What our customers say

Over 250 ★★★★★ reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

Barcelona by full moon

Last night a friend and I went sailing from Barcelona Marina in a beautiful old wooden sailing boat 'Gemini', with her gregarious and knowledgeable captain, Dave. Clear skies and a full moon, the light breeze filling the sails, pushing us through the calm water, it was a perfect evening jaunt, admiring the magical vistas of night time Barcelona. Definitely something to be considered on a trip to Barcelona. It got a little chilly towards the end of the evening so take a sweater or a fleece.
Yubitzume | Barcelona, Spain | 21 August 2013

Do it, do it!

had an awesome day with Dave and the crew, Dave really knows his stuff. Whether your inexperienced (like me) or have some experience under your belt, you'll work as a team, meet someone new and you'll have a great day. The mediterranean and the views of Barcelona are a must do! I highly recommend.
EverythingsArchie | | 29 September 2013

A Mediterranean Adventure

Our family of four had a wonderful adventure with Captain Dave on the last day of our Barcelona vacation. Dave was very responsive through our email communications to book the trip. The directions to the Gemini were easy to follow and she was as described – well maintained with much character. Captain Dave was very personable but not intrusive – he patiently answered all our questions. We spent over three hours enjoying the beautiful Barcelona skyline. He even stopped and anchored so our kids could swim in the Mediterranean. We would highly recommend Classic Sailing and hope that we have the opportunity to sail on the Gemini someday again.
Kathy M | Rocky Hill, Connecticut | 23 August 2014

Great Trip!

My wife and I sailed through the afternoon into the evening. We swam in the Mediterranean and watched the sun set over Barcelona. It was an amazing experience! Beautiful and relaxing. Captain Dave was great. He is a first class skipper full of knowledge and enjoyable conversation, if you like. When we return, we plan on a longer excursion on the Gimini with captain Dave at the helm.
mfrazie | Tyler, Texas | 14 July 2015

Great way to relax between tourist activities in Barcelona

We enjoyed a delightful sail. Beautiful weather and Dave's cordiality made it even better. The sail was a great hiatus from the rush of the running around the tourist sites of the city.
BruceMAnderson | Houston, Texas | 27 June 2015

Very Professional

We recently booked this tour. The process was extremely clean and easy. We made a deposit and had confirmation instantly. We contacted the captain throughout the process and he always got back to us quickly. Unfortunately, the day the trip was scheduled the weather was quite bad. We contacted the captain ~ 1 hour before and advised of our weather concern. The captain got right back to us and gave us the option to cancel. We unfortunately did cancel and couldn't reschedule as it was our last day(he offered to reschedule for the following evening). I got a confirmation of the cancellation and refund within minutes. I offered to have him keep the deposit due to feeling badly and he refused to accept. If we are back in town we will try again.
markK3337NQ | Florida | 2 September 2017

EXCEEDED our Expectations!

My friends and I reserved a sail with Classic Sailing for the afternoon after our flight landed in BCN. The gentle ride, fresh sea air, sunshine and cool water was just the ticket for our jet-lagged group. We would go again in a heartbeat! Everything was perfect and Captain David was a fabulous host and skipper!
Pamela L | Nashville, Tennessee | 13 October 2014

Sunset cruise

Our group of 7 took the sunset cruise with our skipper Stefan. We had a very enjoyable experience, even though the majority of us suffered from sea sickness! We were able to bring our own food, drink and even music via the bluetooth facility provided. The price of this trip compared very favourably with others and this is another reason why I would recommend this experience.
YorkshireMackem | yorkshire | 3 July 2016

Highlight of our honeymoon!

My wife and I had a lovely evening sailing with Dave. He was very accommodating and friendly. The boat itself is very charming and easy to find in Port Olimpic. The views of the Barcelona shore are unreal at dusk. Make sure you bring some food and drink for your trip. Dave even let us swim out in the open ocean as the sun set over the city. If you plan on making it out to Barcelona, do not skip this opportunity. I can't say enough about how amazing this experience was. Thank you Dave!
830drews | Mansfield, Massachusetts | 14 September 2013

Only good things to say.....

We went out with a large group - ages 12 - 78 - and Dave made everyone feel comfortable. He is amazingly calm and kind and accommodating - and clearly a skilled sailor! We needed to change our day and time numerous times and he was flexible and understanding. The views from the water were beautiful. It was an adventure. We highly recommend sailing with Dave.
2015Alisa | Raleigh, North Carolina | 1 January 2015

Highly Recommend!

Dave and his boat are lovely. The boat is a beautiful piece of history and allows you to spend private time on the water with friends. I've been on many boats around the world (private and groups) and had an exceptional time on Dave's. If you're looking for a day of boating in Barcelona, this is the trip for you. I didn't do this myself, but I could see this being a phenomenal option for couples who want some private time on the sea.
skier29 | San Francisco, Ca | 15 July 2019

Great sail on the Mediterranean for some peace and and wind in your face.

Dani was our captain for a great sail on their 40' monohull. We had a group of 7 with plenty of room and enjoyed a motor around and sail at sunset. Dani was a great guide, the boat was in great shape, and everyone had a great time getting off of land and getting some salty air into our systems.
Rick H | Clarkston, Michigan | 12 December 2016

Great day's sailing!

Dave is a very friendly and accommodating skipper, with your enjoyment and safety as his top priority. We had an excellent 7 hour day sail from Port Olimpic on-board Gemini, a very nice wooden boat (one of the few traditional wooden boats in Barcelona), with her distinctive wooden mast.
mjpm24 | London | 25 August 2013

Highly recommended experience

Highly recommended activity in Barcelona! It was amazing to enjoy the sailing, sun, sea while chilling on the deck of the classic yacht and chatting with friends, enjoying drinks and even jumping for a swim.
D_travel_rev | Alicante, Spain | 29 June 2016

Super sailing trip

Sailing on Gemini out of Port Olympic is absolutely splendid. It was such a remarkable voyage that I went twice within a month’s time. Well-read and rather charismatic, Skipper Dave is a first-class fellow and very professional. He’s attentive to the needs of his passengers and very accommodating. If you wander to the back of the boat, he’s got some great stories and advice about visiting BCN. I absolutely recommend booking a voyage on Gemini with Dave. It’s a trip we’ll remember always.
Chambiges | Bloomington, Indiana | 17 July 2015

Excellent romantic excursion

My fiancée and I went on a sunset cruise with David. It was an incredible and memorable experience. David was very easy to work with and responsive beforehand, providing advice on what to bring. The actual trip was fantastic. It was a bit rocky to start, which seems to be typical during the early evening in Barcelona. We took some anti-nausea pills before heading out so we were fine, but I'd recommend this for anyone who is prone to seasickness. However about halfway through it calmed down a ton. The sunset itself was unreal. Barcelona doesn't have a great view of the sunset in the city since the sun sets over the mountains but out on the water you can see everything. The trip was so romantic and is something we are going to always remember.
Dave B | Boston | 31 July 2016

Beautiful

A beautiful sailing trip with a great skipper :). Nice sailing boat , I had a very cool experience on sea.
Ioan C | | 5 September 2014

Breathtaking!

This sailing trip 4-5 miles from the coast of the city was most probably the highlight of our trip.
Philippe B | | 15 July 2015

Brilliant! A perfect morning!

A wonderful morning of sun and sea, enjoyed hugely by adults and children alike (11 and 15). Dave is a gracious, knowledgeable host but not at all intrusive - very amenable when the kids wanted to stop the boat and swim. Much more personal than one of the more touristy operators who we watched setting off just before us. No better way to spend a sunny morning in Barcelona.
GemmaRLondon | London | 8 June 2016

Great Experience

It was a great present for my gf. Evertyhing was good organized and the great views the coastline of barcelona were astonishing! Not the last time i will book this trip for sure! 5+
Rastko L | | 17 July 2015

Highlight of our trip

We really enjoyed sailing with Dave. We spent 10 days in Barcelona and sailing was our break from sightseeing, which turned out to be the highlight of our trip. Would definitely go back. First time on the Mediterranean, it was beautiful and relaxing. Dave was a great host.
Jolynne P | | 19 June 2017

Perfect day!

I would highly recommend spending a day sailing along the Barcelona coast with Captain Dave. We were out for a 7 hour cruise, although by the time we docked it was closer to 8 hours (not a complaint!). As soon as we slipped away from the dock the temperature dropped from hot and sticky to sunny and warm. The noise and crowds of the busy, steamy city were quickly a memory and we spent a beautiful serene afternoon gently swaying up the coast and back.
FTA269 | Sutton, Massachusetts | 20 August 2013

The most relaxing adventure of our trip!!

I would highly recommend taking a sailing trip with Dave!! He is wonderfully laid back and lets you make the very most out of the experience (unlike some of the larger/corporate excursions where they do not give room for a flexible schedule and you end up feeling like your on a school field-trip ), yet Dave is a safe and experienced sailor. My husband and I had been traveling for two weeks and this was the PERFECT break! We enjoyed the views, swam in the ocean, and even took a nap (yes, I was that relaxed)! If you are in Barcelona and want to have a great time out on the ocean, book with Dave!
Jaclyn P | Austin, Texas | 20 August 2015

Fantastic relaxing sail!

Bernardo the skipper was wonderfully knowledgeable and friendly - made the 3 hour sail most enjoyable! Water was clear and fresh! Highly recommended for some relaxation, water and fun during the hot, hot summer!
DPLosAngeles | Los Angeles | 29 July 2015

Awesome afternoon in the sunshine!

I booked classic sail Barcelona for my friend's hen do so that we could enjoy an afternoon sailing along the coast making the most of the beautiful weather. The trip was exactly what we were hoping for. Dani, our skipper was fantastic. We brought on our own drink and food and we could play music and games and make ourselves at home. When the hen got sea sick (more than likely induced by the level of drinking the night before) Dani was great. He got her up to steer the boat and get out of the sun which made her feel a million times better. It was the perfect trip. If only we'd booked for the whole day or for another trip the next day. Maybe next time!
Vicky K | | 2 July 2016

Light airs but great sail

My wife and I went for for an afternoon sail on Gemini with Dave last week and while the winds were light she ghosted along better than I expected.
Stephen B | | 10 November 2015

A wonderful experience

Although we sailed on unsettled sea day :-)
LihiRa | Zichron Yaakov, Israel | 9 October 2015

You want to go sailing? Classic Sail Barcelona is the perfect provider!!

I wanted to surprise my fiancée for her birthday - the booking of Gemini with Skipper Dave was the perfect gift and an incredible experience. We took the Sunset Tour which was a picture perfect trip with blue sea, a romantic sunset and a refreshing swimming stop. Gemini is a beautiful and very well maintained sailing boat, with a nice history (built in 1947). Skipper Dave couldn't have been a nicer host with a friendly smile and loads of cool insights into sailing.
Colonius | Zurich, Switzerland | 28 July 2016

A must in Barcelona!

We enjoyed our sunset cruise w Dave! Great way to relax and see the city! It's a very comfortable boat and ride (didn't feel motion sick) his sail boat can handle the waves. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
purplenimen | Fort Myers | 28 August 2017

Looking to escape for 3 hours?This is THE best sailing I had for a long time

We were 18 adults, looking for a way to get away of our routine for a couple of hours without our kids. Dave and his team had THE idea. They took us for 3 hours on his catamaran by the Barcelona coast. We were alone on the sea, we could take some fresh air and catch up with our friends with some back ground music, drinks, fruits and snacks... the dream come true. I definitely recommend Dave and I will for sure book a tour again. Dave was helpful, responsive, welcoming, discreet... Trust me, I am very picky and I have to say, these guys deserve to be known! See you very soon Dave!
Lorraine C | | 10 November 2017

Great view of Barcelona

Had a great sail with Capt. Dave. He was very accommodating and we enjoyed the conversation as we sailed the coastline. The boat was very easy to find in the large marina and the reservation process was smooth. Thanks Dave!
PATRICK R | madison | 25 March 2016

What an absolute treat

My friends and I had an absolutely fantastic afternoon sailing along the Barcelona coastline earlier in the month. Dave was a brilliant and knowledgeable host, extremely welcoming and we couldn't have asked for better weather. It was such a treat being able to swim in the clear waters alongside the boat. I would highly recommend this experience to all as it was the highlight of my Barcelona adventure. Thanks again Dave!
SuzeDyson | Auckland Central, New Zealand | 22 June 2015

Sunset tour

We enjoyed a lovely sunset tour with Dave. The view of Barcelona from the sea is amazing as well as the silence away from city!
Marine V | Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates | 7 July 2016

Sailing in Spain, at Sunset - A Must Do

I got a hold of Dave through a friend that had sailed with him a week before and he came highly recommended. I can see why. He is truly a good soul and a gentleman and his boat speaks volumes about his charm and debonair. Gemini is a little dated but it is spacious and has a lot of character. I had a group of 6 and it fit very nicely and for its price, it's definitely as good as it gets.
Brian L T | Los Angeles, California | 7 September 2015

Gorgeous chill afternoon sail!

If you want to spend some time relaxing on the water, this is the sailing excursion to choose. Skipper Dave was kind and helpful, but he really left you alone to relax as you sail the beautiful sea. The Gemini is a beautiful boat. Can't go wrong with this trip.
lizalford | Marrakech, Morocco | 11 August 2016

Best sailor and best boat in Barcelona

I did sailed on Gemini in december 2012 with some friends, the experience was great.
ReyGuigu | Lyon | 27 February 2013

Great sail!

This sail around Barcelona was the highlight of our trip! Captain Dave is fantastic; he made us feel welcome and at home on his wonderful boat. We loved that the sail was just our family and was so reasonably priced. We highly recommend this trip and will absolutely do it again when we return to Spain!
Elise M | Seattle, United States | 19 April 2018

A flawless Barcelona Experience, beautiful sailing adventure!

We have nothing but good things to say about our sailing trip with Dave. We created this Trip Advisor account just so that we could write a review for this experience. We went on a morning excursion that took us about 2 miles off the Barcelona coastline and lasted around 3 hours. The harbor was actually closed when we started but he still took us out for the full experience despite the delay. Very accommodating when I got a little sea-sick and was more than understanding, which was a huge positive for us. We slept in the sun for quite a bit of our journey. If you're worried about having to carry a conversation or awkward silences, don't be! He was very charming and conversational when needed but gave us our space as well. We will definitely be doing this again next time we are in the area!
Kipdsumner | Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany | 13 July 2014

Trip Highlight!!

We had a wonderful time!! Gorgeous views of the city and a fun time on the boat. We took all 5 of our kids ranging in age from 3-17 and everyone felt it was the best part of our trip. Would definitely recommend
kscottsmith5 | New Canaan, Connecticut | 11 August 2015

Something different

Fantastic venture with Capt Dave for a surprise birthday gift for a friend. Beautiful boat, great views of Barcelona and fun watching the boat being operated by sail and hitting some descents speeds!
Al H | London, United Kingdom | 4 May 2015

Spectacular!

This was a highlight of our family visit to Barcelona. With our family of five kids, ranging from a nine year old to a twenty year old, Skipper Dave was the bomb. He answered every one of my older son's questions on the how-to and physics of sailing. We learned a lot. We also were able to stop the boat and jump into the sea for a few minutes, which was a blast. The scenery was spectacular and the boat was unbelievably cool and classic. My wife and teenage daughters loved laying on the deck and soaking in the Vitamin D. To anyone visiting Barca, I'd put this sail trip high on your list. We absolutely loved it.
Eric M | | 26 July 2016

Fabulous morning sail with helpful host

We booked a morning sail and as I have restricted mobility Dave the skipper moved the boat to an accessible berth. The cruise was beautiful with great views of Barcelona and Dave giving some local knowledge and flavour. The boat was full of character and comfortable and stable even when the wind got up. Half a day was plenty and it gives you an opportunity to explore Port Olympic afterwards.
J L | | 10 August 2014

An unforgettable experience

A Trip with Dave on the Gemini is one of those gems that you feel very lucky to have found and will leave a beautiful, unforgettable experience on your mind. The price is incredibly affordable for the experience of being on a timeless sailboat cruising along the Barcelona coast. Dave, the captain, is full of interesting stories and makes you feel like this is the trip of your life. If you choose to do one thing while you’re in Barcelona, do this!
Anna L | Barcelona | 21 October 2018

Relaxing 3 hours away from the buzz

A very lovely afternoon with skipper Stefan and a welcome getaway from the hot city.
Alar I | Tartu, Estonia | 12 August 2015

Gorgeous view of the sunset!

We had a marvelous time going for an evening sail with Dave. He was very friendly and courteous, and we absolutely loved the view of the sun setting over the city skyline. Very highly recommended!
Cipriana C | | 21 April 2014

Classic Sailing Barcelona Yacht Charter

An excellent afternoons sail with Dave off the coast of Barcelona. It was an absolute joy and would thoroughly recommend it whether you are experienced or not. It was lovely to leave the hot city behind and have the sea breeze on your face.
Jan R | | 4 October 2017

A lovely way to spent an afternoon!

The whole thing was very straightforward; we emailed Dave asking about certain time slots then reserved one on his website and paid a 30 Euro deposit. We arrived at the dock ahead of time and identified his boat. Dave himself was lovely and very interesting to talk to. It was a bit choppier than we would have liked but what a lovely way to cool down. It was very hot when we were there, about 30 degrees so we enjoyed the break on Dave's boat. All in all a good experience!
Gaynor H | Horsham, United Kingdom | 7 August 2015

Great Sunset Sail

My boyfriend and I booked a sunset sail with Dave. The Gemini was a beautiful old ship. We enjoyed a 3 hour sail around the harbor. We brought our own wine on board and relaxed with the views.
cam20152015 | Dallas, Texas | 20 July 2015

Great sail

My wife and I recently took the Gemini out with skipper Dave for a sunset sail there in Barcelona. The directions to the boat were spot on. I fully recommend going out of port Olimpic, as you are in the open water in no time. It was a little choppy but Dave did a outstanding job guiding the boat while my wife and I had Cava and toasted to the last sight of the evening sun going behind Montjuic. Perfect way to end our vacation in Spain.
dbrown109 | Gloster, Mississippi | 15 September 2017

Great dip in the Mediterranean

I booked this classic sailing trip with Dave for our honeymoon back in the summer 2015. I promised Dave to give him a 5-stars, comments and recommendations so here it is.
vspeang | Greater London, United Kingdom | 1 January 2016
#

Google reviews

View more on Google »

 

TripAdvisor reviews


View more on TripAdvisor »
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#
#