on what to bring. The actual trip was fantastic. It was a bit rocky to start, which seems to be typical during the early evening in Barcelona. We took some anti-nausea pills before heading out so we were fine, but I'd recommend this for anyone who is prone to seasickness. However about halfway through it calmed down a ton. The sunset itself was unreal. Barcelona doesn't have a great view of the sunset in the city since the sun sets over the mountains but out on the water you can see everything. The trip was so romantic and is something we are going to always remember.
Dave B | Boston | 31 July 2016

A perfect way to spend the evening

I booked Classic Sail as a gift for my friends on our last night together in Barcelona. The booking was easy, communication thorough, and it was easy to find the boat. Dave got us out away from some of the noisier groups so we could enjoy a dip in the Mediterranean during the sunset. He was available but unobtrusive, and seems to be a great captain and lovely person. Six thumbs up!
Katy S | | 31 July 2018

Didn't Make The Sail, But Still 5 Stars

Unfortunately we had to cancel our trip the same day because two in our party had a medical emergency and went home. Dave was incredibly easy to work with and responsive and gave us our deposit back without issue. We really appreciated it. We were very bummed to miss the boat trip, but if we are ever in Barcelona again we definitely will put it at the top of the list. Thank you very much again, Dave.
Neeners815 | Jersey City, New Jersey | 4 September 2016

Simply Awesome!

My Dad booked the trip as a surprise. And what a surprise! The weather was ideal, the boat fantastic and Captain Dave did a great job. We were out for about three very enjoyable hours. Gemini is a lovely little traditional sailing boat and this added charm to the event. One certainly learnt a lot from the trip and was left with a memory that will stick for a lifetime. A recommendation.
MacDonald555 | Wiesmoor, Germany | 21 September 2016

The Jewel of Barcelona!!!!

My husband and I have just returned from 3 weeks in Spain. The top memory of our trip is our 3 hour sail with Dave, the owner of Classic Sail Barcelona. It was definitely the most memorable moment of our trip. Try something new and outside of the regular tourist trips. You can go as a group, a couple, or just by yourself. Dave will do everything he can to accommodate your needs. How many people get to sail on the Mediterranean? Don't miss this relaxing, enjoyable, and memorable trip!
Judith C | Cuenca, Ecuador | 13 November 2016

Wonderful experience

My mom and I recently went on an afternoon sail with Dave. We were a few minutes late, due to traffic from where we were coming from, but Dave was accommodating and he was waiting for us in the boat when we arrived. The weather was beautiful and it was overall a very relaxing and enjoyable sail. Thank you!
Grace L | | 24 September 2017
#

Google reviews

View more on Google »

 

TripAdvisor reviews


View more on TripAdvisor »
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#